We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Strasburg hotels

Amish Lanterns Motel

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route 896 South, (Off Route 30), Strasburg, PA 17579
Hotel amenities
Amish Lanterns Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amish Lanterns Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Strasburg
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    8
    10
    41
See reviews for
24
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Eastampton NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015 via mobile

due to a tournament in the area most hotels were sold out. We decided to stay here having no other option. And the above pictures show what we walked into and were expected to stay in. I have never in my life seen such a filthy Motel. Do not ever stay at this motel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
8 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The motel is cheap in price and clean. There is a free breakfast each morning. Only one motel is closer to the Sight & Sound theater in Strasburg, PA. I have stayed several times and I was always satisfied. Staying overnight in Strasburg puts you much closer to most attractions. You will only be a few miles from the towns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Red Hook, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

This place was disgusting. Holes in the walls, holes in the bedspreads, carpeting was filthy, wallpaper peeling off the walls, shower was full of mold, blankets were crusty. We did not even stay. Booked through travelocity, they gave us a full refund.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

At first glance, this motel appears nice. Pros - it is is in a lovely country setting where you can see a lot of Amish buggies driving by - it is central to a lot of Lancaster, PA attractions - it is close to 2 outlet malls for shopping Cons - no chairs on the porch for sitting - very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
8 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Do you like to watch religious musicals in Strassburg, PA? There are lots of expensive hotels and inns nearby. This is a very clean motel located 1-2 blocks from the Millenium Theater. The room rate is not a typo. A suprisingly generous breakfast is included. Don't waste your money on lodging. This motel is on a hill with nice views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Endicott, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We visit Lancaster County at least 8 times a year. We decided to go on a spur of the moment and we had never stayed here so we said it has been there for ever it must be fine. Boy were we wrong what a roach motel. There was garbage under the beds, mold in the shower, the place was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Laurie D, Manager at Amish Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were disappointed in your stay here at Amish Lanterns. Though we are an older motel our rooms are clean and neat, I apologize for issues you may have had but I was never made aware since you never came to the desk and let me know. Even though your comments were negative they will help me in... More 

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This motel should NOT be listed on NO web site. When we arrive true the manger were nice and friendly, But the room we were given, were on the second floor had to walk in this little dark stair way . Two door down from our room someone had sat out 2 empty beer bottles , The room were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laurie D, General Manager at Amish Lanterns Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not have a pleasant stay here at Amish Lanterns. Upon checking in I ask you if there was a problem with having a room on the second floor, your response was NO so I placed you in a room on the 2nd floor. Every room has a porch light at the door and both stairwells... More 

Georgetown, South Carolina
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I checked into the Amish Lanterns along with our little (5lb) dog. We were there for 3 days. The owners were very nice, friendly, and helpful. The motel sits on a green hilltop right in the middle of the beautiful Amish farm country. What an envious treat to hear and see the buggies passing by. We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This the second time we have stayed there.. I would rather spend my money in the outlet malls. It is a very basic hotel.. But it is warm and dry... The lady at the rest was friendly. Don't expect 5 star ... But we slept well and it did the trick. :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Cutler Bay, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Like some others I read the scary reviews about this motel. But the price was right for me , my husband, and 2 small dogs. I agree with some other reviews that the motel was old. The fixtures were probably from circa 1950's. But that didn't bother me a bit. It reminded me of my Mom's house. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Amish Lanterns Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amish Lanterns Motel

Address: Route 896 South, (Off Route 30), Strasburg, PA 17579
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Amish Lanterns Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Amish Lanterns Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amish Lanterns Hotel Strasburg
Amish Lanterns Motel Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay