We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nittany Budget Motel

2070 Cato Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nittany Budget Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nittany Budget Motel
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
10
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this motel in October and we are coming back this month because we had such a wonderful experience. The room was very clean, the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. This is going to be our place to stay when we visit State College.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and are so honored to be your home away from home! Our housekeepers and front office staff are always glad to hear that we are accomplishing our goals and thank you for letting us know that we are... More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is definitely a no-frills accommodation. On the bright side, the staff was very helpful and accommodating, and a breakfast of a Danish or bagel with coffee, tea or juice was included and delivered to our room at our chosen time in the morning. Be forewarned that the Danish is the pre-packaged, sugary pastry you would get from a vending... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. Our staff does take pride when we satisfy the needs of our customers and thank you for our kind review of them. However, we will be taking your comments of the physical aspects of the property under advisement, especially your dissatisfaction with our danish and... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have always stayed at this hotel while visiting my family. My last stay was terrible. I could stay at a hotel 20 miles away and pay the same price with breakfast included and not have the problems I had at this hotel. The phone lines were not working and not fixed during my 3 days stay, the bedside light... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry to say that you have reviewed the wrong hotel. Our motel does not have curtains on pulleys, grassy areas that could grow tall, nor any staff members named Mike. We are certainly sorry to hear of your experience in the State College area, and we would certainly welcome the opportunity to have you visit our motel when... More

Speonk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

#1 out of 26 hotels/motels in State College when we made our reservation for a wedding in the area! Well I see now it is #8... On the negative side, it smelled musty and the toilet was broken. The water was turned off, and when we turned it on it leaked. A.LOT. There was a bucket there which had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to let us know how we’re doing. I do apologize that the toilet was not working, but glad that BJ was able to fix it the next morning. Your experience is not what we have come to expect at the Nittany Budget and I personally apologize that things were not up to par. It is... More

Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We have stayed here many years now when in the area for PSU game. Our issue is that they never update. Bathroom is in bad condition. Walls have holes/rips in the wallpaper. Chair and couch are nasty and need to be taken out they are not needed. Getting better tissues, toilet paper, towels and shower curtain would go a long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologize that we do not continue to meet your expectations when you stay with us, but appreciate the suggestions. We feel that learning our customers needs and opinions are gold to us when it comes to creating a better experience and we thank you for letting us know what you’d... More

Howell, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night, just as a stopover en route to elsewhere. The motel is on the south side of town, located on the edge of an office park a good distance from any freeway, so it is well away from most road noise. (The downside: You have to drive farther from the freeway to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we’re doing. We apologize for the bleach smell in the room and are working to address the issue. I would like to assure you that this is not the typical experience at the Nittany Budget. We hope that you will come back and if you do, contact me personally... More

Lovettsville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Agree was misled by rating & reviews. Old style no lobby and terrible soundproofing!! I could hear the dial tone of the phone in the next room! The room smelled awful, but fortunately they brought us some Febreeze! Friend stayed at Knights Inn----MUCH nicer hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time for reviewing our property. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and apologize for the uncomfortable conditions. Currently, we are exploring options for updating certain aspects of our motel to make them more comfortable. Although I am glad that our staff was able to temporarily resolve the issue of... More

Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

#1 out of 26 hotels/motels in State College! We booked it! Smart, right? Wrong. So very wrong indeed. The staff were very friendly and very proud of the #1 ranking. They should be, if it were true. We booked adjoining rooms for my wife & I and my mother-in-law. On entering our room it was clearly evident a smoker had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apology that your stay was anything less than perfect and that our attempts to rectify the situation fell short. I am very sorry to hear your disappointment and I can assure you that this is not the typical guest experience. I have addressed the issues in the room that you mentioned and we are looking into... More

Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Booked via Priceline and apparently they knew we had a reservation (And my email confirmation proved it) but gave away my room anyway. Wife and I had to deal with two twin beds. Room was a non smoking room bit apparently the sign said that, but it still stunk. Nice staff, but our room wasn't very nice. Warped table, gaping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Please accept my sincere apology that your stay was anything less than satisfying. I have addressed the issued in the room that you mentioned and am looking into purchasing new pieces to replace worn furniture. I want to personally apologize for your missing reservation, as I was the one who... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

I had a very pleasant experience staying here. My family rented 4 seperate rooms and we were all pleased. The staff is very friendly and helpful, a great restaurant is right next door, a beer/ convienence store is on site. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. My only complaint is my bathtub was slow to drain during... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel! We are so pleased that your family's stay with us was pleasant and convenient. We believe that staying here is a great option for those who wish to be perfectly positioned between being close to downtown, but far enough away you don’t have to hear it all night. We are... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nittany Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Budget Motel

Address: 2070 Cato Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nittany Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay