We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 State College hotels

Hilton Garden Inn State College

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save upto 25%
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn State College to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
81%
Ranked #11 of 26 hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
William S Selinsgrove
  • Overview
  • Reviews (164)
  • Photos (56)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
61
23
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only one problem during visit, a noisy A/C Unit. Problem was taken care of as soon as we reported it. Excellent service and hotel experience in every aspect of our stay. Wonderful staff, and hotel. Trip Advisor requires 200 characters for this review; so Happy, Happy, Happy, and everything was just Ducky.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review

We are happy you are happy, happy! Pleased to hear we promptly took care of your air conditioning unit and you enjoyed your stay. On your next visit to State College we will look forward to welcoming you back. More

Dallas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable, clean, spacious rooms with a great restaurant within the hotel. It's the best place to stay in the city. The hotel includes meeting rooms, exercise facilities and a cozy lobby area. Complementary coffee and tea are provided for guests in the lobby. It's my favorite place to stay in State College.

Was this review helpful? Yes
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review

I enjoyed reading your survey that we are your favorite place to stay in State College and you enjoyed all of our facilities. I will be sure to share your positve comments with our restaurant staff at Harrison's. Thank you for staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to serve you soon. More

New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a happy stay at this beautiful hotel. Professional service ,clean and nice room,I loved the swimming pool and the lobby.We wanted to stay here again when come back to visit our son,at PSU,but was always booked.We stayed only once ,in July,for the orientation and loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review

Pleased to learn you were very happy with your stay and appreciate all your nice comments on our facility. On your next visit to your son at Penn State, please feel free to call me personally if you have difficulties making reservations at our hotel as I would be happy to assist you. Thank you for staying with us!! More

Chicago, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is incredibly dumpy. The lobby is very chic but the rest of the building has not been updated since 1972. It is outdated, a long walk to the rooms & elevator, very cruddy design. Stinks. Do not stay here and there are many other hotels in town to choose instead. Breakfast is expensive and not included.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review

This review has many errors and is not reflective of the many positive reviews posted on this site. The most erroneous error is the statement is that we were built in 1972. This hotel opened in 2002! Please note all our previous reviews have no indication of this reviewers statements on the condition of our hotel. I hope all you... More

Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My 2 children and I stayed here and the front desk staff was great. We had a late check in (after midnight) and checking in with two kids under 4 can be difficult even in daytime hours. The gentleman at the front desk made check in fast and easy. I forgot my charger and they returned my call almost immediately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know about your stay. I was pleased to hear our front desk staff was able to accomodate you and your family to an early check-in and provide you with a charger you had left behinda caharger. I will review your comments with our restaurant staff as we... More

Central New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a college visit and were very pleased with our room and the closeness to Penn State. We had a room on the 4th floor that was extremely quiet. The room was very clean with comfortable beds. Our only issue with the room was a sticky bathroom door that needed persuasion to close properly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. We receive many Penn State parents comments stating we a a great place to stay when visiting the University, especially due to our close location. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your future visits. More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After staying here a couple of times, I have an opinion about the rooms. The air conditioners are great at blowing cold air at the bed, but that's not unusual for hotels. Anyway, the rooms are fairly basic, comfortable and clean. But I do have a suggestion about which room to avoid if you stay here. Room 202. I noticed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate you have stayed with us many times. I will review your comments regarding the cooling of your room with our Maintenance staff. Even though your room was above the pool, I am sure the cooling of you room is something we can take corrective action to improve. I hope you will stay... More

Phoenixville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was neat and clean and the staff attentive and couteous. I was in need of the business center well after hours and everything worked well and it was a great relief to have the business center available.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review

I am happy to hear you were "Very Happy" during your recent visit. Like you, when I travel to hotels, I also am happy when the staff is attentive and courteous and my accomodations are neat and clean. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you will visit with us again. More

Syracuse, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good service, friendly staff. Avoid first level rooms. Damp/wet carpeting and main work area for staff. Some very good dinner selections but price seemed high for location. Close to highways and downtown.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us and your positive comments on our staff and the friendly service you received. I apologize for the damp hallway carpet, we had recently shampooed the area and should have waited for the area to dry. We hope you will visit with us on your next visit to State College. More

Huntersville, United States
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The first floor is below the lobby, which is not necessarily bad but your cell phone signal will struggle down there. They did move me to the top floor at my request. I had an issue with cigarette smoke billowing into my room through the air duct. It was not as bad when the air conditioner was running, but as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit with us. I have disccussed your concerns regarding internet access on our first floor with our IT staff and have taken corrective action to boost this service. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to serving you again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn State College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilton Garden Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn State College

Address: 1221 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn State College 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn State College Hotel State College
Hilton State College

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in State College with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#8 Family Hotel in State College #10 Romantic Hotel in State College #11 Business Hotel in State College
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
103

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn State College staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer