We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    179
    208
    97
    47
    31
See reviews for
134
210
25
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (562)
  • Mar-May only
    (156)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I couldn't rate you as perfect because in my world Perfection is Christ only. From our early check in until I checked out I can't thank the staff and management for making our short stay so pleasurable. We thought we were coming for a dreaded visit to MUSC, but it ended up being an hour at the hospital and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Travis J, Thank you for selecting Courtyard Charleston for your recent visit and writing such a glowing review of your stay with us. It is our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we are very happy that we were able to achieve our targets. I am pleased that... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the hotels recommended for a wedding we attended. For the price that we paid I was expecting something more. You have to take the elevator up to the second floor for check in. The elevator was slow and smelled of urine. On our way to the check in desk the automated doors were broken (no signage)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear MissMaile, thank you for your productive comments regarding your recent visit, while attending a wedding. Although you liked our seamless check-in and courteous associates, I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not up to the mark. It always saddens me to hear such feedback, as this is far from the image that we like to... More 

London, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very impressed! This hotel was very clean and the staff were all very friendly. The pool was clean and warm. Towels are provided for guests. I highly recommend using their shuttle to go downtown. It's $6.00 for an all day pass. We had 2 local young men as drivers that gave us great suggestions on eating and site seeing. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear shugirl26, Thank you for selecting Courtyard Charleston for your recent visit and for writing your gracious review. I am happy that we were able to impress you with the cleanliness of our property and our friendly service. I would love to share your kind words to my driver team for them being well versed and knowledgeable and also would... More 

Westchester County NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff at the Marriott were very helpful and the free shuttle to and from the nearby hospitals was wonderful. The drivers were very cheerful and made the difficult circumstances much better. Rooms were fine - the breakfast was good. The pool was okay but a bit short and shallow for lap swimming. Wish they would expand their evening menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear emersonIII, Thank you for your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. We are glad that our location as well as our complimentary shuttle service worked so well for you. Also, that your room and the breakfast we served was to your satisfaction. We work hard to provide high levels of service and I am glad that our staff added... More 

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is right on the river, has a pool, small bar, and restaurant. Every amenity from the hotel you would want. The problem was more with the room itself. The room was worn from the furniture to the floor to the ironing board. The bathroom tub was disgusting, i had to throw a towel on top before even taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Gringopr, Thank you for your candid feedback of the Courtyard Charleston. Although you liked our property as a whole, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for our hotel not living up to your expectations. I am sorry that you were not happy with the condition of your in room amenities and cleanliness. What you experienced is not... More 

Hickory, NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, really liked pool and deck. The staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. Negatives- noisy room, way too overpriced for old worn facility. Amenities in room- shampoos etc- tiny and poor quality for $280/night room. A lot of positives but overall for the price, overvalued . It this were $150/night room, would be just fine. New York City prices/... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear skinisin, thank you for your productive feedback. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Courtyard Charleston. We appreciate your kind comments about our associates and the high level of service they provided. I will share your compliments with my team to let them know their efforts are appreciated and noticed. However, I am... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this for Spoleto only a month ahead. We didn't want to pay the high downtown prices. I expected a mediocre chain experience and was pleasantly surprised. The pool/ terrace area is great with a lovely view of the boats in the marina. Our room was clean and decorated in a modern style. It's a convenient location. You can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston and for the five star rating! Your comments about our location absolutely confirm what we believe to be one of our most valuable assets. It is great to hear you loved your clean accommodation and the beautiful view of the Marina, and were satisfied with our facilities.... More 

Nuangola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went ther for a wedding and got a special rate. $269 per night . Breakfast was $12 , the shuttle was expensive so we had to rent a car. The hotel was sparse at best. Very over priced. The pool was very small so don't expect to swim. If money is no object then ok to stay here

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for you and your family’s accommodation needs while attending a wedding. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your recent stay did not meet the expectations you have come to know at Courtyard. I was sorry to hear that you were not happy with our pricing. We try to stay competitive with the area hotels... More 

Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel choice on the waterfront in Charleston, South Carolina. Had a great room overlooking the marina. Very friendly staff. Clean, fresh rooms. Beds are very comfortable. Rooms are quiet. Free parking. Nice breakfast room and great outdoor lounge area also overlooking the Marina. Historic downtown is about an 8 minute drive. Not much within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Ge0rgetravels, Thank you for the wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston while on your business trip. It is great to hear you loved your quiet room with the beautiful river view and was satisfied with our comfortable beds. We are delighted that you enjoyed our courteous associates and all the complimentary features we had to... More 

asheville north carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We were so happy with our stay here. The building is very nice and the patio and breakfast room over looking the water is so special...we really felt like we were on vacation! (We weren't, we were visiting a friend in the hospital in Charleston). The bed was remarkably comfortable. For tourists a car is a must as the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Jeankaurine, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard Charleston while visiting your friend at a hospital. We are so glad that you had an outstanding time with us and we could make your medical visit turn into a vacation for you. Your comments regarding your comfortable bed and the river views were a pleasure to read. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

335 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Other (17)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay