We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks Lure

20 Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Lure
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks Lure
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    60
    47
    20
    19
See reviews for
48
72
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (173)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I understand the 'unserviced' deal for not making beds, not changing towels, not replenishing tea/coffee, etc. What I do not understand is not having a spare toilet roll in the bathroom. Amongst the paperwork given to us on arrival was a list to purchase additional items for the room. Toilet paper $1.50. It was not the price, it was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. We do appreciate your comments with regard to our front office staff, they really do work hard to ensure they provide the highest quality customer service. Please be assured that our staff would have been more than happy to assist you during... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay at the Oaks Lure was on a business trip and I was presently surprised. A one bedroom apartment ( extremely large rooms). Kitchen facilities, very comfortable bedding ,underground secure parking and a pool within the grounds. I would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent post regarding your stay with Oaks Lure Apartments. It is wonderful to hear that you found your accommodation spacious and comfortable. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your visit with us. We really look forward to welcoming you back again when you next visit Nelson Bay. More 

Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Very comfortable, clean, modern accommodation. Undercover safe secure parking. Lift. Garden setting on the balcony so we were able to have breakfast overlooking very pretty garden. Short stroll to beach and shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and accommodation whilst visiting our lovely property. Its always great when our guests have time to enjoy our facilities and the surrounds of our tranquil garden setting. We... More 

Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Stayed here for four nights. Room was a one bedroom but was roomy and clean. Had cooking facilities. Bathrooms also very spacious and clean. Carpet was a bit worn but comfy bed and homey. Has secure undercover parking. Has internal lifts for easy luggage movement. Close walk to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with Oaks Lure Apartments on your recent visit to Nelson Bay. We are very pleased to hear that you found your room at a high standard with everything you needed for an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comments with regard to our front office team. Staff do strive to... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The Oaks Lure is a modern facility with modern clean room, secure undercover parking, and a solar heated lap pool. The hotel is not far from the centre of Nelson Bay and easy to find. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Late night check in is by a night drop box.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback. It is lovely to hear you found your room to be comfortable and spacious and that you enjoyed your stay with us and our handy location and proximity to Nelson Bays town centre. We hope to have the opportunity... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Stayed for a night for work. Overall wasn't bad. Positives: Decent sized, clean and comfortable room. Nice bathroom. Free parking. Free Wifi. Some Foxtel channels available. 5 min walk from restaurants. Friendly (and cute) reception staff. Negatives: Small, old tv with bad reception. Noise between rooms with inter-connecting door. Queen bed was 2 singles pushed together. No minibar!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with Oaks Lure Apartments during your recent visit to Nelson Bay. We appreciate your post and providing us with feedback. I am pleased to see that your experience with us was a positive one and that you enjoyed your nights stay. I do understand that your TV was not an upgraded unit, this is... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

What? Only 1 star for a hotel classed as a 4 star rating? How could this be? Let's start with the positives. Nice warm friendly reception. Free parking. New private bathroom. Now for the rest. If you book a room for a couple, don't believe what you see in the photos they show to entice you. They can be deceptive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review for your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure. I am happy to know that our staff were able to address all of your issues promptly during your stay and that you left our property having a wonderful happy time. I am so pleased to know that you intend to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Firstly, I must say what a friendly greeting we got from Elle & Sara on our check-in & they could not do enough to make our stay wonderful. Elle stayed back late on Sunday night to find us a couple more pillows & deliver them to our room. Thank you Elle. When booking we requested a quiet room & our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic post. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us here at Oaks Lure Apartments. Our staff really do work hard to provide the highest level of customer service and are so pleased to hear your positive feedback. Its great that you had the opportunity to use the apartment facilities... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

we stayed in a one bedroom bay view on the top floor. The room was clean and tidy and a good size. The shower leaked a bit of water but it wasn't too bad. Bed was comfortable but take your own pillow. The lounge area could do with some block out curtains and there is no privacy on your balcony.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thankyou for proving your valued feedback with regard to your stay with us. It is pleasing to know that your found your apartment clean and comfortable during your stay. The Bayview room types certainly do have lovely views from the balcony. I regret that we were unable to provide you with a refund for your early departure, unfortunately you had... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Our first room was so dusty and the cupboard was broken to the point the door was just sat infront of the cupboard. Complained to staff and she was so lovely and moved us.. New room... Furniture and tv was so outdated, with the tv screen way too zoomed in so that when watching footy you have no idea about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your post on your recent stay with us here at Oaks Lure Apartments. Whilst it is disappointing to know you found your first room inadequate I am pleased to know we were able to rectify this for your with staff addressing any issues you had. Most of our rooms do have brand new flat screen TV's... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#5 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#10 of 15 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 15 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay