We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks Lure

20 Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Lure
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks Lure
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    27
    60
    45
    20
    19
See reviews for
48
71
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (171)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very comfortable, clean, modern accommodation. Undercover safe secure parking. Lift. Garden setting on the balcony so we were able to have breakfast overlooking very pretty garden. Short stroll to beach and shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and accommodation whilst visiting our lovely property. Its always great when our guests have time to enjoy our facilities and the surrounds of our tranquil garden setting. We... More 

Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Stayed here for four nights. Room was a one bedroom but was roomy and clean. Had cooking facilities. Bathrooms also very spacious and clean. Carpet was a bit worn but comfy bed and homey. Has secure undercover parking. Has internal lifts for easy luggage movement. Close walk to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with Oaks Lure Apartments on your recent visit to Nelson Bay. We are very pleased to hear that you found your room at a high standard with everything you needed for an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comments with regard to our front office team. Staff do strive to... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The Oaks Lure is a modern facility with modern clean room, secure undercover parking, and a solar heated lap pool. The hotel is not far from the centre of Nelson Bay and easy to find. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Late night check in is by a night drop box.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback. It is lovely to hear you found your room to be comfortable and spacious and that you enjoyed your stay with us and our handy location and proximity to Nelson Bays town centre. We hope to have the opportunity... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Stayed for a night for work. Overall wasn't bad. Positives: Decent sized, clean and comfortable room. Nice bathroom. Free parking. Free Wifi. Some Foxtel channels available. 5 min walk from restaurants. Friendly (and cute) reception staff. Negatives: Small, old tv with bad reception. Noise between rooms with inter-connecting door. Queen bed was 2 singles pushed together. No minibar!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with Oaks Lure Apartments during your recent visit to Nelson Bay. We appreciate your post and providing us with feedback. I am pleased to see that your experience with us was a positive one and that you enjoyed your nights stay. I do understand that your TV was not an upgraded unit, this is... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

What? Only 1 star for a hotel classed as a 4 star rating? How could this be? Let's start with the positives. Nice warm friendly reception. Free parking. New private bathroom. Now for the rest. If you book a room for a couple, don't believe what you see in the photos they show to entice you. They can be deceptive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review for your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure. I am happy to know that our staff were able to address all of your issues promptly during your stay and that you left our property having a wonderful happy time. I am so pleased to know that you intend to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Firstly, I must say what a friendly greeting we got from Elle & Sara on our check-in & they could not do enough to make our stay wonderful. Elle stayed back late on Sunday night to find us a couple more pillows & deliver them to our room. Thank you Elle. When booking we requested a quiet room & our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic post. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us here at Oaks Lure Apartments. Our staff really do work hard to provide the highest level of customer service and are so pleased to hear your positive feedback. Its great that you had the opportunity to use the apartment facilities... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

we stayed in a one bedroom bay view on the top floor. The room was clean and tidy and a good size. The shower leaked a bit of water but it wasn't too bad. Bed was comfortable but take your own pillow. The lounge area could do with some block out curtains and there is no privacy on your balcony.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thankyou for proving your valued feedback with regard to your stay with us. It is pleasing to know that your found your apartment clean and comfortable during your stay. The Bayview room types certainly do have lovely views from the balcony. I regret that we were unable to provide you with a refund for your early departure, unfortunately you had... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Our first room was so dusty and the cupboard was broken to the point the door was just sat infront of the cupboard. Complained to staff and she was so lovely and moved us.. New room... Furniture and tv was so outdated, with the tv screen way too zoomed in so that when watching footy you have no idea about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your post on your recent stay with us here at Oaks Lure Apartments. Whilst it is disappointing to know you found your first room inadequate I am pleased to know we were able to rectify this for your with staff addressing any issues you had. Most of our rooms do have brand new flat screen TV's... More 

Greater Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

The reception was sunny and cheerful , until you had a concern or complaint. Our room had no blackout curtains only the flimsy see thru ones . Other rooms on our floor had blackout curtains with their louvers, I explained to reception that I did not want to be woken at sunrise and that our room was missing an essential... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

The team at Oaks Lure would like to thank you for your feedback. All staff strive to offer the highest of customer service to all of our guests and will always endeavour to rectify any issues our guests may experience during their stay. We will always strive to address all issues with guests in a professional and timely manner and... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

Love the Oaks! Perfect for value and close to everything.. Lovely clean and modern rooms. We did stay quite a while ago but the Oaks has a class of it's own with good value and prime position. The pool is great

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of staying with us at Oaks Lure Apartments. What great comments to hear back from you. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us and hope to have you visit with us again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay