We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woodlands Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Woodlands Inn
The Woodlands Inn
The Woodlands Inn
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    158
    60
    34
    38
See reviews for
101
254
28
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (605)
  • Mar-May only
    (167)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (169)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When you come off the highway, you are expecting a dramatic hotel resort, but this does not have that dramatic entrance, in fact its right off the road. The aesthetics of the resort are not pleasing to the eye, except for some of the venues and facilities inside. The hotel staff was nice but nothing to rave about. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Ross Kornfeld Owner... More 

Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for The Dirty Girl Mud Run in Scranton. I am a Zumba Instructor and 25 of my students and myself traveled from the Bronx for this Mud Run. I am beyond pleased about our experience. All you need is at this hotel. Restaurants, Nightclub, Spa. It was Awesome. We will be back next year!!! Only suggestion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review

Dear Zumbamel: Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay. So glad to hear how wonderful a time you all had with us. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you, Ross Kornfeld More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to go to the Scranton-Wilkes Barre region on business recently. So, my employer made arrangements for me to stay at the Woodlands Inn. I had never heard of this place before. When I got there, I saw that Choice Hotels owns this property, as part of their Ascend Collection. This is great because I can get Southwest Airlines... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review

Dear elcentro1: Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad that you were pleasantly surprised. Please think of us again next time your travel plans bring you to the Wilkes-Barre area. Thank you, Ross Kornfeld More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found this place when trying to find a place to escape the city. The photos made the hotel seem as though it was located in a rural setting. Not the case. We should have done more research. The place was right off the highway. The rooms facing the creek were secluded and inviting; however, we were stuck in the smallest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review

Dear lmoats: Thank you for sharing your experience. We very much appreciate your honest feedback. Streamside accommodations do offer more room with a great view of our Laurel Run Stream. We hope you will think of us again next time your travel plans bring you to the Wilkes-Barre area. Thank you, Ross Kornfeld More 

Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Retuned to room around dinner time to find that there was no maid service. Stopped by front desk where I was told "that a maid was still on duty and that the room would be cleaned". Retuned later that night after dinner to find that the room was not yet cleaned. I returned to the from desk and was handed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joseph T: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced when housekeeping did not refresh your room or provide clean towels or new amenities. I will address your concerns with the Director of Housekeeping to ensure this situation is... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was disappointed to see this hotel was on a busy main thoroughfare. However, I needn't have worried. Once inside, the hotel rooms overlooked the private garden and/or creek and it was very quiet and peaceful. Rooms were good with balconies. Large facility with lots of rooms, meeting rooms, ballrooms, a nightclub as well as restaurant and deck with bar.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marylyn, Thank you for the kind words. It is a bit deceiving when you first pull in. Once inside you find yourself surrounded by nature with great views from many rooms as well as our restaurants and bars. Don't let the outside fool you. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to your next visit. Thank you,... More 

Manville, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel staff were nice here. The hot buffet breakfast was good; loved making our own Belgian waffles with extra trimmings. Room service pizza was terrible. Carpets felt kind of ... moist or dirty. The hotel was built around 1970 before handicap accessibility laws ..so there are NO ramps or elevators in the original area. This is where the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. Feedback from our guests is very important and helps us to either improve or maintain the level of service that keeps guests coming back year after year. Thank you, Ross Kornfeld More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

My friends and I went back to the woodlands for a long week-end in November 2014. As usual we had an amazing time!!! Two of my friends had not been there for years and needless to say they had a great time !!! It was like a reunion for us for our lives got busy and we had not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossKornfeld, General Manager at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review

Dear Diane: Thank you for the great review, ill share it with all the staff members. Looking forward to your next stay. Thank you, Ross Kornfeld More 

New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

This is a BEAUTIFUL Property and the staff does everything in their power to ensure you have an AMAZING stay... I stayed for business and was there for 5 days... The food was great, the entertainment was great and again, GREAT STAFF... My favorites were Jody, Dennis, Kelly, Lorraine and Rick... Each one of the staff members I mentioned went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tara: Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We will be using your comments as motivation in our continuing efforts to provide a great stay. The staff and I thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Ross Kornfeld More 

Mahopac, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! Everyone provided excellent service! Hotel had 2 night clubs, One with cover band and one with a country band. Both were great! We do not normally go to clubs but we did and had so much fun! Shorty Long and the Jersey Horns were awesome! Hotel a nice indoor pool and a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities