We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Courtyard Inn

Hotel website
198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kings Courtyard Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kings Courtyard Inn
See the most recent reviews
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
693 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn over the July 4th weekend. The hotel is conveniently located in the historical downtown of Charleston, close to many of the attractions. The hotel has several courtyards within the hotel which you can't notice from the outside. Parking options include a lot behind the hotel as well as a garage on the other... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank wbullseye
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here one night during the summer because we got a great deal online and the location is perfect. Complimentary sherry and breakfast make the room charming. Be warned that you must pay to park in the lot but prices are reasonable. Would stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank acceber311
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was determined to stay downtown this time, and I am totally spoiled now to any other locale. the hotel is right on King street just a block or two north of Broad. It is within walking distance of everything downtown. Parking is easy too with a guaranteed lot on Market. It is heaven to me to have a spot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Okietraveler92
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend and will definitely be going back. Charming place with nice amenities. Wine and cheese in the evenings and continental breakfast delivered to your room if you choose. Perfect location...one block from the Market. My only complaints: although our room was perfect, the bathroom seemed outdated and slightly dirty. Our view was terrible....it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank StefaniHenshaw
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location...easy walks to the best restaurants, waterfront, and lovely historic neighborhoods. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Room was fine, but bathroom could use some updating, especially water temperature control. Wine reception in the early evening was a nice touch. Definitely a good value.

Helpful?
Thank Maura B
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and complimentary amenities. Your comments about the bathroom are appreciated as we work through our summer maintenance projects. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the view your room offered. When you visit again, we will do... More 

Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn last week. We found the staff to be friendly and very helpful. The condition of the rooms; however, were in need of renovation and cleaning. The first room we occupied had crumbs covering the floor, blood stains on the bed linens, and a loud noise kept us up all night. We had our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank readingtchr
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely apologize for the issues encountered during your stay. This is not up to our standards and immediate corrective action has been taken. You input is very valuable as we work through many scheduled refurbishment projects this summer. I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with our... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location, nice to have free option to have breakfast in our room, staff very very nice. Just need some work on bathroom updates and bigger TV...Would stay again.it is located just a couple blocks from most places you want to see..

Helpful?
Thank bpo47
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great hotel in a super location. The room was a perfect size for 2, very clean, charming with period furnishing and a really pretty canopy bed, that was very comfortable! We were in room 404, right off the courtyard from King Street. I thought it would be noisy, and it really wasn't. There was a small fridge in the closet,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alm22569
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled that you had such an exceptional time at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I appreciate your notes about our staff - they are indeed a wonderful team. House and Garden Festival season is a fantastic time to see the city. I hope you are able to return again... More 

Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Kings Courtyard. The room was beautiful, but there were a few tiny problems. The bed was gorgeous, and it was thoughtful for them to provide steps to get into the thing, but in the end, the only way to get into the bed was to backroll like a high jumper. One day our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nickelman
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that overall, you had a wonderful visit, enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese and delightful staff. Historic Charleston Rice Beds are indeed a bit higher off the floor than a standard bed, which is in the majority of our rooms. I apologize for the housekeeping... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Enjoyed being able to walk to great restaurants, the Market and historic district. We had debated over whether to rent a car, and we were happy we didn't. Charleston is very walkable, with many lovely houses and shopping. The furnishings in the hotel are charming and comfortable. The lobby is inviting and we enjoyed the warmth of the fire. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank stpauler6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay