We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Andrew Pinckney Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Offer
Click here to save
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Add Photo

1,010 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    580
    277
    93
    39
    21
See reviews for
140
546
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1010)
  • Mar-May only
    (313)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (209)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (247)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (241)
All months
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have been staying in the heart of old historic Charleston for over 15 years, and the past 11 years at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. The best thing about staying within the historical "quarter" is you can walk everywhere. The next best thing about staying at a very high quality historical property, is the opportunity to visit with the other... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A charming inn in a great location in Charleston, SC. BUT, six rooms in the inn have NO WINDOWS. Our room was 10' by 14' with a queen bed, that took up most of the space. The ventilation was not good, duh, NO WINDOW. After asking to be moved to one of the exterior rooms, I was told, sorry but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chalfont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location. Wonderful breakfast and daily wine and cheese on happy hour on outdoor veranda. Hotel staff extremely helpful in our selection of sights to see, activities to do. Bed linens soft and luxurious - once in bed fell asleep within minutes.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn! From the time we arrived, and until we left everyone was very accommodating. Definitely will stay here again. Wonderful hideaway in the heart of Charleston! Fantastic!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Myers
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Andrew Pinkney Inn was more than we had expected! It was a charming boutique hotel in the historical downtown area, just a block or two from The Market, Carriage rides, Tours, fabulous restaurants and the waterfront! It would have been nice upon inquiring at the front desk before we arrived to know ahead that there was a $14.00 per... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I arrived at Andrew Pinckney Inn to find out that the third party website we had booked through had cancelled our reservation without informing us. It was no fault of the inn whatsoever, yet Sandy on the front desk put everything aside to help us resolve the matter. The hotel was unfortunately booked up so he got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just returned from our vacation in Charleston and absolutely loved the Andrew Pinckney Inn. The location could not have been better right in the center of everything. The service was outstanding. Everyone was so nice and accommodating with suggestions for touring and restaurants. We were especially fond of Martin one of the Valet attendants...such an outstanding young man. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were hesitant about staying there, but chose the Pinckney Inn based on reviews. We were not disappointed. Everything was perfect. The rooms were very clean and most comfortable. They offered a small breakfast buffet daily and wine with cheese, crackers, etc.in the afternoon, both of which you could enjoy on their rooftop area. There was great attention to detail.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent stay in Charleston. It is great to know that we did exceed your expectations and that everything was perfect. We hope that you will be back again to enjoy the wonderful Rooftop Amenities and more. Best Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager Andrew Pinckney Inn More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Andrew Pinckney is a quaint inn within walking distance of the market and wonderful restaurants. Location isn't the only thing they offer, however. Wonderful cozy rooms beautifully decorated await you! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I will definitely recommend to family and friends and can't wait to return some day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you selecting the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your recent Mother - Daughter Getaway. Thank you for the kind words especially of our incredibly friendly and helpful staff. We hope you will be back again soon to enjoy our wonderful location and accommodations. Best Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager Andrew Pinckney Inn More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here recently on our 5th trip to Charleston. This is a delightful inn where the staff makes you feel at home and well taken care of. The location is ideal. You are within walking distance to many fine restaurants, shops and the Market. We stayed in one of the townhouse units, which was so spacious, clean and comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay. No finer compliment could be spoken than "made to feel at home" during your stay. Our entire staff takes great pride in offering the finest guest service possible. Thanks for taking the time to recognize Sandy our Guest Service Manager as he certainly leads by example. Please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

499 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (341)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
King Jacuzzi Suite (49)
Viewed
Queen Historic Value Room (59)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (13)
Viewed
St. Philip's Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay