We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    196
    83
    46
    27
See reviews for
123
197
25
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (523)
  • Mar-May only
    (136)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (126)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my family decided to stay there for a couple of days. It was construction going on so it was really noisy. We had horrible service at restaurant, eggs were cold, servers were rude. My husband had a problem with people at the front desk. Molly looked like she didn't want us there. Otherwise its a nice place with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. You are correct that there is construction going on at the property next door to us. Luckily, the pile-driving is complete and the current construction noise is minimal. I apologize that you were also unhappy with our breakfast. It was surprising to hear as we usually get great... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The arrival/lobby area was hard to ascertain as you drove up. It wasn't immediately apparent that you needed to go upstairs to check in, and no one was there to indicate that. The beds were so comfortable with all the pillows. The TV options were good. The room was clean and comfortable. Some of the lighting didn't work, and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regardng your recent visit to the Marriott Courtyard Waterfront. I am glad that the hotel met your expectations. Our beautiful location, combined with all the amenties and attractions of Charleston, make this hotel a perfect choice for a great visit. Your comments are appreciated, and we hope you will choose the Courtyard Waterfront on your... More 

atlanta
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very noisy; I have a corner room right on the highway. Sirens, check; trucks, check. The windows are not sound proofed enough. Also, the neighbor above me might as well be walking on my head. Slamming doors constantly....the walls, doors and floors just seem paper thin. I can't wait to check out. Very hard to work and/or relax. The parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Your comments regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront are much appreciated. Any time any of our guests have a less than perfect stay, it is disappointing. While the hotel is located on busy Lockwood Drive, it is also located directly on the beautiful Ashley River, a unique Charleston location. On your next visit I would encourage you... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just had a family wedding in Charleston. The wedding party stayed at the courtyard and received excellent service. We also had the rehearsal dinner for about 80 people on the patio at the courtyard. Bailey, Christine, Sterling and Molly all went out of their way to help. Bailey guided us thru the pre-event planning to get exactly what we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your experience at the Courtyard-Waterfront. It was a pleasure to be part of such a special day. It was a beautiful event, and we are all delighted that it met your expectations. We hope we will have the chance to serve you again soon. Thank you so much. Molly Prochazka Asst General Manager More 

Greenwood, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel had a beautiful view of the harbor and a very nice outdoors area to sit at and relax during a mid-October weekend stay. My husband would have preferred the downtown location, but I really enjoyed the views and atmosphere at this location. The hotel staff were very friendly, but the breakfast staff were just okay. I have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the Courtyard-Waterfront. My apologies for a less than perfect stay. The hotel consistently receives excellent comments regarding the quality, and the wide variety of food on our buffet, so I am a little surprised by your comments. I am sorry that you feel our servers were not responsive enough to your questions regarding your... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was very surprised by this hotel. It was super nice, not downtown though but a good spot to stay at. Its about 10 minutes away from downtown. They are doing construction around the hotel right now but it didn't bother me. The staff was great and the hotel was beautiful! Not what I expected at all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. The Courtyard-Waterfront's unique setting does set it apart from the rest of Charleston's many great hotels....and it is only a few minutes from downtown Charleston. I am glad you had a great stay, and I hope we will have the chance to have you back soon. Regards, Molly Prochazka Asst Gen Manager More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights in October. Although some don't like the location, it worked well for us. Easy access to Calhoun which gets you into town and back on Spring worked for us throughout our stay. Nice sized pool and looks out over the marina which can be quite pleasant in the evening. Get a marina view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. The Courtyard-Waterfront does offer a unique waterfront location, with a great view of the Ashley River from the hotel's pool or terrace. I am sorry that you experienced less than a perfect stay. The construction next to the hotel can be disruptive but as you said, it will not dramatically influence... More 

Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend, while visiting son at college. This is not downtown, so if after the hustle and bustle of downtown, you want a quiet area to retire to, this is your place. Our room was clean, with the fan on the AC, there was enough white noise, so I wasn't bothered by the highway. Parking here is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Marriott Courtyard-Waterfront. We are delighted that the hotel's facilities and service met your expectations, and I hope we will have you back as a guest again in the near future. Regards, Molly Prochazka Asst General Manager More 

Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
80 hotel reviews
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn is going up nextdoor and they are banging pilings in. Soooo I would avoid this if you want to use the pool, read or avoid advil. Nice hotel, great location but not now. If you come Saturday afternnon and leave Sunday you are OK Otherwise be forewarned. They will have to sink rates, offer free breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent visit. We are very sorry that your stay was less than perfect. There is construction going on next door, which is unfortunately out of our control. At certain times of the day, it can be disruptive, but the noise is not something that is continuous. Despite this inconvenience, our hotel still... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

An update to my previous review from February this year. Just stayed at the Courtyard again this past weekend, Oct. 5-6, 2012. There is MAJOR construction going on next door to the left of the hotel where they are building a new property. The fairly constant pounding of huge jackhammers during the day while pilings and foundation are being prepared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Marriott Courtyard Waterfront. Thank you for visiting the hotel again this month. I am sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations. Perfect maintenance and housekeeping are standards that every guest should expect, and it is always disheartening when the hotel falls short of that standard. I assure you that your comments... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

298 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Other (14)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question