We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beaulieu House at Cat Island

3 Sheffield Ct Cat Island, Beaufort, SC 29907
Hotel amenities
Beaulieu House at Cat Island
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Anne A Waukesha, Wisconsin
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
32
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I recently stayed at this beautiful B&B. Our room was very clean with a spectacular view overlooking the river. My husband, a commercial airline pilot, is an avid bird watcher and was delighted at the amazing variety of birds in the backyard. He said it was the highlight of our 10 day trip in the Carolinas. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This was our second visit to Beaufort so we decided to book a different B&B. It's a bit off the beaten path, but what a beautiful location. Diann provided excellent directions as well as dinner recommendations. We enjoyed the river view while chatting with her over a glass of wine. It's eclectic and cozy. If you like collectibles, you'll love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lebanon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Just outta town & on the water! Loved the great coffee, Belgium waffles & fruit plate for breakfast. Coffee out by the water with the sun shining on ya, can't beat that this time of year. The bed was comfy, with, I think, a down comforter & pillows, very nice! The innkeeper Diane was great to deal with! I'll be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

When I think of a bed and breakfast hotel, Beaulieu House is it!! The lovely furnishings, the delightful hosts and amazing breakfast. It is located within distance to the old downtown Beaufort. It has wonderful porch swings that over looks the Beaufort River and if you are lucky enough you can also spot some dolphins in the water. My only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Should not be a bed and breakfast. Owners dog/ had pooped and vomited in our room, room smelled like a litter box. Owner was rude, refused refund our money. After hour long argument we got refund and left..

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
beaulieuhouse, Owner at Beaulieu House at Cat Island, responded to this review

My son and best friend were here and insisted that I respond to your recent online review. They thought you were completely out of line for posting visceral comments 4 months after your request for a refund was granted. I refunded your money, but only after I felt vulnerable, threatened, and feared for my personal safety. More 

Mount Dora, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Great hideaway location. Greeted with hospitality from check in to check out. My breakfast was wonderful ,coffee all day . One country block from a really nice golf course , i played 18 holes, walked back to the beaulieu house, for sunset cocktails. Thanks , diane and hostess micki..mlz

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Beaulieu House. Diann was out of town but our hostess Mickey was very welcoming and very accommodating with our early morning schedules. The room was clean, roomy and comfortable. There was a wonderful back porch with absolutely beautiful sun rises. The location was convenient to everything, I would definitely recommend to anyone staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE!! We wanted to love this place. Sadly, it was such a disappointment! We would never stay here again, nor would we recommend it to anyone. The worst part was that they knew it was a very special weekend for us. My Birthday, which also turned out to be the day my now Fiance proposed to me.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
beaulieuhouse, Owner at Beaulieu House at Cat Island, responded to this review

Kathy, I am sorry you had issues during your stay at the Beaulieu House. Had we know the gravity of your feelings, we could possibly have moved you to another room and changed your perception. I always want guests to have good memories of us. My wish would be that your memories be as wonderful as the proposal you received... More 

Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Nice accommodations. Clean and bright. Right on the water. Only drawbacks are that she is a collector so there is stuff everywhere. Also breakfast was way too fancy. We would have been happy with eggs, toast, cereal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Searched the web looking for a B&B. Selected the Beaulieu House and was happy with the results. The owner is a most delightful, intelligent and travelled lady. Her "home" showcases a collection of art and numerous other collectibles. She is more than happy to tell you about whatever interests you the most. We used this charming home on the water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay