We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
The Boulevard, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Sands Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    19
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
turners beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at The Sands Resort three times and have enjoyed each one. Given the location of Yamba from airports etc it is fabulous having your own garage.car park. The location of the resort is perfect for us as we have friends living around the corner, the beach is over the road and it is a lovely 10min walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. So happy to hear that your holiday was a happy experience and that we played a part in this! We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Sands Resort in the future. More 

Bogangar, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

'Booked The Sands for a long weekend with hubby, kids and kids' friends in tow. Good location - immediately opposite Pippies Beach and a short flat walk or bike ride to everything like restaurants, shops and fishing spots etc. Top floor beachside unit had three bedrooms, a bathroom and an ensuite - all clean and comfortable. Good kitchen, plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback which we take very seriously. It was disappointing to hear that your spa bath was not as hot as you had liked especially seeing that you had been looking forward to it after an afternoon at the beach! The hot water system is off peak and consequently... More 

Wellington Point, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The sands location is lovely right next to Pippi beach, accommodation good but very disappointed that hot water only stretched to one bath, especially as weather very cold in July. Kids came up from spa, freezing, only to find no hot water for shower/ bath. Spa bath wasted under these circumstances.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback which we take very seriously. It was disappointing to hear that your spa bath was not as hot as you had liked especially seeing that you had been looking forward to it after an afternoon at the beach! The hot water system is off peak and consequently... More 

Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Another stay at the sands and I really did not think this property could get any better but it has. We stayed in a 3 bedroom Villa and it was perfect we have stayed in a Villa before and there was nothing wrong with it with their large lounge and kitchen areas outdoor entertainment secure car park right at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we were very happy to hear that you once again had a lovely holiday. We have just had a season of the whales passing by and Glen our Gardener has reported many sightings! We look forward to welcoming you home again to The Sands Resort in the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

My family stayed here for a few nights over Easter, in a 3 bedroom Villa. The accommodation was lovely and clean, beds were nice and comfy and the overall experience was great. We loved cooking on the BBQs overlooking the pool and the kids really enjoyed swimming in the pool and the spa. A great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

We were very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful Easter at The Sands Resort and enjoyed all that the Resort and Yamba has to offer. We are very proud of the Resort facilities, gardens and the accommodation that we provide being 4.5 star. It was certainly a lovely Easter and the visitors to Yamba certainly did enjoy warm... More 

Glen Innes, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The Sands is in a good location for Sea Views and unit was comfortable and clean. Advertising makes a big deal about all the "resort Facilities" but these were limited at best. We booked through an Outside Agent as we had interest in possibly buying the unit they had for sale and managed - a "try before you buy" type... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback to us. We were sorry to hear that your time at The Sands did not meet your expectations. The Sands units which are booked through agents on a number of third party booking sites do not come under the umbrella of The Sands Resort and we cannot therefore verify their... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

Having to take out our own rubbish at the end of our stay and packing all the dishes away (or else a $50 fine) is hardly my idea of a resort holiday, more like camping! Yes leave it tidy, but I suggest you get your cleaner to take out the trash!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We note that the only negative comment you had made in relation to your stay (for which you gave us a 3/5) was that you were requested to remove excess rubbish from the apartment on your departure. We note that the significant majority of guests are pleased to remove... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Great hotel polite helpful people room is very conformable and smooth specially for couples and family, hotel not so far way from khaolak center , easily can reach without any transport just walk 5 min. this is not first time for us we will come back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Sands Resort once again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

This was our 7th stay at the Sands in the past 6 years. We love Yamba and we used to love The Sands, but it is gradually declining - particularly in service. Admittedly once I told management that the toilet seat was broken they had it fixed later that day. But I was unimpressed with the quality of the unit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback for which we would like to respond. We are pleased that you acknowledged our response time when you raised a concern in relation to the cracked toilet seat. You also mention the hairline crack in the glass cooktop for which we did advise that it was not a... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in penthouse room 22 and it was beautiful. The room was beautifully decorated and well kept. The view was spectacular and location ifeal for those who love the beach. The facilities at the sands are well appointed and well maintained. The only thing I can pick is that there is key access to all main doors and some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday and we will definitely have a look at those keys! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.6 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#9 of 9 in Yamba
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clubyamba Luxury Holiday Villas
0.8 mi away
Angourie Rainforest Resort
0.5 mi away
Yamba Beach Motel
Yamba Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Yamba
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay