We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
29 High St., Pottstown, PA 19464 (Formerly Pottstown Days Inn)
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    3
    11
See reviews for
4
4
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Terrell, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff was friendly and the room was clean; however, the property was not kept up. All towels, bedspreads, etc. were clean but stained. Room was in need of a lot of repair. Hair dryer did not work, door hinges rusted, door was not flush with casing, and a lot of other damage to room. Continential breakfast left a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Freeport, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Cigarette burns on the sheets, stains(coffee?) on the wall, stains and burn holes in the 1950's carpeting.TP dispenser torn out of the wall, was sitting on the back of the toilet. The furniture was so old and beaten, you couldn't have sold it at a flea market. 3/6 lights in the room did not work. The heater kicked on and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review

first I would like to apolozise for your inconvienance. we will be renovationing the room to be carpeted, painted also will get new furniture in end of spring. I would like you to come visit us after April hope you will find significant change in rooms. again please accept my apology and check us out after repainting, carpeting our rooms... More 

Fitchburg, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I reserved a non smoking room and when I arrived all they had was smoking. I took it. The room had a very very strong smell of smoke. I smoked for 20 years so I am some what tolerant of smoke rooms but this was over the top.. The bed spread had burn holes, the blanket had burn holes. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review

We are sorry that your visit was less than satisfactory. On occasion, we sell out of a specific room type because we have third party reservations coming in and its a matter of sharing the same inventory. We do apologize for that. We did mention that the room was a smoking room and you didn't seem to mind. As of... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The first room we were giving had a soaked floor from something leaking. We were moved and it became worse. The room had a bad smell and worst of all cockroaches! No ok! We have stayed before and this time I was completely grossed out and will not be returning here ever again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. of course we would have preferred for it to be a more positive one, but we always listen to our guests and learn where we need to make improvements. On this occasion, the housekeeper did note that there was slight dripping from the bathroom sink and we forgot to remove... More 

New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The location of the hotel was decent. My husband and I needed a place for one night and price was fairly decent. Upon our arrival, we were given a room on the second floor after being informed that there was no non smoking room available on first floor. As we entered the room, we immediately noticed the smell of smoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review

We are happy we were able to accommodate you with non-smoking room. We have already addressed the sheeting and blankets issue with our housekeeping and laundry team; We have also reolaced our bedding with new modern styled coverlets and we think you'd really be impressed! We have implemented a 4 month carpet cleaning schedule to assure fresh carpets for our... More 

Dansville, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We chose a modestly priced place with a continental breakfast. We weren't expecting luxury. The room and bed were clean. The place needs upgrades. We almost bottomed out pulling into to the driveway. The continental breakfast would have been adequate but they ran out of milk and there was no way for the clerk to get more until after we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review

We thank you for leaving a review for our property. We are making improvements everyday and are happy that you felt comfortable. We will make sure to keep extra stock of breakfast items on hand! Thanks again. Hope you come by again. More 

New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Not a horrible place, BUT the bathroom had a very heavy bleach odor (they had the door closed when I arrived). The water 'ran' not dripped into the tub constantly. No hot water in the bathtub. Room overall was tidy but 'old'. Heating system sucked -- no instructions and how to turn on/off, control temp, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you weren't totally satisfied with your stay here at Americas Best Value Inn, Pottstown. We keep our property very well maintained and we are sorry that the bathroom smelled like bleach, normally the door is left open to air out. As far as a leak in the faucet, we did have that repaired, but we... More 

Huguenot NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We selected it because we were traveling with our small dog and the price and location fit our needs. Room smelled old, noise from the out side and other room caused a very sleepless night. Bed was ok, but there were holes in the bedspread. In room coffee maker stuck to the base of the coffee maker. Give he impression... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review

We are very happy that we were able to accommodate your pet as we are pet friendly. We are terribly sorry that the coffee pot was sticky giving you a bad impression. We have educated our housekeepers and they are much more careful now. We have also been remodeling and have purchased all new bedding that we are sure you... More 

Interlaken
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Do NOT stay here. Rat traps lining the rear parking lot was our first clue. Add to that the horrible smell in the room, unsavory characters partying until 3 in the morning in the lot, stained sheets with holes in them, an old tattered comforter, the smoke detector was hanging out of the wall - the door didn't close all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not find your stay satisfactory, but we are a bit confused as to the pet charges. Our policy, both stated online and in our office is $10 per pet per night. We thought since you had a few pets, we would only charge you $25 per night. Because we are located downtown, we are... More 

Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The most disgusting place I have ever seen. Peeling paint, dirty walls, duct tape toilet seat to hold it together. Holes in the dirty sheets. I didn't even stay in the room. I used it as a rest room. Even at that I felt dirty. I slept in my car. Oh and the door didn't unlock, it took about 30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review

We are not sure why you were actually dissatisfied with your stay with us, because there was no peeling paint in your room, and certainly no duct taped toilet seat! We would never be in business if that is how we kept our rooms. Unfortunately, sometimes the smokers do put burn holes in our sheets and we do not always... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question