We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Charleston hotels

Elliott House Inn

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
15% OFF + FREE Champagne
Save Saved
You added Elliott House Inn to your Saves list
Elliott House Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #37 of 54 hotels in Charleston
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
danak71 Atlanta
  • Reviews (228)
  • Photos (435)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (94)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    71
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
11
152
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Elliott House Inn for 2 nights celebrating his birthday. Upon our very early arrival (we arrived in the city at 8 am but check in wasn't until 3 pm) we met Neal at the front desk who is amazingly awesome and full of wonderful information. He told us everything from where to dine,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here for a night. Was looking for charm. Would have been off with a chain. No parking, the worlds smallest "pool", a blinking light on the phone that even the maintenance man could not fix set the stage. The second "B" in "b&b" means one bagel and one hard-boiled egg. We needed to go fund an actual breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

It’s not a pool!!!! I’m so sorry that you assumed it was. It’s actually a rather large outdoor heated Jacuzzi. Due to health regulations, it must remain a hot tub, even during the warmer summer months. I apologize that you got the impression that we were a B&B. We’re actually an Inn that provides a complimentary continental breakfast and evening... More

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service was top notch and the breakfast was nice as well as the courtyard. Parking is located across the street and the cost is $20.00 a day. I was not impressed with the bathroom. That is the very first thing that I look at when I first arrive in my room as well as the bed. I immediately noticed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate you providing such a candid review of your stay. I’m very sorry that the property was not up to par with your expectations. Had we been notified while you were onsite, I have a feeling that we could have provided you with the pleasant and clean experience that you deserve while staying at Elliott House. Experiencing dirty doors... More

Conway, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to go to Charleston, for the 4th of July and was able to find a room here. The front desk staff Neil and Grace were great, however- we got to the room and it is very small, and found hairs on the pillowcases, the remote had tape on the back and did not work, and was a bug... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I apologize for some of the features in your room not being in working order for your arrival, that’s certainly not what we want any guest to experience. I am pleased to see that Neal stepped up and was able to provide everything you needed for a comfortable nights rest. If you’re looking for a cheaper value, I would recommend... More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking for an inn or small hotel in the old town area and the Elliott House proved to be perfect for accommodation and location. Our room overlooked the courtyard ,was well furnished and quiet. Stall were excellent and knowledgeable of the city and environs.The location proved ideal for restaurants (82 QS, Poogan's, and Eli's were all excellent but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We appreciated you spending your 8 day trip to Charleston with us! We enjoyed getting to know you and your husband. Next time you’re visiting “the states” again, please think of us – we’d love to have back again. More

Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had the room been $40-50 cheaper with free parking, this review would be rated higher. The website did not mention that parking garages in the area run about $20 and no free street parking. The room is nicely furnished, but smells quite musty in spite of the dehumidifier tucked in the corner. The bug we squashed in the bathroom seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I’m sorry you did not find a true “value” while staying at Elliott House for your visit to Charleston. I’m surprised by your statement that we did not mention this on our website. I’m concerned that you were not able to locate this. We take great strides in informing every guest ahead of time that parking in not included in... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We originally booked a hotel room at the Society House in Charleston. We received a call saying that because of plumbing problems, there were no room available and we were being switched to the Elliott (their sister hotel) At the Society House we had booked a suite, and we're very disappointed when we got to the Elliott and saw the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

While you didn’t choose to stay at Elliott House Inn during your quick one night stay in Charleston, we are certainly pleased that you did! Granted we are not a suites hotel like Society House, but we do provide a free continental breakfast, free bicycle rentals, free wireless, free heated Jacuzzi and free wine & cheese reception. None of those... More

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this inn while traveling up to Jersey. We found on hotels tonight. Got a great rate and the inn was so wonderful and more than we expected. The service was outstanding. The room was so clean and loved the decor. The happy hour was small but if you want drinks 82 Queen bar is right next door.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

What a joy to read! I’m so pleased to read that we fit exactly what you were looking for while visiting Charleston. Our location and proximity to all of Charleston is tremendous feature to have. Please keep us in mind next time you’re visiting, we’d love to have you back again! More

Port Charlotte, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I did my research and picked this hotel based on reviews. The first night there was a wedding behind the hotel blasting music until well after 11:00. (mean while, we went to relax) Had a courtyard view which the light lights up your room the entire night like it day light out. The young man at the front desk was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I understand that you have a lot of hotels to choose from while visiting Charleston and thank you for choosing us. While I’m pleased to read that the staff exceeded your expectations, I am sad that the room did not. Please know that the city of Charleston has a strict noise ordinance for weddings and city events which requires all... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Elliott House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

435 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)
Viewed
Traditional King (76)
Viewed
Traditional King with Patio (78)
Viewed
Traditional Queen (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston #33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 25 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer