We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Charleston hotels

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #35 of 54 hotels in Charleston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
vgp95 Covington, Georgia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (987)
  • Photos (244)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (172)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

987 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    328
    150
    81
    26
See reviews for
213
380
28
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a good stay at the Doubletree in Charleston staying in the new section across the courtyard from the reception area. I was concerned that it would be noisy because we were one floor above the meeting/banquet room level but we never heard anything from that. We did hear some noise out in the hallway and our air conditioner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear vgp95 Thank you for bringing to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about the noise encounters. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business! Best wishes, Michael Perry General Manager More

Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrived a little early and the room wasn't ready, no big deal, I just walked around the Historic area. On check-in I was told that to park my car would be an additional $27/nite. I still wasn't too upset until I got to my king room! I could touch the ceiling, it was the tiniest room I have ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear keywestlady I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate your speed in bringing this opportunity to me and allowing me to follow up with our team, ensuring that you and future guests do not experience this situation again. With Charleston full of hospitality choices I hope you will allow us another chance to... More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Let me preface my comments by stating I have no complaints about the property or the staff. Everything was ok - not terrific, not awful, just ok. I don't know if I expected more and didn't get it or if it is just an average hotel. As a Hilton Diamond and a Starwood Platinum member, I spend a lot time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear drdave60 Thank you for bring to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear our service did not excced your expectations. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business! As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience... More

Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is located right next to the historic downtown market. I enjoyed a suite on one of the Hilton Honors floors. The room was spacious with a sleeper couch, desk, chairs and large TV in the "living room", adequately sized bedroom with king bed and another large TV. The bathroom showed some signs of age (humidity rusted towel rack... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Charlie S We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and regret the disappoint you've experienced with your most recent stays with us. Your review will help us identify areas of opportunity and make improvements to our daily operations. Please feel free to contact us if you have any additional comments or concerns and we hope we can invite you back for... More

Antalya, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

At the center of Historic Districtt. Very well decorated and clean. Valet parking available. Every part of the city you want to see is on walking distance. Front office people are very helpful and friendly. Thanks to them. I highly recommend Double tree at Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Lev011 Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel and our Team. Your comments referencing our service the Team offers was most appreciated, as well as, your comments regarding our guestrooms. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your comments as well. We appreciate your confidence you have in us. As a... More

York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great hotel, and had a great time, but was upset when we were charged on our acct. and my parents booked the trip for us and was suppose to be charged. They fixed it for us, but this should be more clear and fixed in the future from happening. My mom was then charged more on acct. for valet parking... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Crystal O Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service during your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Right in the middle of the historic district of Charleston, SC. The Doubletree is right on the market where goods were sold during the slave period. You literally walk out the front of the hotel and 15 steps to the right and you are on the market. This is where all the action is from an open air market to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear TIM K We're so glad you enjoyed the location as the hotel is in the heart of the historic district. We appreciate your loyality and look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Michael Perry General Manager More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Double Tree on my honeymoon. The hotel was clean, quiet and in a great location for people who wanted to explore Charleston. The hotel is in the heart of downtown, close to restaurants and many other attractions. My favorite part of this hotel were the valets. They were incredibly helpful in every way: giving directions, suggestions,... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear 286jeannettec, We thank you for your recent review and recognition of our property and staff. We strive to ensure each and every guest is provided the best possible experience and it appears our efforts were successful during your visit. It is rewarding to hear we made “such a positive impression” as Charleston is full of options for lodging and... More

columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

good location, clean, ac worked great and much better than any other hotel's. security was good adjacent parking a little high in costs but had no problems. staff were polite and helpful. well this surveyminimun of 200 characters is a little abusive and too much time, is that 200 characters yet???

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Edgar Ralph R, Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature... More

Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is within walking distance to pretty much everything you want in the historical district; Great restaurants, museums, shopping and the waterfront. You can even take a longer walk.down to Battery Park without much effort. Our room was wonderful, with a separate sitting area, great bed and decent bath. Very clean. The small refrigerator was nice but it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Admiral727, Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

244 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
King Guest Room (25)
Viewed
King Two-Room Suite (35)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Bi-Level Junior Suite (31)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Two-Room Suite (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston #30 Family Hotel in Charleston #30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
182

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer