We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vendue

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Deal
Drinks at The Rooftop
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Vendue
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Vendue
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    279
    81
    55
    38
See reviews for
113
885
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1330)
  • Mar-May only
    (329)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (348)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (308)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (345)
All months
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful hotel. From the moment we walked on we felt very welcomed. The concierge who checked us in was very polite and patient. The valet bellboy was very helpful as well. The room was a bit small (with a 1 1/2 year old) but comfortable. Just a block away from the waterfront park. Free coffee downstairs at the cute little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakville, ON
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Loved the Vendue - would return in a heartbeat! Spent 2 nights here beginning of February - location is perfect for wandering the streets of Charleston, shopping, restaurants - all close by. Staff were super friendly & helpful. Nice rooftop bar, good breakfast, Starbucks adjoining the hotel. Amazing art and sculptures everywhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole T, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review

Dear EnglishinCanada, Thank you for staying at The Vendue during your recent trip to Charleston! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are fortunate to be located in such a central area in the historic district, with so many sights, shopping and eateries within walking distance. I'm thrilled that you appreciated our art installations, as we... More 

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I recently stayed at the Vendue in April for two nights. We were told we would have a nice room that had been recently updated. Upon our arrival we were taken by the bellman to a room where we had to navigate narrow hallways, traverse a small stairway and finally to our room. It was like a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nicole T, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review

Dear JudyNDave, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that there were several aspects of your stay that were positive and that you recognize our staff as being friendly and polite. I apologize that your first room did not meet your expectations, but I am pleased to hear that the staff was able to... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here two nights recently with my husband. We really enjoyed the hotel and the amenities that they provide. The hotel itself is very cool and right in the middle of everything in Charleston. It is beside a ton of amazing restaurants and within walking distance to the water and King Street. My husband and I stayed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole T, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review

Dear Ashley M, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed our complimentary hotel amenities. The bicycles are an excellent way to tour Charleston and our afternoon art reception is a perfect way to unwind after a busy day of sightseeing. We hope that you will continue to stay with us on any return trips to... More 

Spartanburg, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I recently stayed in the corner King suite for two nights. The room was absolutely beautiful, everything new and updated. The entire hotel has been recently updated, renovated, and the results are amazing. The bed was so comfortable, bathroom large with a television. You cannot beat the amazing location, walking distance to everything, right in the heart... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole T, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing the Vendue. I am thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Vendue! I was particularly pleased to learn that you were impressed with Gallery King Room and the updates made during our recent renovation. We are always pleased when guests return to the Vendue and I do hope that you... More 

Crete
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first thing to say about the Vendue is that the staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. This emanates from the hotel manager who is an absolutely top chap. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the bedding is high quality and the bathrooms utterly superb. They have realised that the modern traveller wants a really good shower and not some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicole T, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the feedback on your recent stay. I’m happy to hear that our staff offered excellent service during your stay. The issues you experienced during breakfast have been addressed with the staff to ensure a flawless experience on your next trip to Charleston. We are also working on installation of additional window coverings for the guest room... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed three nights mid-week in April. This was our first visit to Charleston so wanted to stay right downtown. The location of the Vendue is perfect for exploring much of the city. The desk staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was a very nice size with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was likewise quite nice,though water pressure was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole T, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review

Dear Misplacedmidwestern, We appreciate you sharing your experience from your stay at The Vendue. I was particularly pleased to learn that you were impressed with the hospitality of the front desk staff. We are also happy to hear that you found your guest room to be comfortable and spacious. I have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping team, as we... More 

Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thanks to the staff for hosting a beautiful reception for our group ofnClemson friends! We did not stay overnight but it is on my bucket list now! Very classy lobby and bar with southern charm. Just beautiful. Friendly service in the restaurant and an A+ atmosphere for a special event. Everyone knows this venue for the rooftop bar, but this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Here for a family trip with 8 people. 4 rooms. My wife and I (who were paying the bill) were placed next to a service closet and an elevator shaft in room 314. Constant noise from the hallway due to poor fit of the door (light from hallway gets in all around the door!) with elevator bells and staff use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Nicole T, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review

Dear giaff, Thank you for your review of The Vendue. While I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and dining options, I regret that you didn't feel the same about your stay. Although we aren't able to change the location of some of our service closets, we have reviewed volume levels with the staff so that our guests... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've typically stay at Charleston Place and this is our first time at Vendue. Stayed for 2 nights for bridge run in March. This is the best hotel. Service is absolutely impeccable. Better than the Four Seasons I was at in April. Every detail is cared for. The rooms are luxurious and memorable. The staff - check-in, bar, valet -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicole T, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review

Dear Susan B, I'm pleased to hear that you gave The Vendue a chance during your recent trip to Charleston! And what an exciting weekend to be here. It's an honor to know that the service we provided you rivaled that of such a well known property. Our staff strives to provide professional and personable service to all of our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

358 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (300)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question