We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Milford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

Rooms are always clean and comfortable , minor issues with checking inn, presumably because of new staffing, we felt rushed to eat breakfast and felt un comfortable with the breakfest staffer who seemed a bit anxious to clean the room at 8:30 food was cold and not cooked , felt rushed to check out

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Liza R
Bwship, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liza R, Thank you for taking your time and giving us a review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer... More 

Hershey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

My title says it all. Great beds, pillows, and bedding--husband loved the heated pool--good breakfast--nice people. The cleaning staff standards were low and pride of appearance was lacking--bathtub scum, dirty mirrors, grit on sink . . . had to buy scrub pads and clean things myself.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank HersheyAmyh
Bwship, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HersheyAmyh, Thank you for taking your time and giving us a review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a... More 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Stopped at this hotel for the first time and encountered Nikki. She was rude, did not answer questions and was not concerned with her job. I asked her name three times and she would not give it. Finally she wore a name tag! Her check in with others seemed a bit better but quality should not depend on whether the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
Bwship, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert G, Thank you for taking your time and giving us a review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer... More 

Saint Agatha, Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

We have stayed at the Best Western Shippensburg previously, but it has been some time ago. This hotel did not disappoint, and was quiet and comfy. We did take advantage of the indoor pool which was quite refreshing. We did not partake of their breakfast, as we had to depart prior to breakfast being served. We would definitely stay at... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Fred H
Bwship, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Fred, Thank-you for taking your time and giving us a review. We are happy that your stay with us was pleasant and enjoyed all the accommodations we had to offer! We hope next time you guys are you are able to enjoy the hot breakfast we offer!! We hope to see you soon!! Take Care, Het Gandhi More 

Buffalo Mills, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

The smoke order - over whelming. ventilation was bad, water pressure and i checked in between 330-4 pm, and had to ask if they would make the bed. I have stay at other Best Western and was disappointed in this one.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
Bwship, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in... More 

Galloway, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

Friendly, helpful staff. Nice, comfortable hotel. Since I travel via motorcycle, a good nights rest is imperative. The desk clerk even suggested that I park my Harley under the overhang, to keep it out of the weather. Shippensburg is a really nice town, located in a really pretty spot in Pennsylvania. There are good restaurants nearby, and the morning breakfast... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Larry B
Bwship, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Larry, Thank-you for taking your time and giving us a review. There are a lot of things to do in Shippensburg and close to the town as well! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to use all the accommodations we had to offer. We hope to see you again if you are... More 

Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

After four nights in a hotel with a non-working washing machine, my first plan was to do the laundry and reorganize my luggage for a stay in NYC. The desk clerk not only allowed me to check in before the "official" time, and gave me a first floor room close to the laundry but far enough away that it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BitterrootTraveler
Bwship, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BitterootTraveler, Thank-you for taking your time and giving us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the accommodations we had to offer! We hope you were also able to use the area's best indoor heated pool. We hope to see you again if you are in the area! Take Care, Het Gandhi More 

Kennebunkport
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

This hotel is basic and a very good value. It is not near restaurants and we found only one gas station nearby. It is very quiet even though it is near route 81. Would recommend this hotel for an overnight or longer if you need to be in the area. Did not use the indoor pool, but it looked lovely.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven H
Bwship, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steven, Thank you for taking your time and giving us a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully the next time you are here you can enjoy the area's best indoor heated pool and spa! Also, there are fast food places very close to us as well restaurants and sport's bar only 5 minutes away!... More 

Warner Springs, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

I booked well in advance for a nice room. I just arrived and was sent to an old smoke saturated smelling tiny single queen handicap and told I was pretty much stuck with it by the manager. I checked out the room and it had junk piled by the front door. The handicapped bathroom was almost as big as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank warnerspringsmonty
Bwship, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tam, Thank you for taking your time and completing our survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a... More 

Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

heading towards home (Canada ) on 81 north we went through snow storms, freezing rain and more all through Virginia ,west Virginia Maryland , and Pennsylvania. finally made it to this hotel and the hostess met us and greated us with a big family friendly smile..her shift replacement hadn't shown up yet but she kept the lobby lit up..it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank dano j
Bwship, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dano, Thank-you for taking your time and giving us a review! We are glad you guys enjoyed your stay with us and hoped you were able to take advantage of all the accommodations we had to offer, like the area's best indoor heated pool and spa. We hope to see you guys again if you are ever in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
1.7 mi away
Shippen Place Hotel
Shippen Place Hotel
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#2 of 6 in Shippensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 16 in Chambersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
11.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay