We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Hotel deals
Hotel website
181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Offers & Announcements
Suite Special
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location was great and we enjoyed the sleep, but I like to spend some time on an elliptical before starting my day. Arriving at the fitness center at 7:00, I found I could not access the fitness center until 8 AM. When I asked if I could access early the desk clerk was surly and intimated that workouts were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Bruce D, Thank you very much for staying with us. We very much appreciate you bringing this less than acceptable response to our attention. While our fitness center does have set hours due to the geographic location it is to other guest rooms, I am most disappointed in the manner that information was given to you.......please except my sincere... More 

DeForest, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were enjoying a bottle of wine in the courtyard using the plastic water glasses from our room. The bartender saw us through the windows from the bar & brought us wine glasses remarking, "you'll enjoy the wine better with these". I'd call that "attention to detail" & excellent guest service!

Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Gerald K, Thank you very much for your recent review . We love the summation of your stay, "Friendly & Attentive staff "and the example you gave was spot on "attention to detail" We train all employees to anticipate the guest needs and it certainly seem like our bartender did exactly that. I am not sure which bartender, but... More 

Raleigh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location and friendly staff. Right by the market. Hank is right next door but there are plenty of other dinner choices near by. You should plan to get up early and walk to The Battery while the city wakes up. When you get back there will be a nice breakfast buffet waiting on you. I will stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
DTreebyHilton, Guest Service Agent at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Thomas K, We would like to thank you for your recent review of the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Historic District. Our Courteous and professional Team strives to make every guest stay the absolute best and it sounds like we hit it out of the park during your recent visit ! The location of the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Historic... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel is in a great location and very clean. Our only complaint is that we had no hot water on day of check out. We reported it at the front desk and all she said was that she would make a note of it. Did not even apologize. Could not ask for a better location for downtown.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I'd like to apologize on behalf of the entire staff here at the Doubletree Charleston Historic District, first because you didn't have hot water and secondly because you didn't get this apology at the time you brought this to our attention. I will... More 

New York, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cute southern charm. Was there for a company meeting. Rooms are fine, bathrooms a bit dated. Clean. Very well located! Great for business travel. It is what you'd expect from a doubletree. The location makes it ideal. Bed was comfortable. X

Helpful?
1 Thank LUVINVACATION
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Luvinvacation, We thank you for your recent review and recognition or our property and staff. We strive to ensure each and every guest is provided the best possible experience and it seems we feel a bit short of your expectations. As we continue to evolve, we will use your comments specifically about the rooms and bathrooms being dated into... More 

wrentham, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Doubltree in Historic Charleston was a perfect location to walk around the city. The staff was great and the rooms were clean and had everything needed for a business trip. They went above and beyond to assist in getting to the airport for an early flight when weather was an issue.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Caroline M, Thank you very much for your 5 Star review summarizing your stay as " Great Location, room and staff" We are truly elated that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a company, this is exactly what we strive for... 100% guest satisfaction ! With Charleston full of hospitality choices, we are pleased that you chose us... More 

Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The charming hotel is in a great location near the market and within walking distance of many great restaurants, shops and attractions. The staff were all welcoming, helpful and efficient from the Valet/Doorman to the Front Desk, maintenance, food staff at the meeting and the bartender at night. All made every effort to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Kathy M, On behalf of the entire Team... " True Southern Hospitality" is a excellent summation of your experience here at the Doubletree By Hilton Historic District and we Thank You ! Our courteous and professional Team goes out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction is consistently offered to every guest... and it appears you had to pleasure... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first visit to Charleston. The location of the hotel is great! Close to everything. The staff was excellent! From the front desk to the valet employees, everyone was helpful and very friendly. The first room we were assigned was a 2 story layout on the 2nd floor. While the room seemed nice we had a "funny" feeling... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie G
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie G, On behalf of the entire Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Historic District Team, we want to thank you for your 5 Star "Ghostly" review. We thank you for allowing us to be a part of your first trip to Charleston. As a company we pride ourselves on our "Southern Hospitality" that we offer every guest who enters our... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is ideally situated in the market district of Charleston, and everyone treated me as though I was a special guest. The rooms were clean, the towels were soft and thick, and the bed linens felt great on my skin. The safe was easy to use and the complimentary coffee was delicious.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank R5480QSwilliamw
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear R5480QSwilliamw, We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to make every guest feel as though their are only guest from the moment they arrive until the moment they depart the hotel and seems you experienced that first hand during your stay. We are also glad you found our amenities satisfactory and to your... More 

Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Meet there for a meeting in the lobby room,great staff,parking,close to the famous market,walking distance to stores.gift shops,points of interest,restaurants,Just a great hotel in the right place.Walking distance to everything.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cuttler W
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Cuttler W, We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Historic District. We are glad you found are location conveniently located to all the things you wanted to do in the city market area. We hope to see you again for you next stay, our staff will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

372 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
King Guest Room (25)
Viewed
King Two-Room Suite (35)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Bi-Level Junior Suite (31)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Two-Room Suite (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay