We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elliott House Inn

Hotel website
78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Offer
SAVE 15% on Select Dates
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elliott House Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Elliott House Inn
Rate this Hotel

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    96
    51
    19
    8
See reviews for
16
212
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (316)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Dodge City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a cozy inn to hang your hat during your trip, this is it. The breakfast, while light in composition, is always delivered on time. It was just enough to get us going each day. Our room was always cleaned and anything we needed, including taxis or car services, was arranged for us. The staff are... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

What kind words – thank you! We really try hard to make sure that each guest feels welcome and has the best tools to maximize their vacation time while visiting Charleston. I’m so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Please keep us in mind next time you are in town. You are always welcome to stay... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For our first visit to Charleston, the Elliott House rolled out the red carpet! They arranged a black car service to and from the airport at a reasonable rate. All of the staff was friendly and helpful! Great location in the heart of the historical district. We were able to walk to just about any attraction, dining, or shopping. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

What a nice review! We appreciated you choosing to stay with us considering all the lodging options we have in Charleston. I heard that you left your hat in the limo service that took you to the airport. Neal has tracked down the driver and we’ll deliver it to you in the mail. We really do thank you for the... More 

Waxahachie, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We go on a yearly trip with my brother and sister-in-law. This was our third trip to Charleston together. The past two times we had stayed at the Anchorage Inn and loved it. Sadly this past year when we started making our plans we found out the Anchorage had been closed. In looking for another place to stay we found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family stay with us! Seeing you all in the courtyard enjoying each other’s company was nice to see. We really appreciate you choosing EHI for your stay, as we understand that you have several properties to choose from. We can’t wait to welcome you back again, hopefully for years to come! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night - Sunday - and arrived early. The friendly staff checked With housekeeping and said our room was ready and we could check in early. Room was clean and very "charleston" with lots of antique type furniture (one negative was it almost had too much furniture). Parking located in the garage across the street at... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us. I’m so happy to read that the staff were able to accommodate and early check in and they provided you with great service. Please keep us in mind next time you visit the area, we’d love to have you back again. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros - location this hotel is right in the middle of the historic part of Charleston, very close to all the restaurants you need. Cons - the courtyard king rooms on the ground floor (at least our room and I'm assuming the other similar ones (another 4) courtyard area suffer from little or no insulation from the room above. on... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your business! Due to the storage constraints in the units, we’ve chosen not to have coffee makers in the room. We do have someone staffed 24 hours a day, so at any point you need hot tea or coffee, we’ll be happy to deliver. You are never bothering us. It’s our job. Regarding the noise from your neighbors... More 

Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cute, quaint B&B in a great location in the historic district. Very nice and helpful staff. Our 1 complaint is how noisy the street is. We stayed there multiple nights and our first night was room 21. It is facing Queen street and the delivery trucks and garbage trucks start making noise before 6 am. The next morning we called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay. You are correct, room 21 is a noisier room than others due to its location on the street side. Because we never want any guest to be surprised by these street front rooms, we’ve taken extra steps in separating out these particular rooms from the other guest rooms. We’ve even decided to... More 

Lapeer
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Elliott House Inn is Friendly, helpful! Comfortable room for relaxing and sleeping. Walking distance to any sights in the city. Biggest asset is the Inn's employees. First choice on a return visit to Charleston.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate being your first choice in Charleston! We are fortunate to have guests like you. More 

Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Charming but elegant Inn with great accommodations and service. Ideally situated in the downtown area, the beautiful courtyard was enjoyable day or night - the perfect place for breakfast or a glass of wine. We look forward to staying here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you! You are welcome back anytime. More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looks good on the website, but not as good in person. Staff is friendly and helpful, but rooms are small, old and tired. Nearby construction and restaurant noise can also keep you up much of the night. Parking is in an old parking garage across the street and costs $20.00/day. Courtyard is OK and location is very good, but for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I’m sorry that you didn’t feel the property matched the photography on our website. We try and depict an honest picture of exactly what type of accommodations you will be renting as we don’t want to deceive any of our potential guests. We understand that we’re not a good fit for all guests that visit Charleston, but would really like... More 

Angier
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am only giving 3 stars because of the loud construction noise next door, it was not a "restful" getaway. It was so nice to wake up in my bed at home and not hear jackhammers and loud engines. As always, Charleston was very lovely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

While I understand that the construction happening nearby can be a disturbance during your stay with, I can only hope that the accommodations and customer were top notch for you while you visited. I hope that future potential guests understand the City of Charleston has an ordinance in place to protect you while you are sleeping at night. This construction... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

488 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)
Viewed
Traditional King (76)
Viewed
Traditional King with Patio (78)
Viewed
Traditional Queen (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question