We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4.0 of 5 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel website
Special Offer
15% OFF + Free Parking
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    241
    80
    32
    15
See reviews for
111
442
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (826)
  • Mar-May only
    (213)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (208)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (245)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We loved this hotel. It was perfectly located; we valeted the car and didn't use it again until we left. The hotel was lovely, the people were pleasant and helpful, friendly and engaging, from the front desk to the housekeeping. The rooms were very clean (barring some dust in sconce lights and bathroom vent) and the beds were ridiculously comfortable.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first time at the Andrew Pinkney Inn. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The Inn is beautifully decorated and the room was comfortable, even though it was small. (Someday someone will figure out pocket doors would be fabulous for small bathrooms!) The breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese on the veranda was lovely. Walking distance to some great... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is great to know how much you enjoyed our wonderful Afternoon Reception and Breakfast featured on our Rooftop Terrace. As you mentioned the location is most convenient as we are just a few footsteps away from the Market and surrounded with... More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great relaxing stay and the staff was so helpful. We have stayed in several places and we will make this our go to from now on! They took great care of us including the little one and her bear! You made us feel special.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is most pleasing to know that our staff played a vital role in creating a wonderful environment on your recent getaway especially for your little girl and her best friend "the teddy bear". Have a terrific Holiday Season with your family. We... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose the Andrew Pinckney Inn for its close proximity to downtown Charleston and the value. We were NOT disappointed! Greeted by a valet who took care of our car and didn't have to drive around finding parking. The staff was excellent!! Very helpful and charming! Our room was very comfortable, felt like home!!! For the price, atmosphere and closeness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

We were elated to read the review of your recent stay. It is very rewarding to know that you now consider the Andrew Pinckney Inn you favorite place to stay in Charleston. We appreciate the recognition of the fine guest service delivered by our entire staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Enjoy the Holidays! Thank you, Barry... More

Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You cannot beat the location of this charming hotel. It was close to everything but on a quiet side street. We could walk everywhere, north and south of broad and the walk down to the battery was beautiful. We enjoyed the breakfast, the wine reception, and access to a full service gym nearby. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent trip to Charleston. We appreciate the acknowledgement of so many of our wonderful featured amenities such as the Rooftop Breakfast & Wine Reception, local fitness facility and of course the wonderful guest service provided by our staff. As you mentioned we do have a few interior queen rooms that... More

Waveland, Mississippi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay. Couldn't have asked for more comfort and beauty in a quaint old hotel in downtown Charleston. Staff went out of the way to be helpful. Breakfast buffet and wine and cheese in afternoon were just icing on the cake.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

So nice to know that the Andrew Pinckney Inn was the "perfect" hotel for you on your recent getaway to Charleston. Glad to know how much you enjoyed both our breakfast and afternoon reception featured on our Rooftop Terrace during your stay. Please keep us in mind when visiting Charleston in the future. Best Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager Andrew... More

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We liked the location and the staff was friendly, but we were given a room that wasn't as nice as those on the website. The staff were very friendly, but they also woke us up each morning talking and making noise. To be fair, we didn't complain or give the hotel a chance to make any changes.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay but we do appreciate your candid comments. We only wish that you would have allowed us the opportunity to address any concerns you had during your three day stay so that you would have had a more enjoyable experience. I would like to note... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We specified characterful/boutique hotels to our travel agent in a tour of South Carolina and South Georgia, and they came up trumps with the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We only stayed two nights but really enjoyed the amenities, setting and service. Our room was fine: we have no complaints and thought that the staff were helpful. The valet boys were a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for recognizing the Andrew Pinckney Inn with your wonderful review. As you mentioned we are indeed a unique and "characterful" historic inn located in the heart of the historic district. Again thank you for taking the time to post your comments for other potential guest to view. Best Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager Andrew Pinckney Inn More

Needham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently spent three nights at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Everything was wonderful. The room set up is very nice. Bed & bedding was very comfortable. The staff was amazing. The rooftop breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were lovely and generous. I'll be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your recent stay. So glad to hear how comfortable and cozy you found the bed & linens and how much you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast & afternoon reception featured on our Rooftop Terrace. Thank you for taking the time post your review. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Thanks... More

Ft Worth TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My two girlfriends and I rented one of the town homes here in September and loved it. The staff was so helpful with anything and everything we needed. The valet/bellmen were wonderful at giving restaurant suggestions. The bed was comfy, room very clean and they give plenty of towels. The very best part is the amazing breakfast served on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your special girls getaway weekend. We certainly appreciate the kind words of our staff's friendliness and helpfulness during your stay. It is a delight to know how much you enjoyed our wonderful Rooftop Breakfast with its signature dishes and beautiful views of the city. Thanks again for taking the time to... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

497 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (341)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
King Jacuzzi Suite (49)
Viewed
Queen Historic Value Room (59)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (13)
Viewed
St. Philip's Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay