We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
off Kosciuszko Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (16)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • More
Chalet Sonnenhof
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my 1st visit to The Hof and my husbands 4th. We would & will stay again if not this season then next. We spent 4 nights in July 2014 just after the big 2m dump and it was fantastic. The location is great. Easy to ski down to the quad chair and pick up is from the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I do appreciate your input. We all work so hard to make our guests feel at home, so its so good to be appreciated. Hope you come and stay with us again next year. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chalet Sonnenhof - we learnt the hard way but now understand why its known as Chalet 'On but more Off' was awful. A VERY EXPENSIVE disappointing exercise. Poorly managed with little evidence of any maintenance. Everything extremely tired from the carpet to the furnishings and 'decore'.Living area needs to be given more regular tidy up and provide more wood for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I know who you are and did try to meet your every demand. Some were impossible, so, for that I'm sorry. I suggest next ski holiday, try to get out more and maybe even try skiing , it can be fun. Your husband and sons seem to be enjoying themselves. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Highly recommend Sonnenhof for a on-moutain stay. Family run, plus great staff. Finish your day of skiing with a drink in the pub, followed by an excellent home cooked three course dinner. And then put your feet up in front of the fireplace in the lounge over a glass of red.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place is WAY overpriced and over rated! the service is poor the food is like prison food(they tell you what to eat)and it looks nothing like what's on their web site, false advertising( a mouth watering steak) the spa is never open the owners husband needs a personality change. I will never ever stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

I'm sorry you feel this way, and I don't understand why you didn't mention any of this "if " you did in fact stay here. We have had many guests stay here this season and haven't had any complaints about the food, only compliments. The spa has operated every scheduled day this winter. We can not understand why anybody would... More

Scone, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, rooms were basic but clean & warm, we didn't spend much time there anyway! restaurant was good, mealtime didn't offer many options but it was delicious. Bar was good, had games & cards for us to play + pool table. The owners & staff are lovely people. Nev picked us up from the ski... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just got back from a week's stay at Sonnenhof and can't wait for next time! I don't even know where to start - everything was great. The chalet has a bit of a European feel and the people who own and work there are all so lovely. The food was absolutely amazing every single night - exactly what we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oatlands, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family of 6 recently stayed in the Chalet. We booked a family room that includes breakfast and dinner. When we arrived, Karen offered us an extra room for the children complimentary! The staff are very friendly and helpful. It was also my husband's birthday the week we stayed and I requested the chef to bake a chocolate cake for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My partner and I went to Perisher over the long weekend for one night only. We did not have accommodation arranged prior. We booked this accommodation on the day we wanted to stay and were offered a special price of $99 per person with hot breakfast included. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't require anything other than a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a 3 night stay mid week and it was perfect. The hosts were friendly, the food was amazing especially the crackling on our entree. We loved it so much that bowls of extra crackling were put on the tables. The views from the room and dining room were stunning. We were lucky we could ski straight from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent our skiing holiday at Sonnenhof this year and were very impressed. The room was a good size and the view from our window was spectacular. The food was excellent, although it could have been a little hotter on a few occasions. But the presentation, quality and variety made up for that. The owners, Neville & Karen, and their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chalet Sonnenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chalet Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Sonnenhof

Address: off Kosciuszko Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Chalet Sonnenhof to your Saves list