We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Loft Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
301 Carteret Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
City Loft Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011
Travel_And_Tell Charleston, South Carolina
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    66
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
393
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (663)
  • Mar-May only
    (193)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
There are newer reviews for City Loft Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed here for an anniversary weekend away in December 2011. This property could not have been in a better location! We could walk to all the shops on Bay Street, the waterfront, and the fabulous Breakwater restaurant was literally next door! The staff were wonderful, the room comfortable, and the nightly cookies were a great treat. Another great treat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We were very excited to stay at the City Loft Hotel after reading so many great reviews about the facility, the staff, etc. We were instantly in love with our hotel room, especially the large bathroom, comfy bed, and extremely convenient location. Unfortunately, my husband was almost electrocuted when he attempted to take a shower on our first day there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of City Loft Hotel. I sincerely apologize for the lack of communication and your review is accepted graciously and respectfully. I am the person who looked at the shower and spoke to your husband. I did tell him that I would be very happy to offer your next stay complimentary as we were booked and... More 

Okatie, SC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This place is great! The rooms are very modern and nicely furnished. The bathroom is to die for with it's soaking tub, rain shower and tv. Everything was very clean, comfortable, and the staff is very helpful. A wonderful renovation of what was once a motel. The best part of staying here is that you are within walking distance of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jekyll Island, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I've just returned from my awesome stay at City Loft Hotel. It was a business trip for me, yet I felt the staff treated me as a friend. Stephanie made sure I had everything I needed, from the comforts of the room to the beautiful carriage tour and nightly cookies! Beyond comfortable, inviting and gracious. The best! Pamela Bauer Mueller,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We really want our corporate customers to feel as if they are on a mini vacation and I'm glad you did. Come back and see us when you can! More 

Rock Hill, Sc, Usa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The rooms are top notch! Yes, it was once a motel but the rooms have been marvelously redone and its right in the middle of things in Beaufort. I was apprehensive about the "motel" but this is very nice. We are walking to the Christmas events downtown and that is great! You wil enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of City Loft Hotel. We are proud that we took an old building and were able to renovate it into such a beautiful property. I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and the location is indeed great for walking to everything in the Historic District of Beaufort. Come back soon and don't forget to... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

My husband's and my stay at the City Loft Hotel was just right. When we arrived Patrick and Charlotte greeted us and were extremely helpful providing excellent customer service. We then went to the Waterfront to enjoy a lovely time. The hotel is in the perfect location allowing us to walk to many shops and restaurants. The room was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of City Loft Hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am really proud of our staff and appreciate the mention of Charlotte and Patrick. Everyone really enjoys what they do and I am so glad it shows. A great nights sleep is so important and I... More 

Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We booked this room through a Living Social deal. The room was really nicely decorated, very modern. The bathroom was pretty sweet; big shower, deep tub and a flat screen tv! Everything was in walking distance so that was good too. Only negatives were: pillows were terrible and our room was on the end so we couldn't get the wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of City Loft Hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The soaking tub, showers and flat screen TV's are definitely a favorite amenity of our guests. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with the wifi. We have checked the signal and could not find any trouble with it. We... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I considered staying somewhere else to save a couple of bucks and boy am I glad I didn't. We had a blowout on the highway on the way down to Beaufort. My husband got the spare tire on and we continued on our way, but didn't know where the heck to take the car to get it fixed. I called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of City Loft Hotel. Customer service is a top priority for us and I am glad that we could help you get your tire fixed up. It can be disconcerting when you don't know who to go to. It's great to hear that you had a such a good experience and hope that... More 

Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I never write reviews, but felt compelled to share the wonderful experience I had at the City Loft Hotel. The staff, Manny, Patrick, and Jason were friendly, helpful and tripping over themselves to carry our luggage, or take care of any need we happened to have. They even brought us cookies as a nighttime snack. Very personable! We felt special.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review of City Loft Hotel. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and our staff loves hearing that they have been helpful and accommodating. Our boutique hotel is like nothing else in Beaufort and I am so glad you found us. Come back and see us again soon. More 

Goldsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The first time I stayed here, we loved it. THe cozy rooms, the exercise room, the amazing coffee, fresh baked cookies when they turn your bed down, the great location to Beaufort water front, the several great restaurants within three blocks, I could go on forever. We have stayed there 5 times now, and can't wait to go again. Did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CLHGM, General Manager at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of City Loft Hotel. I am so happy that you love our hotel and continue to come back again and again. We love having furry friends with us and have designated pet friendly rooms with us so please bring yours when you come back. Keep in mind too that we offer complimentary... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

405 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
1:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (25)
Viewed
Standard King Room (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question