We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Malvern hotels

The Desmond Hotel

1 Liberty Blvd., Malvern, PA 19355
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Desmond Hotel to your Saves list
The Desmond Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
72%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
KatelynMc Scranton, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    42
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
19
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited for a work conference which was also held in the hotel. Pros: Great Location, Comfortable rooms, friendly staff, Free Wi-Fi. Cons: Dated décor, slow elevators, touchy thermostats. Not a terrible stay, not a remarkable one either. Just fine for what I needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight for business. The great part is it is located one mile from new turnpike exitI (ez pass only) food was good and room was clean. Be careful where room is located. Only one elevator and getting in and out to rooms on opposite side can take a long time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After 2 long flight delays and arriving at the Desmond close to midnight, I was hungry and thirst and hoping they still had a basket of fruit out for guests, I could not ask for better service. Steve and Walt read my mind. Asked if I would like a nice glass of wine and perhaps a sandwich to help unwind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
petd0c
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night on business. Lovely room with a canopy bed. Slept like a baby in my quiet little retreat. Front desk staff were very accommodating. When I called and asked what the earliest time coffee was on offer, they told me that there was coffee out by 5:30am but if I needed it earlier they would have it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurence Harbor, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a conference that had over 300 attendees. Was given breakfast vouchers for two days, one that said good for Sat.only one that said for use on Sun. only. We turned in our breakfast vouchers and after eating and was presented a bill for $12 each, the exact amount on the voucher. We questioned the server, then the manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

so the staff are amazing. The hotel itself in the day was probably the "grand" place to be -- now its kitschy, dated and a in serious need of a revamp. The rooms were dingy, though the retro artwork kind of amusing, bed was comfortable, internet worked -- anything beyond one night would have not worked for me, loud doorslamming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm happy that you enjoyed your night's rest, the internet, the food and specifically your comment on our amazing staff (I agree with you, they are terrific). I am sorry however to hear that you didn't like the decor. We continue to invest in our property every year with many... More

New Windsor, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Only stayed 1 nite for the FC Europa Turf Cup boys tournament. Satisfactory comfortable stay in double queen room. Breakfast not included vs many other places. Bummer. Rate is what I expect to pay if on business. But for personal there are comparable non-biz hotels if you're on a budget. We basically only slept in, tho kids did get to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Should you be traveling to the area again, we would be happy to prepare discounted team meals for your group. We love sports and appreciate our traveling teams and their respective budgets. We want to help, and are happy to work with your coaches or managers... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I recently stayed at the Desmond hotel for two nights as part of a business trip. The hotel has a warm, homely feel to it. I found the staff friendly and helpful; the rooms spacious and clean. Breakfast is a highlight. The staff were over-stretched when I visited, so service was a little slow, but the choice and quality of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your business and for your feedback, we hope you return again soon! Sincerely, Michael Chain More

West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Facility is clean and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The team made me feel right at home during my stay! I definitely plan to stay at the Desmond again and recommend the hotel to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Desmond, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Sincerely, Michael Chain More

Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A big thank you to The Desmond for providing us not only with a warm place to stay, but terrific hospitality as well. Our two night stay was the result of a wide spread power outage caused by a devastating ice storm. After a couple of long, hot showers, we enjoyed cocktails and a great meal in the Fox &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us, I am so glad we were able to provide you with some much needed comfort during this terrible winter. We hope you choose to return soon. Sincerely, Michael Chain More

Been to The Desmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel

Also Known As:
Desmond Hotel
Desmond Hotel Malvern
Malvern Desmond Hotel
Address: 1 Liberty Blvd., Malvern, PA 19355
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a one-of-a-kind hotel, conveniently located in one of Pennsylvania's most scenic and historic settings. From the moment you walk in, you'll know why guests tell us The Desmond is the best part of traveling. It's a difference you can taste, whether you're savoring fresh seafood and prime steaks in The Hunt Room, fresh Maine lobster in our seasonal Sunset Grille, or relaxing with cocktails, snacks and comfort food in our authentic English pub, the Fox and Hounds. Above all, it's an experience that removes you from the distractions of everyday life, and surrounds you with the quiet pleasures you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Desmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Desmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.