We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sir Francis Drake Inn

2259 Pacific Highway | Heatherbrae, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sir Francis Drake Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    24
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
22
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

About 14km from Newcastle Airport - there are closer and better options if you are catching an early flight). In the 80's was very upmarket when new. Now a little tired and frumpy. Staff were 'mechanical' rather than enthusiastic; room was clean but basic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thedrake2324, Reception at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bevan , Thankyou for taking the time to review our motel . We are glad that you liked the size and cleanliness of our rooms , However i am sorry to hear that our staff was not up to par and our motel being around 10-15 minutes drive from the airport and central location to Newcastle , Maitland and... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi we are staying in your hotel this weekend room 10 and I'm very disappointed with the how cold the rooms are and the bed wow so un comfortable that I couldn't sleep at all last night and we were highly recommended to stay here as we are from Sydney and I'm not happy with the bed at all I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thedrake2324, Manager at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir I am responding to your email with a great deal of disappointment regarding your review. Sir Francis Drake prides itself on customer service. I feel in your case this was also provided. Sir your stay was for 2 nights. On the first night you had made a complaint about the bed and the heating. In response to your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Port Stephens hotels

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

A great place to stop right next to the freeway link road in Motto Farm on the north section of the Newcastle bypass. Lovely clean and quiet rooms and reasonable pricing. We stayed in the family room which even had a spa bath! Great beds and a quiet place to sleep!

Was this review helpful? Yes
thedrake2324, Reception at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest . I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel . We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can . If your traveling to our area again soon don't hesitate to call us . More 

Beaumont Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We did a one night stay on our way north and found its very old and very tired. $130 for the night was considering the condition of the room was expensive Ordered some soup from room service after inquiring as to its providence Being assured it was "Home Made" we ordered 2 x Large Portions. It arrive all slopped over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thedrake2324, Reception at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback . I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to par . Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff . Despite this we hope to be able to welcome you back . More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

The motel was obviously a child of the eighties but is well maintained and always clean - we've stayed here plenty of times and always been satisfied with the value for money. Close to the highway but no road noise and they include a fantastic continental breakfast,

Was this review helpful? Yes
thedrake2324, Reception at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest . Thankyou for staying with us again. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our motel and our staff. Rest assured that we do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty . More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We booked Sir Francis Drake for 4 nights as we were attending a wedding there and having a holiday as well. The accommodation was very clean and tidy and the beds were extremely comfortable. The rooms are serviced daily so it was nice to have a clean towel each day. The room was spacious and centrally located to drive around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thedrake2324, Reception at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest . Thank you for you positive comments . I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us ! I hope your next stay is just around the corner . Call us if there is anything we can help you with . More 

bowral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

It is what it is - a place to stop driving and sleep. Resteraunt was actually quite good but the carpark needed more lights. Surprisingly there was little traffic noise. Price was a bit steep for the quality of room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thedrake2324, Reception at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest . I appreciate your feedback about our motel . We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can . If your traveling to our area again soon , don't hesitate to call us . More 

canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Breaking the trip from Yamba to Canberra and picked here for an over night stop over Large spacious room with views to the pool area. Very clean room with a jug and toaster to allow us to make a cuppa and have toast for breakfast in the morning. A microwave would of been handy in the room also. Disappointing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thedrake2324, Reception at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Traveler . Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your stay with us . I am very happy to hear that our staff made you feel at home . This is really one of the things that we try to maintain in our motel. Hoping to see you again soon . More 

Seymour
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Travellers usually give a wide berth to hotels located on main highways. In this case, there is no need to worry about traffic noise. The rooms are large, and well appointed. Access from your car is by the "back' door, with the "front" door leading into the large central courtyard which has lawn, gardens and pool. The rooms at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thedrake2324, Reception at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest . Thank you for your positive comments . I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us ! I hope your next stay is just around the corner . Call us if there is anything we can help you with . More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

The motel is very clean. It has pretty big rooms which are all brick to which filters the noise from the busy highway. Ideally located for a stopover with service centers located across the road. I have stayed here many times and I haven't found a reason not to keep returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thedrake2324, Reception at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review

I am Delighted to hear that we have been part of so many journeys that you've taken . I hope that you will stay with us several times more on your next trips . Our staff are always ready to welcome you . Thank you for you loyalty and trust . More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Stephens
2.0 mi away
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
16.8 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 2 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
20.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
#3 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Peaceful Palms B&B
Peaceful Palms B&B
#1 of 2 in Raymond Terrace
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay