We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Murwillumbah

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
17 Byangum Road, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia (Formerly Murwillumbah Motor Inn)
Special Rate
BOOK HERE. Rate from $120
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
22
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're looking for accommodation that has exceptional customer service, than look no further. When we arrived for our stay we were greeted by an extremely pleasant and courteous lady (the owner's sister). She confirmed our needs before checking us in efficiently and making us feel very welcome. She even offered to make us each a latte and bring it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in 2 bedroom. Really disappointed! The main bedroom smelt like stale cigarettes and some weird musty smell. There was a man sitting above us on a balcony chain smoking and ashing on our doorstep which I found absolutely disgusting. The 2nd bedroom had no windows..no lamps. Both bathrooms were outdated and tiny! I've stayed previously in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen B, Manager at Econo Lodge Murwillumbah, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. More 

San Jose
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We chose Murwillumbah as a base due to its location near national parks and various local towns, and because it was a reasonably-sized town with restaurant options. It turned out to be a nice little town, very walkable, with friendly people. We weren't planning to spend much time at the hotel, so all we really needed was a clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne B, Manager at Econo Lodge Murwillumbah, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I read through the reviews before I booked this place and I was a bit worried with that I read however I was pleasantly surprised. We were welcomed warmly and they had a bit of trouble with finding our booking (as we had booked that morning), however everything was sorted out rather efficiently. The rooms were nice and very spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murwillumbah, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Great stay here over 4 days sheltering from Cyclone Marcia event. Staff super kind and efficient and uncomplainingly attended to my frequent calls for their good espresso coffee . Everything clean, neat comfy. Loved waking to view from bed of dramatic Mt.Warning when it finally emerged from clouds. The motel is well-sited close to town in a quiet street and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingaroy, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Rooms are clean but still need updating. Parts of the rooms have been done but the counters and cupboards and bathroom is still from the 70s. Beds are OK, but only have a quilt as a sheet, which is still too hot for summer sleeping, unless you use the aircon all night. There is undercover parking available for only a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night between Christmas and New Year. Parking available at back of hotel. Room we stayed in had been refurbished and was clean and comfortable. Refurb is mainly soft furnishings, so bathroom is still tired (but clean). Free Mt Warning mineral water much appreciated. Room was a good size, had a sofa, and being high up, benefited from breezes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne B, Manager at Econo Lodge Murwillumbah, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Murwillumbah and look forward to welcoming you again. More 

UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here just for one night luckily unlike previous reviewers we were in a very old room with noisy air con and a bathroom that desperately needed updating. It was cheap but we have stayed in other motels of a similar price but in much better condition.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Banksia Beach, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

This motel is obviously being managed by new owners....hence the change of name and refurbishment of the rooms. We stayed only one night as we were attending a funeral. It is an older motel but it has been nicely renovated by some friendly managers/owners. The room was fresh and welcoming.....very clean and roomy. The rate was moderate. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Plenty of room, friendly helpful owners, comfy bed. Close to town. I had a couple of nights stay and was happy enough that i would definitely return if in the area. Plenty of parking available and nice and quiet. all the usual amenities in the room, fridge, kettle etc. Book with confidence

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities