We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

2.5 of 5 1400 Historic Drive, Strasburg, PA 17579 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    110
    55
    38
    29
See reviews for
138
108
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (360)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (150)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Midland, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Pros: close to Sight & Sound Theater, good free breakfast, large comfortable, clean room, free wi-fi worked well, friendly front desk staff Cons: we were in room 140: could hear people in adjoining and upstairs rooms talking and using the toilet, housekeeping left dirty bed clothes in the hall most of the night, flooring in the ice area was broken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and use it to improve our guest experience. I apologize the room across from you did not request housekeeping services and placed their used towels outside the door after the staff left for the day. We look forward to your next visit. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Biggest dissapointment is the lack of wifi in my room. I had to sit in reception area to use my iPad, not very convenient when you need to send emails, it would have been much nicer to be in my room. This would stop me coming back, especially as I asked at reception and there was no interest at all,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We apologize you did not get the 800 number for our internet support. Some guests have to reboot their devices upon arrival to identify our wifi. We have a great signal and rarely have any reception issues. We hope you will consider staying with us again. More

Paradise, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just want to say this place was one of our favorites The room was clean and had a great view of farmland.The staff was very helpful and friendly, not to mention the breakfast was awesome and stayed fully stocked.We will be back again very soon . Thank You.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are surrounded by amish farmland and offer an awesome view as well as a great getaway from the busy city life. We are a historic hotel with clean comfortable rooms and a great breakfast. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We just got to this hotel and right away we are dissatisfied! Upon entering the room we found a used wad of GUM on our coffee cup, the room was poorly lit, the fixtures were dusty, the floor was dirty, and their was hair in the tub! On top of that, when I called the front desk to ask for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review

Thank you you sharing your experience at our hotel. I am sorry to hear you that your experience was less than perfect. All our rooms are inspected prior to arrival and we ensure that no room is in the condition you described. Without verification of your stay we can not address the concerns you mentioned. We guarantee 100 % guest... More

New Haven, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't let this review of one hotel discourage you from visiting this lovely area. With that being said, I will never stay at this hotel again. Their lack of water pressure both hot and cold made taking a morning shower almost impossible. Cobwebs on the bathroom fixtures, another reason not to return. When I checked out, front desk asked if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. I apologize your visit was less than perfect. We do offer 100% guest satisfaction and strive to meet those goals. We are unaware of any water pressure problems in our hotel. With local construction in the area there may have been a temporary reduction in pressure. We assure that we have... More

Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a chance to stay at this hotel returning on a business trip from western PA having an early call in Downingtown on the way home the next day. Glad I picked this. A little off the track (no pun intended) near the Strasburg RR Museum. Nice clean property with great views in all directions. Could use some painting in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We are just around the corner from the Strasburg Railroad and National Toy Train Museum. Our hotel is surrounded by amish farmland in a quaint countryside setting. Away from all the city life you can enjoy a quiet relaxing setting without all the noise and lights.We look forward to your next... More

Monaca, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights with 2 other adults & 1 child. Hotel is absolutely peaceful & perfect for relaxing. View of the farmland across the road & seeing the horses as they travel carrying the Amish is charming. If you seek noise & the sounds of traffic avoid. This hotel is for pure relaxation. The land surrounding hotel is beautifully landscaped-I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We are centrally located to all the area attractions and offer clean comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. We are pleased you had a great stay and look forward to your next visit. More

Glenside, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was a little concerned after reading the negative reviews but our stay was excellent. King room was spacious and clean. We were in the main building on the second floor. You need to be able to navigate the stairs. We had a balcony with rocking chairs where we sat and enjoyed a view overlooking the surrounding farmland. We walked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and guest suggestions to improve our guest experience. We are pleased you had a great stay and look forward to your next visit. More

Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed Friday-Sunday for our anniversary weekend, we had booked a wine and cheese train ride on the Strasburg railroad and were planning on doing some shopping and we also ate at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Check in was easy, and everyone was nice. I would suggest you get a map of the property at check in because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback so we may improve our guest experience. We look forward to your next visit. More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The complex is quite large. It is located close to the shopping district and theaters. The rooms were nice. The beds are wonderful. Would have liked to have taken the mattress home. The front desk staff was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your room and our bedding. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Address: 1400 Historic Drive, Strasburg, PA 17579 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay