We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge & Suites

2.0 of 5 3249 North Susquehanna Trail, Shamokin Dam, PA 17876 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
23
13
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Westminster, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An old hotel that has been remodeled. It is clean, adequate but expect no amenities here. All doors open to the outside, less than ideal if you are concerned about safety and security. We paid a premium for a "suite" with a jacuzzi tub - which did not work! The unit under the window produced plenty of heat - and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. I am sorry you had trouble with the Jacuzzi not working and you had to wait for the refund. Did you call the desk about the noise issues, if so i apologize for the staff not taking care of the issue.I am glad you found your... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overpriced. Old. Continental breakfast was in a Mexican restaurant and was very lame. The place was not dirty. Really should be $59/night place. The most irritating part of the stay was the bathroom. Some idiot decided it would be nice to place the toilet almost against the wall. It is a small cheap $39 Home Depot style toilet that is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time from a busy schedule to post a review of your stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed with the size of our bathroom., some rooms do have bigger bathrooms. The restaurant provides the breakfast and it is just a continental breakfast.which is very basic. I hope you consider another stay with us next... More

Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We were in town to attend a gallery opening at SU and were looking to stay somewhere on a budget, which made us skeptical of the quality we'd get here but this hotel exceed expectations.The few staff members we met were very friendly. The furniture was modern and comfortable. The room was very clean. Although the tv was very outdated,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to post a nice review of your stay with us. I am glad you met some of our friendly staff, and were able to provide you with a nice clean room that met your budget. We look forward to providing you with excellent accommodations on your next visit to Shamokin Dam. Thanks More

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stay at many hotels each year, and have for many years, and this would have to be at the bottom of my list. The room we stayed in was called a 'Suite' but was adjoining rooms with beds only in one of the rooms. This was the best part of the hotel. There was plenty of room for my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to post a review of your stay with us all comments are appreciated and will be used for training of the staff. We are happy you were satisfied with the size of the rooms, but disappointed with the firmness of the beds.Our rooms were partially renovated in 2012. Hopefully your next visit to Shamokin Dam... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location in Shamokin Dam PA. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Exterior of property is fairly well maintained. The pool is clean and inviting. The rooms were mostly redone recently with new air conditioners, carpets, wall covering, linens and curtains, compact fridge, new sink faucet but they didn't update the bathroom sink which was badly cracked and over 20yrs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to post a review of your stay with us. I will share your nice comments with the staff as words of encouragement. We are glad you noticed the partial renovations we done in 2012, bathrooms need completed yet. Hope your next visit to Shamokin Dam we can again accommodate you and provide superior service. More

Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is the second time staying at this hotel in the past two years. I thought I would not return after the first stay but due to late plans I did not have any choices under $175 per night. Rooms on both stays were "non smoking" rooms but you immediately get hit with smoke smell as soon as you open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to post a review of your stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Your comments are much appreciated and will be used for training purposes.Our trash cans are emptied daily but with high occupancy yes they do sometimes get over full. We did a partial renovation of the rooms in... More

Wolcott, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

was a little skeptical about guality but really nice and good price. lobby was spotless and great staff. room was clean smelled good and beds nice, very modern. nice pool area, good ac. nice mex rest. on site so food was easy and really good stuff. great drink specials good food selection and quick. would stay and eay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to post a review of your stay with us, we are glad that we could provide you with exceptionl service.Thank you for the nice comments of the staff i will be sure to share it with them, comments from guests are great training tools for the stafff. Thank You More

Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The renovated rooms are quite comfortable and clean. On our last stay they were pretty run down. Again, the pool is really nice when travelling with a big group of kids. We had a really nice stay. The arrangement they have with the attached Mexican restaurant for breakfast should be reconsidered. It is terrible. Luckily there is a Bob Evans... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy day to post a review of your stay with us. Our large outdoor pool and courtyard area is idea for large or small groups, Thank you for mentioning about the nicely renovated rooms. I have spoken about the breakfast issues with the restaurant and we are looking at what needs to... More

Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

i would absolutely stay here again.so glad i checked trip advisor before my husband and i went away for a couple of days for a little antique shopping.i didnt book ahead but we got there around 11:30 and got a very good price and the girl at the desk-Joy-was very friendly and helpful and even upgraded me into a better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to post a nice review of your stay. Am glad you were able to get some good sleep to do your antiquing while you were here. Our large pool and courtyard area is relaxing, sorry the rain kept you from enjoying it. Hopefully your next trip the sun will be shining! More

North Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

No problems here at all. Standard room. Clean. Very courteous staff. Above-average furniture for discount, rural-area hotel. Varieties of pillow firmness. Large tube TV. Easy access from road. Pool was well maintained, organized surroundings & clean. I always go non-smoking & top floor. Same thing here, with King bed. No problems. We did not check out the adjoining Mexican restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EconoLodgeSD, Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to post a review of your stay with us. We are happy that you were met with our courteous staff and clean rooms. Our courtyard area and large outdoor pool is a very relaxing area. Thank You again More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Address: 3249 North Susquehanna Trail, Shamokin Dam, PA 17876 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shamokin Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge And Suites
Econo Hotel Shamokin Dam
Econo Lodge Shamokin Dam
Shamokin Dam Econo Lodge

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay