We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beaulieu House at Cat Island

Hotel website
3 Sheffield Ct Cat Island, Beaufort, SC 29907
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Beaulieu House at Cat Island
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    10
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
34
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My elderly Parents, a brother with his 9, 16 and 20 year old children and I visited the Beaulieu House this past weekend and occupied 3 of the guest rooms. This was my 3rd visit over the past few years. Seeing the wildlife Deer enroute to Cat Island is always a highlight for me. This was my first time meeting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I had an amazing time in Beaufort, SC, mostly due to our visit at this lovely B&B! I had always dreamt of staying at a bed and breakfast and I'm glad that this was my first experience! The hostess was super accommodating and communicative. Although we arrived at night, Diann was helpful in guiding us to her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a wonderful experience staying with Diann. Beautiful view from my room. Delicious eggs benedict breakfast accompanied by great conversation and wonderful recommendations for what to do in Beaufort. The Beaulieu House is a serene , peaceful and relaxing oasis at the end of Cat Island. My wife and I have been on a cross country road trip and this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As soon as I entered, I smelled the mildew. The area around the registers in the ceiling were black with mold. The towels appeared clean until they got even the least bit damp then the mildew smell became unbearable. The first night I slept with the sheet pulled up over my face to stop the smell. Breakfast the next morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
beaulieuhouse, Owner at Beaulieu House at Cat Island, responded to this review

Dear Beth Lynn, I don't consider this a review as much as a spiteful personal bashing. It is a shame you were incapable of articulating your concerns directly to me. More 

Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Where to begin. Price was $100 higher when we arrived than when we booked. Website stated there would be a confirmation email that you successfully booked your stay.....never received one. When we arrived we discovered our king bed to actually be two twin beds so there was a gap right in the middle. A/C was kept on 78 degrees which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
beaulieuhouse, Owner at Beaulieu House at Cat Island, responded to this review

Sam and Paige, Your accusation that I overcharged $100.00 is TROUBLING and an exaggeration.. Why didn’t you inquire at the time I charged you?? The fact is that you were charged an additional $66.00. This is the reason: You originally booked July 7 and 8 which, were a Tuesday and Wednesday. You later called to say you had booked the... More 

Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed at this beautiful B&B. Our room was very clean with a spectacular view overlooking the river. My husband, a commercial airline pilot, is an avid bird watcher and was delighted at the amazing variety of birds in the backyard. He said it was the highlight of our 10 day trip in the Carolinas. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This was our second visit to Beaufort so we decided to book a different B&B. It's a bit off the beaten path, but what a beautiful location. Diann provided excellent directions as well as dinner recommendations. We enjoyed the river view while chatting with her over a glass of wine. It's eclectic and cozy. If you like collectibles, you'll love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lebanon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Just outta town & on the water! Loved the great coffee, Belgium waffles & fruit plate for breakfast. Coffee out by the water with the sun shining on ya, can't beat that this time of year. The bed was comfy, with, I think, a down comforter & pillows, very nice! The innkeeper Diane was great to deal with! I'll be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

When I think of a bed and breakfast hotel, Beaulieu House is it!! The lovely furnishings, the delightful hosts and amazing breakfast. It is located within distance to the old downtown Beaufort. It has wonderful porch swings that over looks the Beaufort River and if you are lucky enough you can also spot some dolphins in the water. My only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Should not be a bed and breakfast. Owners dog/ had pooped and vomited in our room, room smelled like a litter box. Owner was rude, refused refund our money. After hour long argument we got refund and left..

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
beaulieuhouse, Owner at Beaulieu House at Cat Island, responded to this review

My son and best friend were here and insisted that I respond to your recent online review. They thought you were completely out of line for posting visceral comments 4 months after your request for a refund was granted. I refunded your money, but only after I felt vulnerable, threatened, and feared for my personal safety. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
4.7 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
4.7 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#5 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay