We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    200
    87
    47
    28
See reviews for
126
202
25
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (535)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (126)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Winter Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

As my sister and I finished loading our luggage cart (we're traveling for three weeks, so we have everything but the kitchen sink), a young man came up to us and asked if we needed help. He had on a volunteer t-shirt, but he assured us that he worked for the hotel, but was doing a community volunteer project on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warminster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although it is technically in what is known as historical downtown area, it really wasn't. You cant walk to the heart of the historic area, you either have to drive or take the hotel shuttle. You would think due to its location the hotel would offer a free shuttle. However, they do not, its $6.00/person round trip, so if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Dan068 Thank you for being a guest at the Courtyard Charleston and for sharing your comments. Although I am happy to hear that you liked our hotel and our staff’s hospitality, I was disappointed to read that you were not very happy with our location. We normally hear great reviews about our location being right next to the river... More 

Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Average hotel and clean rooms. I am a Marriott rewards member and was told our room overlooked the water. It did not. It overlooked the air-conditioning units for the entire hotel. When I went to the front desk, they told me I had booked a special rate and this is what I got. Since it was only one night, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Goldie246 Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Charleston and posting your review. I appreciate your positive comments about our clean rooms and hope your overall stay with us was satisfactory. I am sorry that you were not given a room of your choice and that you had trouble with parking. Regarding the shuttle service, I would like to... More 

Hartsville, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Courtyard Waterfront in Charleston while on a business trip. The hotel was nice enough. Staff was friendly and helpful. My room was clean and the king size bed was comfortable.The lighting, in the room, seemed a little dim. Also, it took some time for my room to cool down after I turned the AC on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. It is great to hear you loved your room, and like so many others, were satisfied with our facilities. I was pleased to read that our staff did a great job in meeting your expectations, I will definitely share your compliments with them. It is nice to know you enjoyed... More 

Branson, MO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there for 2 nights. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. They had a shuttle service you could get for the day since it is quite a ways away from downtown. Very pleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear KGeorgianna Thank you for your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston and your feedback for fellow online reviewers. I am so pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that you loved your room with the beautiful river views and like so many others, were satisfied with our facilities. I will share your... More 

Lakewood, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent one night at this hotel, it was nicely refurbished. The location was a bit off the beaten path and situated where many highways connect so if are looking to go for a run or walk outside, your route is somewhat limited. The beds were extremely comfortable. I also thought it was a very sweet touch that my balcony... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Heather L, Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your overnight stay. I am glad to hear that your business trip to Charleston was enjoyable. Your compliments regarding our decor, personalized customer service and special touches in your room was a pleasure to read. It is our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights here while attending a wedding. Our room was comfortable and had a great harbor view. There is a lovely breakfast/cafe area overlooking harbor and pool, and coffee is available outside the cafe free of charge. This hotel has everything you need in a relaxed setting. It's a bit of a walk into the center of town,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Chinana Thank you for sharing your feedback with fellow online reviewers. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Charleston while attending a wedding. We host many wedding groups throughout the year and we provide a newer, mid priced hotel with a beautiful view of the marina. Also thank you for your suggestion on a 'quiet... More 

Chico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked this hotel four months in advance as the wedding party had selected this as ground zero. I had paid what I thought was too much and requested water view. I arrived two hour early for the 4 pm checking and was told my room was not available. I choose to give the front desk my cell phone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Charles M, Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott as hotel of your choice during your visit to Charleston while attending a wedding. Please accept my sincere apologizes for the inconvenience you have undoubtedly been caused due to the poor service from our front desk associates, as this is unacceptable, as we truly take pride in our guest service.... More 

Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is good and has a great row of white rocking chairs looking out toward the boats and ocean. The deck, pool area and fire pit are nice but the room was another story. The ceiling had water stains on it, obvious leaks and water damage had occurred. Bathroom and shower was small and narrow, just overall old. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Greetings from the Waterfront Swimdiva, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologizes that your recent stay did not meet the expectations you have come to know at Courtyard. We work tirelessly to ensure a clean and well maintained property, with everything in good working order and you have aided in our efforts. Thank you... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here one night while working in the area, could not stay the entire trip due to the desk not willing to work with a MR member. Fine, no big deal, the stay itself was nice, the property is right on the water, maybe your lucky to get a view of it, my room 241 overlooked the VA right across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Chris_Hutch98, First and foremost, thank you for your loyalty towards our brand. While I’m glad you experienced a good stay, it was disappointing to hear that our Front Desk staff did not acknowledge your Rewards Membership. I am also sorry to note that you were not happy with the view from your room and you found our bathrooms to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

301 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Other (17)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities