We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elliott House Inn

4.0 of 5 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel website
Special Offer
SAVE 15% on Select Dates
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elliott House Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Elliott House Inn
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    92
    47
    18
    8
See reviews for
15
202
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (304)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Love this place! Perfect location and easy parking. The restaurants near by are great and the staff is absolutely great and welcoming. After staying at the Vendue for years for 2Xs the price, I think we just found our regular place to stay in Charleston!

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is often described as charming and it couldn't be more spot on!! From the service to the location it just evoked what one would always imagine southern charm to be. I loved my stay in July 2014.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annapolis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Would have liked to be able to see the courtyard from the room without opening the door. A full length mirror would be helpful, but other than that, an enjoyable stay. Room was clean and loved the furnishings. A few more offerings for breakfast would have been nice, but bringing it to the room was great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This very quaint bed and breakfast has always been our favorite. I know with a little more attention to detail it can be again. Pay close attention to make sure that the room, doors, lightswitches, etc are clean. Need fluffy towels for this price range note. Working phones and easy showers are needed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your candor on your recent stay with us. I apologize for not having the room cleaned appropriately prior to you checking into the room. This isn’t a common occurrence, but still something that is worth discussing with all of our staff here at the inn. We never want to leave any guest with the impression that the property... More 

Spartanburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this place so much I almost don't want to share how great it is! Super location, historical beauty, relaxing and quaint. Perfect for business and leisure. The cocktail hour and breakfast are such nice additions- I can't wait to return!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

What kind words – thank you! You said it best, our location and quaint accommodations make for a wonderful combination while visiting Charleston. We can’t wait to see you again when you come back to visit. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a pleasant establishment with welcoming and helpful staff. While we visited in January I can imagine that better value is to be had in spring/summer when one can enjoy the court yard and the free wine reception each evening! the fist room we had was to the front of the property. the furnishings and the bathroom were fine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate the kind review of your stay with us! I’m happy to see that our staff was able to accommodate your request of being moved to the back of the hotel, it tends to be a quieter than the street view “Traditional” rooms we sell. I appreciate that the staff and property amenities really left you with a great... More 

Ball Ground
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When you are spending $200.00 per night I would expect more. The famous hot tub was closed for our entire stay. The bath towels had stains on them. Breakfast was basic. The wine & cheese was a joke. Everything outside our room was filthy. We travel to Charleston often and the Elliot House was by far our worst experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Wow! I can only hope that others reading this review take the time to read others comments. I believe that you’ll find this is not a common issue with our hotel. We understand that we’re not a good fit for all that visits Charleston, perhaps this is one of those situations. I’m very sorry you feel that way and encourage... More 

Colleyville, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked two rooms for a three night stay at this hotel on Jetsetter based on its location and the description of the courtyard rooms. the inn's location was great, the breakfast service to the rooms was appreciated, given the unseasonably cold weather, but the rest of the experience did not live up to the expectations I had, based on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I’m sorry that you felt Jettsetter misrepresented our property when making the decision to purchase your stay with us. Please understand that we are only 25 rooms. We never intentionally sell our rooms with the guests thinking that they have a “view”. When we label our rooms “courtyard”, it is only a description of where your room is located, not... More 

Skaneateles, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Other than the terrific location, there is little we can recommend about this hotel. We had two rooms, and both were very disappointing. #26 is filled with dark, old, Victorian furniture and is very cramped and uncomfortable. The bathroom is tiny. There was no hair dryer in the bathroom. The bedroom was not luxurious, and everything felt tired and worn.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I’m so sorry that you really felt disappointed with our hotel. I hope that while the rooms didn’t meet your expectations our terrific staff and location made up for what you considered to be a shortfall for us. More 

Pennslyvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Elliott House was a perfect place to unwind from the corporate world of hotels... The property is well maintained, the rooms are charming and staff was very gracious. The Elliott House is in a perfect locations to explore the city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate you commenting on the well-appointed rooms, great location and terrific staff. We really try hard every single day to help our guests have a comfortable stay and will come back again and stay with us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston

484 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)
Viewed
Traditional King (76)
Viewed
Traditional King with Patio (78)
Viewed
Traditional Queen (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay