We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   666 Centreville Pike, Slippery Rock, PA
Hotel amenities
Applebutter Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Applebutter Inn to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015
Richelle F
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (12)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I always find it crazy when people review a place that is reasonably priced as if it should provide 5 star level accommodations. This is the most economical B&B we've ever found and for the price, $115.00, it was amazing! The Innkeeper, Buzz, was very friendly and gave us a lot of suggestions. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Have you ever wanted to drink whiskey from a duck decanter? Do you long for the ambiance of your blind grandmothers home?Have you ever wanted to look at a Jackson Pollack made of mildew while showering? Then folks, the Apple Butter Inn is your Mecca.Not only will you enjoy the peace and quiet of the environment, but you will also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

Each room is to have at least 2 bottles of shampoo and 2 bars of soap. There are to be 2 towels, 2 wash cloths, and 2 hand towels along with a bath mat. If more towels are needed there are spares in the maids closets in the hall. Linen is washed when the previous guest leaves as well as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Slippery Rock hotels

North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We got my parents a night stay for 40 th anniversary! Very disappointed after what they told me. 1st no one was there called person told them b there in 1 hr ok they left came back. Get to room only had 1 towel & wash cloth but 3 hand towel. No one at front desk! Space heater in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

We had a greatcook for over ten years. Due to an illness she had to retire. We have tried 3 other cooks since then. They were either unreliable or did not meet normal standards. When they did not show up to cook we either reimbursed the guest for breakfast or sent them down the street and picked up the bill.... More 

Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Pros: lots of parking, décor is charming, nice guest common areas Cons: bed was hard as a rock, pillows were cheap and thin flat, window would not close all the way and so let in street noise, tiny shampoo bottle was almost empty - obviously used by someone else and not replaced - yuk, mildew all over bathroom walls, bedside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

We had a great cook for over ten years. She had some health problems so she had to leave the inn. We tried 3 different cooks over the past year. Each started out OK but unfortunately they either were unreliable or did not meet expectations. We are now providing breakfast at a quaint restaurant a mile away. We do provide... More 

Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband I stayed here for one night recently. The room was immaculate. The inn is a cross between a bed and breakfast and a quaint hotel. The furnishing were quaint and cozy. Everything in the room was in good repair. Other reviewers seem hesitant about the property: this is clearly not a Bed & Breakfast so I'm o.k. with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went up to visit my college daughter. My husband had ordered a massage for me, but we decided to go in the hot tub first. We were told it had been moved to outside, and would take a little bit of time to heat up. Upon opening the cover, there were spiders floating in the stagnant water. We went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

My only response is the hot tub is outside. The old tub had a loose fitting lid so that is my guess why the spiders were in the tub. We have since purchsed a new hot tub with a better fitting lid and have not had any complaints. The massage person is an outside contractor. We have only had positive... More 

Pittsburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Applebutter in for our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised by how quaint and wonderful the Inn was. After reading the reviews below, I was somewhat hesitant, but found the Inn to be just wonderful. Our room was very clean and well taken care of. The Inn is so quaint and cute, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My sister and I just spent 3 nights at the Applebutter Inn. Checked out yesterday in fact. Now, we're seasoned travellers, who like quirky places...old is good, as long as it's clean. It's that simple. We checked in Saturday afternoon...well, we picked up a key left for us on the front desk...no one around. It was actually Monday before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

We are a small inn and we are often out doing things rather than just sitting at a desk. We use the same policy as many other Inns regarding towels. If towels are hung we do not replace them if they are on the floor we replace them. Regarding dust; we do outr best to keep up with dust but... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Applebutter Inn for one night while visiting relatives in the area. The room had obviously not been upgraded for some time. The bath towels were thin and stained. The silk floral wreath on the wall was old and faded and should have been replaced years ago. The quilt on the bed was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I recently spent time in this quaint little inn (while taking advantage of the nearby shopping centre in Grove City). The inn was very clean and great attention to detail was given to keep it in alignment with the time periods of the rooms. We stayed in one of the larger rooms (The Flower Garden) which had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Applebutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applebutter Inn

Address: 666 Centreville Pike, Slippery Rock, PA
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Slippery Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Applebutter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Applebutter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applebutter Hotel Slippery Rock

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay