We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast

Hotel website
5 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Rate
3 Nights for $1049
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We love staying in B and B's and this one was such a pleasure! The piazza and view are truly amazing. Our room was lovely with a king rice bed. Loved the convenience of parking our car and walking everywhere. The staff was very helpful and filled with southern hospitality! We highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Tamara N
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

I myself live among antiques and cats and I know old houses, so I get that not everything is going to be brand-new and sterile, but I found this B&B much shabbier than when I first visited about 7 years ago. Some observations: The proprietor was friendly but I barely saw her or any other staff--no help with luggage, they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
PalmerHome, Manager at Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your three night stay with us at $165 a night during the New Year weekend. The house is 1800 square feet so it is impossible to be half way shown a room or you would never found it. The kitchen is for staff use and is completely sterilized after breakfast. We were... More 

Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

The palmer home made our Charleston getaway truly unforgettable! The staff are exceptional and treat their guest like family. We felt right at home during our two week stay at the Palmer House. The rooms are equisite and the view is second to none. We will definitely be back in the near future!

Helpful?
Thank kharvey2639
PalmerHome, General Manager at Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We were so happy to have had you as our guests for two weeks, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! - Sincerely, The Palmer Home Staff More 

Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

We had another great weekend at Palmer House. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the view is unbeatable. I love the history of this place. Thank you Frances for spending time with us and sharing stories of your beautiful home.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
PalmerHome, General Manager at Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind review! We love our repeat visitors! The Palmer Home is lucky to have 75% of repeat customers. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Sincerely, The Palmer Home Staff More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

I absolutely love this place. Every problem in the world goes away when I'm here. It's cozy the people are fabulous, inviting and go out of their way to do anything possible to make us happy. I always sleep like a baby, it's quiet and the beds are comfortable. Waking up refreshed to a wonderful breakfast is priceless. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank feedbellyhole
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

First off - I tried to stay here. Filled out a request form, didn't get a response. Called several times with voicemail and never got a response back. Finally had to find alternatives. Turns out, despite not confirming our room, management charged our credit card and refused to refund once we explained that we had no idea a room was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
PalmerHome, General Manager at Palmer Home Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

The only way we book a room is if someone sends us exact dates, the number of people, the room of choice, telephone number, credit card number and email address. No one can accidentally book a room without their personal information. We charge half of your stay as a deposit to hold the room, and the other half is settled... More 

Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

The Palmer House is in a beautiful location with a great waterfront view, and is close to everything you want to see in Charleston. The house itself, however, has not been kept up100% and needs some work. It appears some work is in progress judging by ladders laying up against the house. A downstairs room which was left wide open... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank garyrjas
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

We booked this B & B at the last minute while traveling through Charleston to Savannah. They only had 1 room left but it was perfect for us. It was called the Country Club Room and she said it was their smallest but had a King bed and private bath. It was in the carriage house behind the main house... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne L
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

My dear friend booked us at the Palmer House as I had requested an overnight in Charleston before driving up to her home in Pawley's Island. She picked me up at the airport and drove us to this beautiful historical home on East Bay with a beautiful overlook of the bay. We found it odd they we ourselves had to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JoyfulTraveler1111
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015 via mobile

Do not let the pictures fool you. I booked this place based on my own research and while I was there I logged on to trip advisor where I found that I agreed with all of the negative reviews. The week prior to our arrival we found out that hurricane Joquin was coming. We called the Thursday before check in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,273 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,307 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay