We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn South Kingstown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
3009 Tower Hill Road, Route 1 and Route 138, South Kingstown, RI 02874
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    39
    38
    9
    18
See reviews for
37
26
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Nashua
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a nice hotel very close to Newport and the ferry to Block Island. The rooms on the 4th floor were recently updated and very nice. Beds were super comfy!! The only reason I dd not give it a 5 is that the elevator was on the opposite end of the hotel from the check-in desk and with multiple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hi Janet V: Our hotel is certainly located to all the great places of South County and Rhode Island. Newport, Block Island Ferry, the beaches all are just a short drive away. I am glad to you were able to visit beautiful Newport, RI and hopefully had some great seafood. The Red Parrot does a fantastic lobster pizza! I am... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked online, and apparently was given a "non-refundable" room rate. This is not what I had selected, and in fact, reviewed the cancelation policies in advance. Even when you have circumstances outside your own influence affect a trip, they are unwilling to cancel your itinerary. Heartless company, and from the reviews here, probably not missing out on much at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Dear Sucalves200: I’m concerned about your recent issues with your reservation and the impression you have of our hotel. I’m writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention. I do not know if you booked your reservation with us directly or through another 3rd party websites which might be a cause for the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After major issues at another hotel we were sent here. Hotel is newly renovated. The woman working the front desk was very sweet and super helpful. Food at the onsite resturaunt was great. Thanks for saving our weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hi jen413H: The staff and I are always glad to hear that we met and surpassed your expectations. I will make sure that Susan hears of your nice comments. We try very hard to make our guests feel welcomed and are glad that we have succeeded. Our hotel was just recently renovated in all the guestrooms and you are among... More 

New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

I paid $315.27 for a night at this hotel but the advertised free internet was not working. The staff repeated that they were having trouble with the WiFi during our stay although it seemed to work fine in the hallway but got no reception in the room. The elevator was not easily accessible by the lobby but you had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Dear Diane S. I’m concerned about your recent visit at our facility and the impression you have of our hotel. I’m writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention. We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each at a reasonable price... More 

Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is under major construction!!! Sheetrock dust everywhere. Must walk through workers and debris on floor to get to elevator. To get to ice on 3rd floor no rug in hall!!!! Glue and debris on floor. Trying to leave this morning could not open door in stairwell due to workers drop cloth on floor jamming doir!!!! Our room on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hello srfrgrl97 We certainly do apologize for any inconvenience and noise the renovations have caused. The hotel is in the final stages of completing renovations to our guestrooms and a complete new look. It certainly has been a challenge to the staff and hotel to try to minimize as much of the aspects of renovations as possible. Within the next... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stayed one night in a King 1 bedroom in March on the first floor next to the pool which was fine in cold weather but I suspect the pool noise would be problematic in the summer. The room was adequate with free WiFi and the bed comfortable but there was no refrigerator or coffee maker in the room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hello DCCool: Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. In a few short months, the hotel will have completed an extensive renovation of all the guestrooms, corridors, lobby, restaurant, and banquet facility as well as the exercise room. I am sure you will be happy with the outcome. Hopefully you can visit the South... More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Adequate room. A little noisy. Old and outdated. I was here for 2 nights. I only needed the basics for this trip. Easy to get to a basketball game at the U of RI. Front desk folks were hit or miss.. either really nice or really rude. The restaurant/bar was very convenient- just off the lobby with Very good service.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hi CCNorthCarolina: Our guests have been speaking and we have been listening! The hotel has just begun a complete renovation to all guestrooms, lobby, and corridors. We are going from top to bottom to update the hotel. Our WIFI is also in the progress of being upgraded to the fasted and most reliable network. You will also be glad to... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We booked one night at the Holiday Inn as we were in the region. The place was teaming with busloads of students from some athletic teams. The front desk assigned us a room that appeareold and outdated. The rug was stained and the paint job looked shabby. Worse than any of these cosmetic issues, however, was the unbelievable noise all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hello doc_rck: We are saddened to hear that your stay with us was less than expected. Please accept my sincere apology for the issues you encountered, and I certainly agree unacceptable. We strive to accommodate many guests each evening and it is truly disappointing to learn that we failed in this instance. The management staff and I have gone over... More 

Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

Stayed in this location for a trip to Kingston. The hotel is fine, as is the restaurant. Good bartender. You have amenities around you, including a Dunkin Donuts, but not much else in terms of things to do. Workout room is small. Plenty of places to run around the hotel. Really good service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hello Ed M. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel, staff and service were fine and up to your standards. With our renovations happening, as part of the renovations we will also be getting a new location and size for the fitness room at the hotel. We will be able to incorporate many new items for our... More 

Manning, SC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Stayed here for a conference at University of Rhode Island. It was pretty close to the school and everything was fine. There was nothing outstanding but there was no need for outstanding. The room could have used more outlets (no free outlet near the bed for phone chargers, CPAP machine, etc) but that is not unusual. Nothing great but nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hi PaxvilleBoy: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and ranking us with 4 stars. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations in all the guestrooms, corridors, lobby, and restaurant. I am sure you will like the results. The guestrooms will have new lighting lamps which will have power outlets built in to them, so... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

365 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #214 (55)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #310 (52)
Viewed
Standard King Handicapped Room #230 (57)
Viewed
Standard King Room #309 (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay