We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Hotel deals
Hotel website
3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    179
    165
    88
    36
    18
See reviews for
192
58
32
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (486)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (168)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great stay in a very convenient location. Easy walk to Pitt and Cathedral of Learning. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance. Breakfast was cooked to order with additional items on a buffet. Great service by Diane, C.C. And Marina. Parking is valet only and costs $18 per day but we'll run. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks. I am thrilled to see you and your family had the opportunity to join us for breakfast and meet our staff. We hope to see you again in the future and please let me know if I can ever be of assistance with your next stay! More 

Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I frequent the Hilton Garden Inn for breakfast and they never disappoint. Although the food is always great, hot and fast, it is really the staff that makes this place shine. Cici makes my food, exactly the way I want it, every time, with a smile. It is always my pleasure to see her in the morning. And today I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

WOW! THANK YOU! We are thrilled you enjoy our breakfast and continue to stop by and visit us! I am so excited to see you have mentioned a few of our staff members as well because we too think they are phenomenal. I will be sharing your remarks at our team meeting! THANK YOU! More 

Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location close to Pitt University. You can walk to the university in about 5 minutes. Hotel in excellent condition. Clean rooms, but a little pricey. Valet parking only, and breakfast was pretty good. Walking distance to good places to eat as well.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We are thrilled to see you had the opportunity to walk around our area as we are convenient to Pitt's campus. Thank you for your kind remarks and we hope to see you again in the future! More 

Rye Brook, NY, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just needed a place to have a good night's sleep after driving all day and before driving the next day. Unfortunately the platform bed was so uncomfortable that I awoke two or three times during the night. I had difficulty staying awake on the road the next day.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a response on your most recent stay. I want you to know we are actually two weeks away from the installation of brand new beds at our hotel. On behalf of all of us here, we are so sorry for the inconvenience and we hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the... More 

Tacoma, Washington
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am the national events manager for Griots Garage, and we were in town for the Pittsburgh Vintage Prix, staying at the hilton garden inn. As someone who spends most of his time on the road, i couldnt believe their beer selection! I met charles there, their bar and beverage manager, and I was amazed at their selection of micro... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you!! We are thrilled you had the chance to visit our bar and meet our staff as well. Yes, there is quite a selection of microbrews and I'm really glad you had a chance to meet Charles and Erin whom I will certainly let know you found them very helpful! We hope you stop back and see us... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had to come to Pittsburgh for an emergency...a friend is in ICU at UPMC Presbyterian on a ventilator..our rate was $149 per night, no one mentioned it would be $18 a day to park!! $14 per person for breakfast and the worst beds EVER! No boxsprings just a mattress thrown on top of a hard wooden platform! Terrible an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review of your recent stay. We certainly apologize you were unaware of the breakfast charge with Hilton Garden Inn Hotels as this is an option to our guests and is not complimentary. In the near future our hotel will be removing the Garden Sleep System beds and using a different product, we hope you allow... More 

Seattle
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here while in town for a friends wedding. Accommodations were nice, staff was very friendly. Expect a bit of a wait with valet service. I think the prices were a bit high, but otherwise would recommend.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place! We thank you for posting your review on your recent stay and we hope to be your top choice for your next stay in Pittsburgh! More 

Garrett Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in Pittsburg to attend a wedding so the hotel was selected by the wedding couple. They made an excellent choice and the accommodations were very nice. The wedding was at the Carnage Museum, which was near by and within close proximity to the restaurant where we had dinner the night before. We also had a very nice after... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we greatly appreciate your kind review! We are thrilled you had a fabulous time at the wedding and are glad you stopped by our restaurant and bar afterwards! We hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the future! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked for a college visit to the Univ of Pitt. The hotel was wonderful. It was clean, friendly staff and perfect location for the college tour. There is valet parking ($$),so that also made the trip easier. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

We hope you enjoyed your college visit when staying with us! Pittsburgh is a great city and we wish you the best of luck in choosing a great school here-there are many! Best of Luck in your future endeavors and we hope you and your family stop back and visit us again in the future! More 

Erie, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location for activities at Carlow University. Efficient and very friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. Easy walking access to Oakland shops for shopping, diner breakfast, pubs. Much improved since this property transitioned to Hilton.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for noticing the change of Wyndham to Hilton a we too are thrilled to be part of the new Hilton Team! We hope your travels bring you back to the Pittsburgh area again and we certainly hope to be your #1 choice! THANK YOU, from all of us here at the HGI Pittsburgh University Place! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
North Oakland
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
Quality Inn University Center
#43 of 59 in Pittsburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomfield
Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay