We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
3315 Hamlet St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    149
    70
    16
    9
See reviews for
195
75
36
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (489)
  • Mar-May only
    (153)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (121)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (104)
All months
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My overall experience at this hotel was positive with the friendly front desk, although was rather busy with only one front desk personnel, however they remained calm and courteous taking care of all my needs. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good, and exercise room was clean and quiet. The best kept secret is the shuttle service. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon returning to Pittsburgh after a ten-year hiatus in Florida, my wife and I made the Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center our home while we searched the real estate market for a condominium in the Oakland/Shadyside area of the city. What we initially thought would be a 4 - 6 week period extended from April through December of 2014! During... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We just returned home from a first time visit to Pittsburgh. It was a wonderful stay - made all the more so by this excellent hotel. The room was small but well designed and perfectly functional with a nice view of downtown. It was within walking distance to many campuses (Carnegie Mellon in our case) but we found ourselves taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanna M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and love when our staff's commitment to excellence is noticed. We look forward to having you back in the future. Shanna McLean 412-681-1000 More 

Springboro, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This stay at Hampton did not meet our expectations. There was no one at the front desk, so we had to wait longer than usual. Manager seemed preoccupied by a situation with another guest. In the room the WiFi server was unavailable for at least the first hour of our stay. The sheets and pillows did NOT smell clean, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear Jettan, Thank you for staying with us though I am truly sorry that you were disappointed as we give it our best to please you the customer. I am looking into the room you stayed as we have been unaware of any internet issues though will check that room specifically to find a resolution and review with our internet... More 

Fort Lee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The heat doesn't work right in the hotel - thermostats do not shut off at the right temperatures. This causes massive overheating in the rooms. I have had this experience twice at this hotel on two separate visits. Both times the thermostat would not cool the room below 75 degrees. Awful.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear Ross A, Thank you for staying with us and writing your review on Trip Advisor, I would like to let you know we are investigating your issue and want find a resolution for the malfunctioning thermostat. We Hampton Inn 100% satisfaction guaranteed and would like for you to give us another chance as we do not expect you to... More 

Medina, Ohio, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an unusually friendly and competently staffed hotel. The problem is lack of knowledge regarding good food and breakfast. if then can learn how to present a simple and tasty breakfast, the hotel would be outstanding.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanna M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind words regarding our staff and the quality of our rooms! We are sorry to hear that you don't like the breakfast we offer. We always welcome any suggestions our guests have on how we can improve any aspect of the... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice hotel and very comfortable place to live but if the breakfirst could allow more options and more delicious it would be perfect. The environment around the hotel is also nice with the Pittsburg university nearby

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanna M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property! We appreciate the kind comments about our property and staff, and we look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the area! Shanna McLean 412-681-1000 More 

Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and smell good, convenient transportation. King bed is amazing. The AC is a little noisy in night, but acceptable. The sound proof is a little poor, I can hear cough of neighbour. Breakfast is delicious, but option is short.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shanna M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to provide the best possible accommodations we can for our guests, and we apologize we did not meet your expectations. Our maintenance department has been aware of the issue and is working to resolve it. We know you have several hotels to... More 

Cogan Station, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in Pittsburgh for an appointment at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, and the Hampton Inn provided the perfect location, great shuttle service, professional, friendly and courteous staff. Excellent value together with clean and comfortable accommodations.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanna M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we had the amenities to make your stay comfortable for you.We hope to see you again next time for pleasure (instead of the hospital). Shanna McLean 412-681-1000 More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Must book here great place but the shuttle to down town service is A1 thank you Rick& Shona both drivers so helpful and pleasant they would tell you about places that you won't find, drop you off one phone call and with in 1/2 hr they are ready to pick you up anywhere in downtown (with in 3 miles of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanna M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about Rick & Shanna! They are a definite asset to our hotel! We are happy to hear that you were happy with your room accommodations as well! We appreciate you choosing Hampton Inn University/Medical Center and we look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities