We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Hotel deals
Hotel website
181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    604
    500
    197
    92
    29
See reviews for
320
531
40
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1422)
  • Mar-May only
    (378)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (430)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (354)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (260)
All months
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Irving, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel accomodations were excellent and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful! The location was perfect for a short walk to the many restaurants and bars in the historic downtown distric. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place in Charleston.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team… “Great Place to Stay” is an excellent summation of your recent visit and we Thank You! Our courteous and professional staff goes out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction is consistently offered to everyone that comes through our doors….and it appears you had the pleasure of witnessing our team in action during your... More 

Augusta,Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here last weekend 5/9-5/11. Hotel in great shape. Ideal location for tourist. Close to lots of great restaurants.Stayed here numerous times and always a great stay. The rooms were spacious and looked like they had been recently updated.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Perfect location within walking distance to fabulous restaurants, shopping, the water, and interesting sites. Friendly hotel staff, large quiet rooms and the ever comfortable beds. Would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon. More 

Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

i stayed with several family members this past weekend. the hotel was full with graduations taking place at both local colleges. all went well with the exception of the bar hours. the bar stopped service at 10:30 pm while several customers were still arriving and the rest were just cut off. we were told the manager had to balance and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We truly value your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and the other guests while trying to enjoy the bar. I... More 

St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Location is excellent, but there is lots more to appreciate - Lobby is interesting, pretty, fresh flowers, local themed art. Clean as a whistle. Smiles and cookies, - Staff, front desk, cleaners, dining room are uniformly politely upbeat. There must be a good manager or managers behind the scene, - Our room 558 (suite) of good size, quiet, pleasantly decorated,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star posting. We appreciate your summation and agreement with others that boast of our "Staff, front desk, cleaners, dining room are uniformly politely upbeat". As a company we pride ourselves on our “southern hospitality” we offer every guests who entire our doors. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they were a... More 

Winchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice. People are friendly. Rooms are cramped but adequate. Do not let them give you room 160. It is across from the maids closet. They are outside my door right now,talking loudly. When they open and close a door nearby, it rattles our door and sounds like someone is coming in. Ask for a different room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and regret the disappointment you experienced during your most recent stay with us. Your review will help us identify areas of opportunity and make improvements to our daily operations. Please feel free to contact us if you have any additional comments or concerns and we hope we can invite you back for the experience you... More 

Reidsville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed Charleston. The charm of the historic district was more than I anticipated. The hotel was an excellent choice. The only problem spots were a noisy and difficult to adjust air conditioning system and the high school prom that occurred on Sat. night. The prom made for a less than restful night's sleep. Overall, a wonderful weekend trip.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic market area. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of shopping and restaurant choices that make up the historic area. I also want to apologize for the noise during your stay.... More 

Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here 3 yrs. in a row for a conference. Everything is within walking distance. You don't need a car. Shop til you drop, eat to your heart's content, take a carriage tour, walking tour, or be carted someplace by one of those bike carriages. They are all right outside your door. They have washers & dryers to do your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your gracious posting regarding our warm and friendly staff. In addition, we are glad to hear you found our location convenient to everything in the city and had a great experience at Hank's Seafood. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your praise as well. As a company it is our... More 

Charlotte, NC, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The room we were given was the size of a walk-in closet. I thought I was in New York City. It was a very poor value for what we paid. Never again. The lobby and public areas were very broken up and very uninviting.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that the room size did not meet your expectations as your satisfaction is our ultimate goal. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction and hope to have another opportunity to show you the complete quality stay you deserve should you return... More 

Evansville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The size of the room for the cost were a lot to be desired! It was like a basic motel for the cost of a 4 star hotel. You could hear everything from the next room. The bath room was so small you could have a panic attack because of the size.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding the size of the guestroom and bathroom are a bit slow of a concern. If you would, please contact me personally in the future so I can personally handle your reservation to ensure you are placed in a two room suite allowing... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Valet parking(9)
  • Very nice(9)
  • Great location(3)
  • Coffee maker(3)
  • Carriage ride(3)
  • Very friendly(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

454 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Other (20)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
King Guest Room (25)
Viewed
King Two-Room Suite (35)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Bi-Level Junior Suite (31)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Two-Room Suite (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (219)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#26 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#15 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay