We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Cranston B&Bs / inns

Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   232 Norwood Ave., Cranston, RI 02905
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
78%
Ranked #1 of 3 Cranston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Daniel A Paxton, Massachusetts
  • Overview
  • Reviews (142)
  • Photos (67)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    23
    7
    8
    16
See reviews for
22
69
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have been too upset to even submit a review. This place is awful. We were not greeted after driving 8 hours. Poor plumbing, poor electric, dirty, outdated and no security. Hostile owner and son. RUN

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paxton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed two nights at the Edgewood (in the Victorian room) the weekend of July 27th for a friend's wedding in Cranston. I recently graduated from college in Providence so I was already familiar with the area and had friends living in the city but opted to purchase a weekend's stay at either a hotel or b&b. I had never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A surprise get away weekend, perfect place for couples. The room was romantic with the jacuzzi tub, fireplace and extra large bed. We were so pleased the place was completely booked but it was quite and relaxing. A few other couples were enjoying themselves in the common room before dinner a nice and cozy room. The B&B is close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a nice stay here after a day in Newport. It was a nice combo - from historical mansions to an historical mansion. The breakfast was lovely, and when I lost my favorite pearl earring, the maid searched diligently and found it!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are well traveled B&B folks so this place was a bit out of the ordinary. By the tone of the previous reviews, we were definitely expecting a mixed bag stay. The good: rooms in the main house are large (didn't see what the rooms at Newhall were like), clean, beds comfortable, outdoor patio and grounds are nice for sitting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

To go into details of our visit would be too long for Trip Advisor, but please feel free to go review Complaint #10114049 with the Boston Better Business Bureau. This may have been a nice establishment at one time, but the hostile and irrational owner and staff made it a nightmare. The owner got verbally abusive with my father and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this b&b we completely loved it! It was everything we expected and more. The staff and service was awesome and the morning breakfast was nice and fresh. Overall everything was great and we will be coming back very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The pictures do not show the auxiliary building nor its bedrooms. Unfortunately, they were sub-par, poorly maintained and well below expectation. The AC was missing control buttons, which means that you had to put your fingers inside the control board to get it going. The shower was terrible and the cleanliness random. At breakfast the cook was unpleasant and inflexible.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Edgewood Manor I, Manager at Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Yes this guest actually stayed in the Charles Newhall House nest door to the Edgewood Manor INN . The rooms their on not as spectacular as the Edgewood Manor Yet they are priced accordingly. I understand that they were upset that their friend had made a booking with expedia and was unable to cancel it. We are sorry they did... More

Spring Valley, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family and I stayed here overnight and rented the venue for a small wedding. The first thing I thought upon entering was that it was a little broken down, but still very beautiful. The issues with amenities are mostly things that can't be helped when you're dealing with an old historic place like this. The rooms are nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Edgewood Manor I, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for writing the review and Im glad you thought our venue was great we seemed to think so too as well as thousands of other guests who have stayed in the last 17 years. WE understand there was some miscommunication between you and Ken our innkeeper . We understand you were the DJ for the wedding at the inn... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were very disappointed. The pictures of the main house are similar to reality - a grand entrance hall with heavy furniture. But it is not the place where you are going to sleep. Our rooms were located in the building next to Edgewood Manor. Furniture is outdated. The bathroom was in a questionable condition with rusty heaters, defect shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Edgewood Manor I, Owner at Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

This guest booked his reservation through expedia and stayed in the Newhall House the Edgewood Manor's sister property. After reading the guest comment book at the inn im quite shocked and surprised by the review left by this guest especially since he left glowing comments in the inns guest book.... but after the guest called to cancel a future reservation... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 232 Norwood Ave., Cranston, RI 02905
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Cranston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewood Manor Hotel Cranston
Edgewood Manor b&b

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Greek Revival Mansion c1905. Edgewood Manor bed and breakfast is located three miles from Brown University,RISD,and walking distance to Johnson and Wales University and Roger Williams Park. All rooms with private bathrooms,fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Complimentary full breakfast, wireless internet,and parking included in rate. Beautifully appointed, incredible architecture, and lovely grounds all await you. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Edgewood Manor Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer