We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Applebutter Inn

666 Centreville Pike, Slippery Rock, PA 16057
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Applebutter Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Applebutter Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (13)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Flesherton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We were pleasantly greeted upon our arrival and were shown the room before we checked in which was very nice. The inn was quite booked so the clerk placed us in a room which was away from the larger group booking. The room itself was charming, tastefully decorated and furnished with lovely antiques. The room was wonderfully set up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

The room these guests stayed in is the only room we have that has a King Bed. We have purchased a newer set of sheets but the were being cleaned. We will soon be purchasing another set of sheets for the bed and then will be able to retire the old sheets. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I always find it crazy when people review a place that is reasonably priced as if it should provide 5 star level accommodations. This is the most economical B&B we've ever found and for the price, $115.00, it was amazing! The Innkeeper, Buzz, was very friendly and gave us a lot of suggestions. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Have you ever wanted to drink whiskey from a duck decanter? Do you long for the ambiance of your blind grandmothers home?Have you ever wanted to look at a Jackson Pollack made of mildew while showering? Then folks, the Apple Butter Inn is your Mecca.Not only will you enjoy the peace and quiet of the environment, but you will also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

Each room is to have at least 2 bottles of shampoo and 2 bars of soap. There are to be 2 towels, 2 wash cloths, and 2 hand towels along with a bath mat. If more towels are needed there are spares in the maids closets in the hall. Linen is washed when the previous guest leaves as well as... More 

North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We got my parents a night stay for 40 th anniversary! Very disappointed after what they told me. 1st no one was there called person told them b there in 1 hr ok they left came back. Get to room only had 1 towel & wash cloth but 3 hand towel. No one at front desk! Space heater in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

We had a greatcook for over ten years. Due to an illness she had to retire. We have tried 3 other cooks since then. They were either unreliable or did not meet normal standards. When they did not show up to cook we either reimbursed the guest for breakfast or sent them down the street and picked up the bill.... More 

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Pros: lots of parking, décor is charming, nice guest common areas Cons: bed was hard as a rock, pillows were cheap and thin flat, window would not close all the way and so let in street noise, tiny shampoo bottle was almost empty - obviously used by someone else and not replaced - yuk, mildew all over bathroom walls, bedside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

We had a great cook for over ten years. She had some health problems so she had to leave the inn. We tried 3 different cooks over the past year. Each started out OK but unfortunately they either were unreliable or did not meet expectations. We are now providing breakfast at a quaint restaurant a mile away. We do provide... More 

Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband I stayed here for one night recently. The room was immaculate. The inn is a cross between a bed and breakfast and a quaint hotel. The furnishing were quaint and cozy. Everything in the room was in good repair. Other reviewers seem hesitant about the property: this is clearly not a Bed & Breakfast so I'm o.k. with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went up to visit my college daughter. My husband had ordered a massage for me, but we decided to go in the hot tub first. We were told it had been moved to outside, and would take a little bit of time to heat up. Upon opening the cover, there were spiders floating in the stagnant water. We went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

My only response is the hot tub is outside. The old tub had a loose fitting lid so that is my guess why the spiders were in the tub. We have since purchsed a new hot tub with a better fitting lid and have not had any complaints. The massage person is an outside contractor. We have only had positive... More 

Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Applebutter in for our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised by how quaint and wonderful the Inn was. After reading the reviews below, I was somewhat hesitant, but found the Inn to be just wonderful. Our room was very clean and well taken care of. The Inn is so quaint and cute, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My sister and I just spent 3 nights at the Applebutter Inn. Checked out yesterday in fact. Now, we're seasoned travellers, who like quirky places...old is good, as long as it's clean. It's that simple. We checked in Saturday afternoon...well, we picked up a key left for us on the front desk...no one around. It was actually Monday before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

We are a small inn and we are often out doing things rather than just sitting at a desk. We use the same policy as many other Inns regarding towels. If towels are hung we do not replace them if they are on the floor we replace them. Regarding dust; we do outr best to keep up with dust but... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Applebutter Inn for one night while visiting relatives in the area. The room had obviously not been upgraded for some time. The bath towels were thin and stained. The silk floral wreath on the wall was old and faded and should have been replaced years ago. The quilt on the bed was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slippery Rock
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Slippery Rock
8.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Grove City
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
9.2 mi away
Monroe Heights Hotel
Monroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 4 in Grove City
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grove City Inn
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grove City
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Butler
Hampton Inn Butler
#1 of 7 in Butler
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay