We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

3.0 of 5 Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    78
    39
    10
    10
See reviews for
38
82
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In summer we had a lovely break in this hotel. Very dated and in need of refresh. In saying that I couldn't fault anything. All comfortable and staff very good. Would never pay the rack rate though. Look for deals in summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our two night summer stay here was a Luxury Escapes special deal so I can't really comment on pricing. The hotel purports to be four star quality (self rated). It's comfortable and well maintained and the staff were pleasant, helpful and responsive. Our room, a King Double, similarly was comfortable, and quite well furnished, albeit a bit crowded because of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way from Sydney to Orbost in Victoria. We had a terrace room looking up to the mountains, all excellent. Had a fabulous walk and enjoyed watching mountain bikers riding down the tracks from the top. One ski lift was open but we didn't go up as it was windy. Strongly recommend Thredbo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your mountain view. I agree completely that Thredbo is a great place in Summer. Have to see the view from the top next time you visit. Kind Regards, TAH More 

Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights and had a pleasant stay but the place really needs a update. The tartan and wood which did give a mountain lodge feel also made the place look very dated. Good things - comfortable bed, hotel great location close to everything, reception areas have plenty of room to relax and use wifi in, spa and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bethany P, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location and breakfast. Sorry for any inconvenience but due to the time of year the restaurant offerings can be slim during the week. We hope to see you again soon! TAH More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked direct from Rydges website, we expected that this hotel was operated by Rydges. However, upon arriving at Thredbo village, the absence of Rydges hotel directional signs was an omen. It seems that Rydges does not manage this property. The hotel restaurant was closed except for a buffet breakfast, and we learnt that in the days leading up to Christmas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, which our guests expect. You are correct we are... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night at TAH as part of a long road trip. We arrived after a 8 hour drive, tired and looking forward to a shower and a bit of rest. Unfortunately, reception was rather abrupt and chilly, which was very disappointing. Not the best start to our stay. We took our key and dragged our heavy bags up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bethany P, Front Office Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. The issues you have addressed will be brought up with our Front Office staff. We truly apologise for any inconvenience. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you... More 

Narrabundah
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While I did not stay in the hotel we had a very pleasant drive up from Jindabyne and then a memorial walk around the village before going into lunch in the Kosciuszko Room. We were very surprised by the high quality and variety of the foods on offer. It was a select your own arrangement with a very large range... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to celebrate Christmas Lunch with our hotel. Your comments have been passed onto our Executive Chef Kane Stamp. Look forward to serving you again soon. Kind Regards, TAH More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Lashed out and got a balcony room at the front with mountain and ski-slope views. Terrific 1960s-style ski resort decor - all pale wood, tub chairs, checks and tartans. Coffee plunger and small packet of ground coffee a nice touch. Bathroom dated but roomy enough and well-designed. Walls thin though, and unfortunately not James Bond in the St Moritz suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bethany P, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Sorry for any inconvenience resulted by the bridal party, the off season is rather popular for weddings also. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Thredbo Alpine Hotel Best Regards, TAH More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

You need to realize that nothing in Thredbo is cheap, at any time of the year, however there is a variety of accommodation and it does vary in dollar value and quality. I have stayed in three places in Thredbo over the years and this place is in my view the best value for money I have stayed at. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bethany P, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

**Please note this review if for the THREDBO ALPINE APARTMENTS Dear Guest Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Thredbo Alpine Apartments. We hope to see you again soon! TAH More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We stayed during the October long weekend and had a fantastic time. The golf course was superb (the beautiful weather that weekend really helped); the band at the pool bar was great entertainment; the reception staff were generally friendly (although sometimes hard to flag down when in their back-room); and the buffet breakfast every morning was truly impressive (I LOVED... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our facilities and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one. The lovely staff member is Wiki from Cascades, a valued part of our team. Also for future reference we have moved the computer to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay