We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Charlestown hotels

The Surfside Motel

Save Saved
You added The Surfside Motel to your Saves list
334 Narrow Lane, Charlestown, RI 02813
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (131)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
The Surfside Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlestown
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    34
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
50
48
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose Surfside because of great reviews on this site. So disappointed! Here are the issues we had during our 2 night stay: 1. Couldn't access Wi-Fi unless we walked around outside and could not maintain a good signal. Finally gave up. 2. Our room was never cleaned 3. After the manager/housekeeper knew we needed our room cleaned (we went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted to spend a weekend with the kids before school goes back and I also wanted to stay within a few hour drive from where I live since it was only for a few nights. I found The Surfside on Tripadvisor like I do with all the places we stay at. It seemed like they had a lot of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vineland, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We found SurfSide on the internet for a one night stay last week (July 8th) and booked mainly b/c of reviews that the SurfSide is clean and well maintained. We found all of this to be true. VERY clean, well maintained and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would stay there again in a heartbeat when in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newtown, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My reservation started as a girls-only trip with college friends from the midwest. When one was suddenly hospitalized, the trip was canceled and my plans turned into a family getaway instead with my husband and daughters. Debbie, the manager, was very accommodating from the get-go, as was her staff upon our arrival. When we arrived, we found that the reviews... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased that you were able to come dispite your change in plans. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope to see you again in the near future. Debbie More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I’m a single mom of 3 who decided to take a last minute, much needed, getaway. I work as a travel agent and was just given an unexpected paid day off from work. My kids were with their dad and I knew that I wouldn’t have this opportunity again for a while, so I wanted to do something nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased that you found our Motel " a Diamond in the Rough". I know as a travel agent you travel alot and stay at alot of hotels. The fact that you chose us over other properties means alot to us. As a travel agent your insite is very important to future... More

Rehoboth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were attending a wedding at Matunuck's Theatre by the Sea over the Memorial Day weekend and needed lodging for Saturday evening only. The Surfside was the only place that had availability for just one night. Every other place had a two or three night minimum reservation requirement because it was a holiday weekend. The Surfside was kind enough to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate the 5 stars and so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comfort and assisting you in whatever way possible is of the most concern to us. We do hope to see you again in the future. Debbie More

Emmaus
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
161 hotel reviews
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a charming motel of the non-chain variety. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was that the shower was extremely small. Everything else was very nice, and the owner was quite helpful. And they are dog-friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate all your comments. We do strive to make our guests as well as their 4 legged family menbers as comfortable as possible. We do hope to see you again soon. Debbie More

Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We (2 couples) originally booked for Valentine's day wkend but the weather forced us to cancel and we rescheduled for this past wkend. Our rooms were quaint & clean with small little efficiency kitchens that came in handy. Everyone seemed very friendly and we totally enjoyed our stay..the only drawback was that we would have liked to have checked out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was great you were able to reschedule your visit with us due to bad weather. We enjoyed having you stay with us and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that I was able to accomodate you with a later check out. We do look forward to your return in the future.... More

Dracut, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I booked a reservation on line on a Sunday night 4 weeks out. Plans changed overnight and I called the next morning to cancel. They had just sent the confirmation via e-mail but told me there would be "no problem". I knew there was a $50 cancelation fee but didn't think they would charge it since I canceled it within... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry for the misunderstanding with our policy. When you booked your reservation thru our website it clearly states our cancellation policy. We also include it in our confirmation email that is sent when a reservation is made. If a reservation is cancelled it is included in the cancellation email. We do not want anyone to be misinformed regarding... More

bethlehem, ct
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed one night at the Surfside. We were going to the Nordic Lodge and it was very convenient. Very clean and friendly. The room is a little on the small side but it worked great for us. We would recommend this motel and we will be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed the Nordic Lodge, also that you found the room very clean and a friendly host. I would also like to thank you for saying that you would recommend us to others. We certainly look forward to your return. Debbie More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Surfside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Surfside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surfside Motel

Address: 334 Narrow Lane, Charlestown, RI 02813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Surfside Hotel Charlestown
Surfside Hotel Charlestown

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Conklin Family welcomes you to the Surfside Motel. A cozy 15 room motel located near beautiful Charlestown Beach. We have efficiency units for extended stays, or standard rooms with small fridges and microwaves, A/C, cable, wireless internet, flat screen tv's with built-in DVD players, gas grills, and picnic tables outside. Clean, quiet, and comfy. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Surfside Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer