We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Murwillumbah

Certificate of Excellence
17 Byangum Road, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia (Formerly Murwillumbah Motor Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    37
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
26
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Handy Motel, but the rooms still need updating. Bathrooms are old and dated. Our room had a new lounge and a table and chair put up against one wall. TV is in between both the bed and the lounge, so its not straight on to either for watching. They offer breakfasts, but the room has no where to sit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here whilst in town for a funeral the staff were lovely and very accomadating, Colleen was wonderful and surprised me with a bouquet of flowers upon arriving back to the motel. all staff were so wonderful and caring. The motel was very clean and comfortable!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

If you stay here and pay cash, make sure you ask for and receive a receipt! My wife and I stayed here recently and paid cash on booking in. We were asked “do you need a tax invoice”. We had no “need” for a tax invoice and said “no thanks”. Big mistake! Due to their incompetence in not correctly recording... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Colleen B, Manager at Econo Lodge Murwillumbah, responded to this review

I have triple checked the accounts and have no record of payment . I checked with the guest who paid cash on that day and they had their "receipt" that was given to them on check in. As advised by both phone and email conversations I did not pursue that matter as you stated you had paid. Sorry this has... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We chose to stay at this hotel for it's budget room. It was neat, tidy and clean and well worth the cost. The staff were very helpful and gave us a late checkout included in the price What more could you ask!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen B, Manager at Econo Lodge Murwillumbah, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope if your in the area again you will stay again. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Clean and comfortable, easy access and very friendly staff at reception desk. This place is close to the main area of Murwillumbah and within easy walking distance from a large park just down the road. We stayed here one night while exploring parts of northern NSW during the day. There is a large BBQ area downstairs and a swimmingpool on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen B, Manager at Econo Lodge Murwillumbah, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words .It was lovely have you stay with us. More 

Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

If you're looking for accommodation that has exceptional customer service, than look no further. When we arrived for our stay we were greeted by an extremely pleasant and courteous lady (the owner's sister). She confirmed our needs before checking us in efficiently and making us feel very welcome. She even offered to make us each a latte and bring it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen B, Manager at Econo Lodge Murwillumbah, responded to this review

Thank you. It was great having you both here .Hope to see you again!! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in 2 bedroom. Really disappointed! The main bedroom smelt like stale cigarettes and some weird musty smell. There was a man sitting above us on a balcony chain smoking and ashing on our doorstep which I found absolutely disgusting. The 2nd bedroom had no windows..no lamps. Both bathrooms were outdated and tiny! I've stayed previously in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colleen B, Manager at Econo Lodge Murwillumbah, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. More 

San Jose
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We chose Murwillumbah as a base due to its location near national parks and various local towns, and because it was a reasonably-sized town with restaurant options. It turned out to be a nice little town, very walkable, with friendly people. We weren't planning to spend much time at the hotel, so all we really needed was a clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne B, Manager at Econo Lodge Murwillumbah, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I read through the reviews before I booked this place and I was a bit worried with that I read however I was pleasantly surprised. We were welcomed warmly and they had a bit of trouble with finding our booking (as we had booked that morning), however everything was sorted out rather efficiently. The rooms were nice and very spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murwillumbah, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Great stay here over 4 days sheltering from Cyclone Marcia event. Staff super kind and efficient and uncomplainingly attended to my frequent calls for their good espresso coffee . Everything clean, neat comfy. Loved waking to view from bed of dramatic Mt.Warning when it finally emerged from clouds. The motel is well-sited close to town in a quiet street and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murwillumbah
6.0 mi away
Hillcrest Retreat
Hillcrest Retreat
#1 of 9 in Murwillumbah
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mt Warning Bed and Breakfast Retreat
2.4 mi away
Tweed River Motel
Tweed River Motel
#6 of 9 in Murwillumbah
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Town Palms Motel
Town Palms Motel
#2 of 2 in Murwillumbah
3.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
5.5 mi away
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
1.3 mi away
Poinciana Motel
Poinciana Motel
#4 of 9 in Murwillumbah
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay