We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Port Stephens accommodations

BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens

2 Oyster Farm Road | Lemon Tree Passage, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2319, Australia (Formerly Discovery Holiday Parks Port Stephens)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens to your Saves list
BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jimilsleynsw Gulgong, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (40)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulgong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 1st week of July. Check in was fast,very friendly and helpfully staff. Stayed in a bush land villa which was a good size very clean and everything provided. Been right on the water is great. My kids loved the jumping pillow and tennis and plenty of room to ride there bikes. This is a great spot, Coles and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We arrived to beautiful weather and a wonderful location right on the waterfront. We had 2 weeks there in a camper on a powered site with an en suite. Staff were friendly and always accommodating, our friends called in and stayed for a couple of days in a cabin and were equally impressed. A must do location. Marty n Jan

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonia M, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback Marty and Jan, we loved having you here again and hope to see you soon. More

Suffolk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

i'd tried to book a night at Koala Shores from the UK without any luck due to date we wanted to stay 28th Dec 2013 being fully booked as were all of the other nearby parks in this area due to Christmas holidays. We decided to see if we could get a stand for our motorhome on the day as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonia M, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens, responded to this review

Dear Beachlover Suffolk, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that we were able to find a site for you over this period. We do try our best to keep the facilities in great shape. We are very proud of our staff and the service they offer. We hope to see again soon. More

2 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We camped at Big4 Koala Shores, Port Stephens. Upon first inspection the facilities seemed fine, the bathrooms we're clean and the kitchen was well equipped. However, we experienced a very unfortunate incident in which our phone and two chargers were stolen from the kitchen while we were sitting 5 metres away. Throughout the whole process of attempting to recover the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
Sonia M, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens, responded to this review

Hi Talz J, thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed that your experience was not the best. Unfortunately not all people are as honest as we would like and leaving a phone unattended in a public area is a temptation too much for some. We thought we did go out of our way to assist the situation and try... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

When charging for water view no one tells you the tents and camping area block any water view and are very close to cabins. The pool was dirty and not filtered properly. You need to spend half a day reading all rules and extra charges. Any day visitor is charged for. The prices charged should cover at least some water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
Sonia M, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens, responded to this review

Dear Iterrybaby, Thank you for your feedback, our cabins are set back on the hill of the property to capture the views, the campers add a great deal of atmosphere to the property. Our rules are set to ensure a safe, enjoyable stay for everyone and we do not believe these to be too cumbersome or restrictive - we have... More

Dubbo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in a cabin for ten days. Our cabin was pristine upon arrival and all information was ready at reception to allow a smooth book in. During our stay we noted how clean the park was as a whole and the friendliness of all staff. The facilities were in great condition and there were activities for kids! A great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonia M, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens, responded to this review

Dear Munklet, Thank you so much for your feedback we do take pride in presenting the park to help ensure a great experience for everyone – we hope to see you here again soon. More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hi All, My wife and I have just returned from Koala Shores and we loved every minute of this stay. We booked a powered camp site with an en-suite. Situated close to the waters edge and near to the boat ramp. The staff are friendly and helpful. The amenities are well kept, including the Pool and community cooking areas. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonia M, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens, responded to this review

Hi Marty and Jan Thank you for your great feedback we love seeing you here and look forward to you coming back. More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Accommodation - Sup.Bushland Villa Arrival date - 30/11/2013 Departure date - 3/12/2013 Family of 4 Quoted Tariff - $585.00 I'm very disappointed, on the first night I found a cockroaches in my bed, And a massive spider on the window inside the cabin on the next day! The BBQ’s and Pizza ovens wasn't working and all the activities in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 27
Sonia M, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens, responded to this review

Dear Camiladob, Thanks for your feedback we are very disappointed that you had this experience with us. We take great pride in the presentation of your cabins and the entire property. We are however in the bush and do get bugs and spiders. We are surprised with your comments about our staff as we have a pretty friendly group that... More

Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Koala Shores BIG4. First impression was good and there were hardly any guest. We booked and paid those two nights upfront and got a campsite right opposite of the amenities (that's what we wanted!) assigned. There were friendly resident "neighbors" just two sites away to whom I briefly talked the first night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 45
Sonia M, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens, responded to this review

Dear Tanja F, Wow thanks for all that, our staff thought they were doing the right thing and protecting your property as they were unaware how long you were going to be. We thought we had resolved this issue while you were on site. We do apologise for the misunderstanding and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. More

Central Coast
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This park is magic for the family. We camped here and took advantage of the en suite available to one of the sites. This is a beautiful part of the country and the amenities available in this particular holiday park are outstanding. The only damper on the weekend were the inconsiderate large group that choose to let their children run... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonia M, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens, responded to this review

Dear Borntotravel15, Thanks for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay mostly. We do sometimes get groups in the park, please call us and will advise you if there are any there for your next stay. We hope to see you again soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens

Address: 2 Oyster Farm Road | Lemon Tree Passage, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2319, Australia (Formerly Discovery Holiday Parks Port Stephens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Koala Shores Holiday Parks Port Stephens South Pacific - Australia

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)

Amenities

Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located almost halfway between Newcastle and Nelson Bay at Koala Shores is a waterfront holiday destination surrounded by stunning bushland. A great base to explore the many nearby attractions. Select from a wide range of luxury villas and cabins, there is also a variety of powered, unpowered, en-suite and waterfront sites for caravans and camping. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer