We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages

Hotel website
48678 Cabot Trail | Cape Breton, NS, North River Bridge, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Special Rate
Special Rate May1-June15
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North River Bridge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Austin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

This inn is unique in its ability to make you feel at home, if your home has a 5-star chef. Earlene uses (primarily organic) locally-sourced produce, meat, and fish for the most part, so her breakfast table far surpasses the typical, uninspired food most inns serve. The dishes made with the chanterelle mushrooms grown on the property, such as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrissyAustin
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at the Inn---and a lovely review it is. We take such an inspiration from your endorsements of our efforts to offer an accommodation dedicated to being environmentally responsible. And referring to me as being a "five star" chef is one of the most generous compliments I have ever... More 

New Ross, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

My husband and I stayed in Cottage #1, the wheelchair accessible cottage. Accessible it was not - the worst part was all of the little stones right in front of the ramp to the cottage. Very difficult to access; the ramp itself was wobbly; inside was OK but very crowded. We froze the first night as the heat had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverly K
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

We assume that traveling as a handicapped person is difficult and try to go out of our way to to reduce the barriers. Because of our concern for these guests, one of whom was handicapped, we offered them the choice between a room in the inn or the cottage. Both meet the Province's structural requirements for accessibility. They chose the... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

Recent 2 day stay. Earlene Busch is a very welcoming and interesting innkeeper, totally committed to offering a clean, relaxed, and natural environment, and to preparing excellent meals from locally produced, organic producers. No frills here, but a very good, nicely decorated, and extremely clean country inn instead. The remote location overlooking the beautiful North River valley and convenient to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your very generous review. I especially am gratified that you took advantage of the centrality of the Inn to explore so many of the sights and experiences of Cape Breton. I must admit I am unable to adequately express my appreciation for the warmth and consideration of your kind words. I am glad to... More 

Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

My husband, infant son and I were lucky enough to spend two nights here last week. We were very impressed by the comfortable room with beautiful antiques and artwork. Earlenne, Keith, Alexander and staff looked after us ensuring we were well fed and comfortable. The food was locally sourced and excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Shauna B
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

You and your family were such wonderful guests to have with us. Your appreciation of the area, the Inn, our cuisine and your regard for our staff made your stay one of the highlights of our summer. I enjoy recalling your warmth and appreciation. Thank you. I so look forward to your return. More 

Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

Where do I begin? When we first arrived here, I was instantly impressed with the beautiful/peaceful location, and how clean the inn and the rooms are (I'm very picky about that). Our room was very nicely decorated with original pieces, and you can read about all of that- and where everything came from- in the information binder in your room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Well, there is no other word for it but to say but that hosting this family was simply a delight---for all of us! They loved the area, took advantage of every opportunity to appreciate the experiences Cape Breton has to offer, and brought such positive energy to the Inn. These guests made innkeeping a wonderful business to be in. We... More 

Altona, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

My new husband and I spent a week in one of the cabins at Chanterelle's. We were so pleased with the accommodating and friendly staff, But can not say enough about our dinners on the screened patio. These are some of my favourite memories of our trip. Our first dinner we tried a lobster bisque soup and beet and blueberry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

We take it as a lovely compliment that you chose to spend your honeymoon at the Chanterelle. The Chanterelle has become thereby a thread in the tapestry that you are weaving in your lives together. And we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and the food. Thank you so much for sharing some of your... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Dirty, no service. Only 1 set of towels/ linens for entire 7 days, take out own trash etc. we paid $ 1748 for 7 nights. Sampler and food not good value. Exhausting to drive everywhere. Bring bug spray.

Helpful?
Thank Livingthelifenow2015
ebusch, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

I am quite confused by this review. On August 18, this guest wrote to tell me they were leaving one day early, seemingly assuming the last day would be deducted from the price of the stay. Included on this note was the following: "Thank you for the lovely stay, it is a beautiful view and we have enjoyed it." I... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

We arrived at the Chanterelle Inn in high hopes of a wonderful dinner and stay in a well-recommended B&B. Our hosts were friendly but extremely busy - perhaps short staffed? We sat on the lovely screened porch watching the hummingbirds and drinking wine until dinnertime. The food was very good, prepared simply but well. I must admit I had expected... More 

Helpful?
Thank 235traveler
ebusch, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a nice review of the Inn. So glad you enjoyed our "entertainers" on the veranda and hope you did not feel hurried. But, I am sorry we did not meet your culinary expectations. Yes, we helped launch the career of a talented young chef who subsequently opened his own restaurant. His particular genius... More 

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

After reading the other reviews, I've come to the conclusion that it must depend on what your are looking for. We booked while driving and gave our credit card number over the phone. It was 'off season' so we did get a discount. If we hadn't, we would have gone into Baddeck. The inn is standard and clean but definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jdleroux
ebusch, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Even though I always hope guests enjoy the Inn, I appreciate your taking time to comment. And thank you for taking advantage of our 20% early season discount. Because you were an early guest, I gave you my very favorite room. As to the Inn being "dated", I would have appreciated some detail as that is a somewhat "catch-all" term... More 

Level Contributor
153 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

Earlene and her crew run a wonderful dinner, bed and breakfast. All produce is mostly locally sourced and we had a superb dinner, I had the lobster and my husband the duck, plus we made new friends staying in the Inn. The wifi was superb too, the rooms are small but comfy, a lovely place to stay for the start... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tania d
ebusch, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your most generous comments about your stay at the Inn. I shared your note with the staff and they too were pleased. I hope you had a great time in Cape Breton and that you returned safely to your home so far away. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North River Bridge
29.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
15.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#2 of 6 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
English Country Garden B&B
English Country Garden B&B
#1 of 2 in Indian Brook
5.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
27.1 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
19.8 mi away
The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities