We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn & Suites

Hotel website
Hotel deals
936 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842 (Formerly Newport Inn)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Inn & Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked a suite with a notation 2 adults 1 pet a 3 weeks in advance in my confirmation. Behold, 1 hour before check in a phone call from the hotel stating the room that was booked and confirmed is not pet friendly and upon check in I would have to into another room or cancel. Now coming from out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

We took our 3 young kids to go on the Polar Express. This hotel seemed great as it was close to the train station and reasonably priced. I just wanted a relaxing weekend hanging out with the family, swimming in the pool and taking it easy. The first room we were given was dirty and smelled awful (someone had definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simone-and-Steve
Qualityinn S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Simone-and-Steve, I would like to thank you for the time taken out of your busy schedule to give us some feedback regarding your most recent stay. Please allow me to apologize on behalf of our Hotel for not being able to meet your expectations during your visit. The Pool being closed due to the Chlorination being elevated was something... More 

Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Had use or lose points with Choice Privileges and hadn't been to this area for awhile so we booked a comp night at this hotel. While I agree with other writers that this property is old, I found my King bed whirlpool suite to be clean, well appointed and comfortable. A clean new looking microwave and a fridge that kept... More 

Helpful?
Thank g-man41559
Qualityinn S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear G-man41559, Thank you for your time and input regarding your recent stay here with us. I would like to personally apologize for not being able to meet your expectations while on property. Unfortunately, the pool being closed is something we did not see happening, but something that we had to make sure was under control before reopening for our... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

We had arrived late in Warwick Ri at TFGreen the we need a place to stay I choose this place because it was only 2 miles to downtown Newport RI . We had booked for 2 knights because I had my pet witch was a pet fee of $25 per knight and the room rate was reasonably $69 per knight... More 

Helpful?
Thank jrego
Qualityinn S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Jrego, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time while staying here on property. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

This hotel was clean and well-kept-up when I stayed in July, but nothing special. We were excited to use the pool but chose not to, as it appeared to have seen better days. Neither great nor bad, it's a perfectly average hotel. We were staying for a wedding in a nearby town, and the location was convenient. The price was... More 

Helpful?
Thank americanadventurer
Qualityinn S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear AmericanAdventurer, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

The entry is impressive, staff was nice and knowledgeable, but the facility has seen its best days with hollow core doors, chopped up spaces, narrow hallways with worn carpet. My room had a dryer outlet and different flooring surfaces, as if it had been converted from a utility room. The toilet was jammed into a tiny space. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erik D
Qualityinn S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Erik, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional... More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

This hotel is a very well managed and well maintained. You will received a warm welcome from the front desk person. There are multiple wings which has a very good lay out. Your rooms are very clean , beds are comfortable, sheets are white and soft. Cleaning staffs are also very polite. Breakfast( hot) are buffet style with egg, bacon,... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnT641
Qualityinn S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear JohnT641, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay here with us. We are so happy to know you were able to enjoy your time and would like to ask that if you're ever in the Newport Area again- that you may think of us for your Hotel needs. Thank you... More 

Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Having 2 Boston Terriers, we find it difficult to get away for a few days without begging family to help us out. It's also difficult to find a clean, pet friendly hotel. We gave the Quality Inn's and Suites a try in Middletown, RI. The hotels is older, but has been somewhat renovated. Our room had a king size bed,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lazier
Qualityinn S, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Lazier, Thank you so much for taking the time from your busy schedule to give us some feedback regarding your recent stay. Our Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we enjoy hearing you enjoyed your stay. We welcome you back to the hotel whenever you come back to the Newport/Middletown area. May you and yours enjoy this... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

This is a terrible hotel, don't let the outside fool you. We went there on 11-7 and our room smelled overwhelmingly of mildew. The walls were paper thin and our loud neighbors kept us awake. The carpets and walls were old and dirty. The pool looked nice but the heater was broke and temperature was freezing. It's a depressing atmosphere.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LiLab2011
Qualityinn S, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Lilab, Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to give us feedback regarding your stay with us. I apologize that you had issues with a loud neighbor during your stay, i would have liked to have an opportunity to have taken care of that while on property, since we value you as a guest. We were... More 

nytravelers6
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

This hotel is terrible. The hotel was pleasant enough looking on the outside. It's when entering the doors where it all goes down hill fast. The front desk, which looked like a DIY project gone bad, was unmanned when we arrived for 10 mins. The person on duty was out microwaving his dinner. The carpets in the hallways looked fairly... More 

Helpful?
Thank nytravelers6
Qualityinn S, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were dissatisfied with our housekeeping efforts in your sleeping room. I appreciate your feedback and have discussed every issue in your letter with our Housekeeping and Maintenance staff. We will be addressing these matters with Our staff and are committed to ensuring that these problems will not occur again. We sincerely appreciate your feedback.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#7 of 17 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay