We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
off Kosciuszko Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chalet Sonnenhof to your Saves list
Chalet Sonnenhof
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
88%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Josh s
  • Overview
  • Reviews (18)
  • Photos (7)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • More
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the chalet for 2 nights. I was very happy with the service, from getting bags picked up and dropped off, friendly wait staff and pleasant owners. The food is fantastic (maybe slightly small main, but I am a 100 kg male). The room was fairly basic but I was here to ski not sit in my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The most friendly homely staff. AMAZING food! Great views! You can ski down to the lifts straight from the door!! At the end of a big day skiing the over snow picks you up from the bottom of the lifts gives you a free ride back to the chalet (which is only about 200 metres away)! To spend the afternoon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was my 1st visit to The Hof and my husbands 4th. We would & will stay again if not this season then next. We spent 4 nights in July 2014 just after the big 2m dump and it was fantastic. The location is great. Easy to ski down to the quad chair and pick up is from the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I do appreciate your input. We all work so hard to make our guests feel at home, so its so good to be appreciated. Hope you come and stay with us again next year. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Chalet Sonnenhof - we learnt the hard way but now understand why its known as Chalet 'On but more Off' was awful. A VERY EXPENSIVE disappointing exercise. Poorly managed with little evidence of any maintenance. Everything extremely tired from the carpet to the furnishings and 'decore'.Living area needs to be given more regular tidy up and provide more wood for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I know who you are and did try to meet your every demand. Some were impossible, so, for that I'm sorry. I suggest next ski holiday, try to get out more and maybe even try skiing , it can be fun. Your husband and sons seem to be enjoying themselves. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Highly recommend Sonnenhof for a on-moutain stay. Family run, plus great staff. Finish your day of skiing with a drink in the pub, followed by an excellent home cooked three course dinner. And then put your feet up in front of the fireplace in the lounge over a glass of red.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place is WAY overpriced and over rated! the service is poor the food is like prison food(they tell you what to eat)and it looks nothing like what's on their web site, false advertising( a mouth watering steak) the spa is never open the owners husband needs a personality change. I will never ever stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

I'm sorry you feel this way, and I don't understand why you didn't mention any of this "if " you did in fact stay here. We have had many guests stay here this season and haven't had any complaints about the food, only compliments. The spa has operated every scheduled day this winter. We can not understand why anybody would... More

Scone, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, rooms were basic but clean & warm, we didn't spend much time there anyway! restaurant was good, mealtime didn't offer many options but it was delicious. Bar was good, had games & cards for us to play + pool table. The owners & staff are lovely people. Nev picked us up from the ski... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just got back from a week's stay at Sonnenhof and can't wait for next time! I don't even know where to start - everything was great. The chalet has a bit of a European feel and the people who own and work there are all so lovely. The food was absolutely amazing every single night - exactly what we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oatlands, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family of 6 recently stayed in the Chalet. We booked a family room that includes breakfast and dinner. When we arrived, Karen offered us an extra room for the children complimentary! The staff are very friendly and helpful. It was also my husband's birthday the week we stayed and I requested the chef to bake a chocolate cake for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My partner and I went to Perisher over the long weekend for one night only. We did not have accommodation arranged prior. We booked this accommodation on the day we wanted to stay and were offered a special price of $99 per person with hot breakfast included. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't require anything other than a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chalet Sonnenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chalet Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Sonnenhof

Address: off Kosciuszko Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Perisher Valley with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Sonnenhof staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer