We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks Lure

20 Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Lure
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks Lure
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    58
    45
    20
    19
See reviews for
48
69
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (168)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for a night for work. Overall wasn't bad. Positives: Decent sized, clean and comfortable room. Nice bathroom. Free parking. Free Wifi. Some Foxtel channels available. 5 min walk from restaurants. Friendly (and cute) reception staff. Negatives: Small, old tv with bad reception. Noise between rooms with inter-connecting door. Queen bed was 2 singles pushed together. No minibar!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What? Only 1 star for a hotel classed as a 4 star rating? How could this be? Let's start with the positives. Nice warm friendly reception. Free parking. New private bathroom. Now for the rest. If you book a room for a couple, don't believe what you see in the photos they show to entice you. They can be deceptive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, I must say what a friendly greeting we got from Elle & Sara on our check-in & they could not do enough to make our stay wonderful. Elle stayed back late on Sunday night to find us a couple more pillows & deliver them to our room. Thank you Elle. When booking we requested a quiet room & our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic post. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us here at Oaks Lure Apartments. Our staff really do work hard to provide the highest level of customer service and are so pleased to hear your positive feedback. Its great that you had the opportunity to use the apartment facilities... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed in a one bedroom bay view on the top floor. The room was clean and tidy and a good size. The shower leaked a bit of water but it wasn't too bad. Bed was comfortable but take your own pillow. The lounge area could do with some block out curtains and there is no privacy on your balcony.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thankyou for proving your valued feedback with regard to your stay with us. It is pleasing to know that your found your apartment clean and comfortable during your stay. The Bayview room types certainly do have lovely views from the balcony. I regret that we were unable to provide you with a refund for your early departure, unfortunately you had... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first room was so dusty and the cupboard was broken to the point the door was just sat infront of the cupboard. Complained to staff and she was so lovely and moved us.. New room... Furniture and tv was so outdated, with the tv screen way too zoomed in so that when watching footy you have no idea about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your post on your recent stay with us here at Oaks Lure Apartments. Whilst it is disappointing to know you found your first room inadequate I am pleased to know we were able to rectify this for your with staff addressing any issues you had. Most of our rooms do have brand new flat screen TV's... More 

Greater Newcastle, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The reception was sunny and cheerful , until you had a concern or complaint. Our room had no blackout curtains only the flimsy see thru ones . Other rooms on our floor had blackout curtains with their louvers, I explained to reception that I did not want to be woken at sunrise and that our room was missing an essential... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

The team at Oaks Lure would like to thank you for your feedback. All staff strive to offer the highest of customer service to all of our guests and will always endeavour to rectify any issues our guests may experience during their stay. We will always strive to address all issues with guests in a professional and timely manner and... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Love the Oaks! Perfect for value and close to everything.. Lovely clean and modern rooms. We did stay quite a while ago but the Oaks has a class of it's own with good value and prime position. The pool is great

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of staying with us at Oaks Lure Apartments. What great comments to hear back from you. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us and hope to have you visit with us again soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Have stayed several times at “the Lure” and each time pleasant enough. Rooms are adequate, make sure you ask for upper rooms with view. All rooms clean & tidy. We (4 of us) always ask for the dual key rooms, 2 rooms, 1 with good sized kitchen, dining and sitting area, the other just a bedroom and bathroom. Had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us again during your recent visit to Nelson Bay. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. It is great to know that once again you enjoyed your stay with us and found your apartment clean and suitable to your needs. Sometimes maintenance issues do... More 

Hornsby, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

My partner and I stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment for 4 nights (midweek). Staff in reception were so welcoming and bubbly. The room was clean with a good layout, bathroom was clean however we had an issue with the shower grate filling up and flooding the bathroom, having said that we notified reception the next morning and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback. It is so pleasing to hear that your experience with us was so positive and all your needs were met. Our staff do work very hard to provide the highest level of customer service and will be very happy to receive your lovely comments. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Spent one night in the hotel part of the property. Room was located on the 2nd floor which was easily accessible by stairs or lift. Room was very basic with little furniture, small tv and no chairs so sitting on the bed was the only option. Considering the price of more than $250.00 we were a bit surprised to discover... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It would be wonderful if you could contact us direct with regard to your comments as certain aspects of your review do not sound consistent with our property. We would like to have the opportunity to discuss these points with you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question