We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    98
    72
    37
    25
    22
See reviews for
107
77
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (254)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Shippensburg, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Happy with stay at this hotel. Very good overall. We have stayed at this best western several times before and will stay here again as long as the quality remains at the very good level. Room was clean and nicely decorated with microwave and refrigerator and flat screen tv.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bwship, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. WE take all of your comments very seriously and will be sharing them with the staff. We take pride day in and day out on how beautiful our property is. We can not wait to see you again and welcome you back home. Lee Lemelman Regional Manager More 

New york, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Friendly staff and nice room with fridge, microwave and coffee. Breakfast had a wide assortment of good food.Pool was enticing but we did not have the time to stay and enjoy it.Also offers a Vetrans discount.Yes, I would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bwship, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel in Shippensburg. Our staff takes every review seriously and we will be sharing your comments directly with them. We look forward to having you stay at our home away from home again. Lee Lemelman Regional Manager More 

Concord, NH, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Check in I was informed there were no non-smoking rooms available. No other hotels in area so I stayed. No offer of an alternative or sympathy from person behind desk. Attitude was take it or leave it. Smell in room was bad even with window open at all times with outside temperatures close to freezing. Not a pleasant stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bwship, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

WE apologize for your experience at Best Western Shippensburg. We strive to show each guest we truly care. I will be taking these comments directly to each staff member so this does not happen again. Please contact me directly at the hotel so we can personally take care of your issues at 717-532-5200. Lee Lemelman REgional Manager More 

Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

A recently renovated property with a wonderful swimming pool that is close to restaurants & shopping. The onsite breakfast was fantastic, with biscuits & gravy among the offerings. The room was beautifully decorated, the beds were very comfortable & the staff was helpful & friendly. Our stay could not have been better! We highly recommend this Best Western, even though... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bwship, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for driving all the way from gettysburg to stay at our brand new renovated Best Western in Shippensburg. We will be sharing your fantastic comments to our staff. We hope if you are in the are again you give us another chance to welcome you to your home away from home. Lee Lemelman Regional Manager More 

Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Our room was not very clean when we arrived, there was dirt on the floor. Thee rest of the hotel was the same a lot of dirt in the common areas. Our welcome was not too warm either. I expect moe from a Best Western. I doubt I will return here but if I did I'd look for another hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bwship, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay with us at the Best Western. We strive to provide 100% satisfaction to all our guests. We apologize for the negative experience you had with us. I can assure you it is not a typical experience our staff wants to provide our guests. We do hope that you will... More 

Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Two weeks ago, I began to look for my Kindle at home. It was nowhere to be found. I decided to ask the Best Western Shippensburg desk clerk if I had left my Kindle there a few weeks ago. She called the manager and yes I did. My Kindle was kept safely locked in the manager's office for about a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bwship, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debra, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad that we were able to find the rightful owner for the IPAD. We strive to provide superior service to all our guests. We look forward to your next visit with us. Kind Thoughts, Cassie Rank Manager More 

Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Stayed here before with excellant experience but recent stay was a big letdown. Piles of broken furniture and boxes at rear entrance to motel and door not locked. Breakfast was a disaster. with cold hot food and no milk for cereal. Needs to correct these problems to recommend in the future.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bwship, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Best Western. We apologize that your service was not 100% during your stay. We were undergoing renovations at the time and we tried our best to keep it cleaned up the best we could with the construction. All of our renovations have been completed and we hope that... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We had to make a detour to our trip home and wound up here. The girl at the check-in seemed genuinely happy to see us and that is a nice surprise after a long day of driving. The hotel was full of boxes of new furniture etc. and we were fortunate enough to get one of the rooms that had... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bwship, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Best Western in Shippensburg, PA. We value all feedback and use for training to better be able to provide the 100% satisfaction to all our guests. Kind Thoughts, Cassie Rank Manager More 

Huntington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Very friendly staff and indoor POOL that the kids LOVED to play in. Would stay there again... Breakfast was EXCELLENT and staff very helpful.. LOCATION right off highway a big plus and would recommend highly. :-)

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bwship, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Best Western in Shippensburg, PA. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing again soon when you are in our area. Kind Thoughts, Cassie Rank Manager More 

Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This was a nice place to stay. Rooms were very clean as well as the hotel itself. The pool and jacuzzi was very nice and the area was clean. Very friendly and welcoming staff. This is the second year we stayed here for the powwow at Shippensburg University. The breakfast they serve is great they have so much more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bwship, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you recent feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We look forward to working with the Pow-Wow event every year. Kind Thoughts, Cassie Rank Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
1.7 mi away
Shippen Place Hotel
Shippen Place Hotel
#1 of 6 in Shippensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
11.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 16 in Chambersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
#1 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay