We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Malvern hotels

The Desmond Hotel

1 Liberty Blvd., Malvern, PA 19355
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Desmond Hotel to your Saves list
The Desmond Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Malvern
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014
Kamala69 Toronto
  • Overview
  • Reviews (129)
  • Photos (25)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
20
19
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for The Desmond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Laurence Harbor, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed for a conference that had over 300 attendees. Was given breakfast vouchers for two days, one that said good for Sat.only one that said for use on Sun. only. We turned in our breakfast vouchers and after eating and was presented a bill for $12 each, the exact amount on the voucher. We questioned the server, then the manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry you felt the voucher was misleading. It was meant to give your attendees a discounted price for breakfast, not show a discount amount. We described the offer verbally at check in, provided you a welcome letter that specifically detailed the discount and presented you with the above mentioned voucher. We did deliver a letter to... More

Toronto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

so the staff are amazing. The hotel itself in the day was probably the "grand" place to be -- now its kitschy, dated and a in serious need of a revamp. The rooms were dingy, though the retro artwork kind of amusing, bed was comfortable, internet worked -- anything beyond one night would have not worked for me, loud doorslamming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm happy that you enjoyed your night's rest, the internet, the food and specifically your comment on our amazing staff (I agree with you, they are terrific). I am sorry however to hear that you didn't like the decor. We continue to invest in our property every year with many... More

New Windsor, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Only stayed 1 nite for the FC Europa Turf Cup boys tournament. Satisfactory comfortable stay in double queen room. Breakfast not included vs many other places. Bummer. Rate is what I expect to pay if on business. But for personal there are comparable non-biz hotels if you're on a budget. We basically only slept in, tho kids did get to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Should you be traveling to the area again, we would be happy to prepare discounted team meals for your group. We love sports and appreciate our traveling teams and their respective budgets. We want to help, and are happy to work with your coaches or managers... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I recently stayed at the Desmond hotel for two nights as part of a business trip. The hotel has a warm, homely feel to it. I found the staff friendly and helpful; the rooms spacious and clean. Breakfast is a highlight. The staff were over-stretched when I visited, so service was a little slow, but the choice and quality of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your business and for your feedback, we hope you return again soon! Sincerely, Michael Chain More

West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Facility is clean and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The team made me feel right at home during my stay! I definitely plan to stay at the Desmond again and recommend the hotel to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Desmond, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Sincerely, Michael Chain More

Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A big thank you to The Desmond for providing us not only with a warm place to stay, but terrific hospitality as well. Our two night stay was the result of a wide spread power outage caused by a devastating ice storm. After a couple of long, hot showers, we enjoyed cocktails and a great meal in the Fox &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us, I am so glad we were able to provide you with some much needed comfort during this terrible winter. We hope you choose to return soon. Sincerely, Michael Chain More

wayne, pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

stayed here one night of a three night power outage in our area. Other hotel we stayed in nearby gave everyone free cookies and water as we checked in and made everyone feel welcome since they knew that most of us were locals and there due to power outage, that hotel even gave us two free breakfasts. Not so Desmond.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for staying with us, while I am glad we were able to accommodate you I am sorry you didn't feel we met your expectations. We proudly hosted thousands of travelers over the 2 week stretch of terrible weather and I have received many thank you's and compliments; my staff and I are sorry we seemed to... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is not a fancy, high-end hotel but for the value it is superior -- comfortable, clean; but the highlight would be the exceptionally friendly, helpful and efficient staff, from front desk to waitstaff to shuttle drivers. I stay here regularly for business in the Malvern area and would highly;y recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for recognizing our superior staff, I am so proud of them and how they care for our property and our guests. Best wishes for safe travels. Sincerely, Michael Chain More

Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

If there is any more beautiful place in January than Chester County, Pennsylvania I have yet to find it. The Desmond is the perfect home base for your explorations, or as a quiet sanctuary when traveling on business. The hash browns at breakfast were the best I've ever had, and the four-poster beds are a unique and charming touch!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us! I am so glad you like our property, we will keep working hard to ensure you have great experiences time after time. Thanks again and safe travels, Michael Chain More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had my wedding reception here in September and it could not have gone more perfectly! The Desmond management and staff literally thought of everything we could possibly need throughout the planning process and especially on the big day! Everyone raved about the food and loved the layout of the ballroom with the nice, big dance floor in the center... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback, I am happy we were able to deliver such an exceptional experience. I have forwarded the link to the staff, they will be excited to read your comments! Best wishes for safe travels and thank you again! Sincerely, Michael Chain More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Desmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Desmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel

Address: 1 Liberty Blvd., Malvern, PA 19355
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Desmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desmond Hotel Malvern
Malvern Desmond Hotel

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to a one-of-a-kind hotel, conveniently located in one of Pennsylvania's most scenic and historic settings. From the moment you walk in, you'll know why guests tell us The Desmond is the best part of traveling. It's a difference you can taste, whether you're savoring fresh seafood and prime steaks in The Hunt Room, fresh Maine lobster in our seasonal Sunset Grille, or relaxing with cocktails, snacks and comfort food in our authentic English pub, the Fox and Hounds. Above all, it's an experience that removes you from the distractions of everyday life, and surrounds you with the quiet pleasures you deserve. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
194

See which rooms travelers prefer