We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poplars Motel

97-99 Old Hume Highway, Mittagong, New South Wales NSW 2575 , Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poplars Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Poplars Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    21
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
23
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Paul was delightful and very hospitable while we were there. Very child friendly and pleasant Paul was. Good beds with electric blankets and in room heating was awesome. TV was good size. Plenty of towels, face washers were given for our bathroom needs. Shower unfortunately was running out of hot water, but had good pressure. Most disappointing thing was when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Poplars Motel because some friends of ours were getting married in the area and wanted some budget accommodation. Obviously being low-cost we had fairly low expectations of the accommodation, which low as they were, were still not met. The bed was uncomfortable, however what really ruined our experience was the pipes running through the room, which were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul G, Owner at Poplars Motel, responded to this review

Dear Ryan, I am investigating your comment. I don't think you would be refering to our motel. Firstly, we take pride in the comfort of our beds. Secondly, I reviewed our guest feedback notebook where all staff are required to write down guest complains, and there is no record of any guest complaining of pipes running all night. I sent... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mittagong hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

Arrived early evening very tired and ready to sleep shortly after, comfy bed and spacious room but a little noisy from traffic on main road. Ok for a one night stop over. Easy access to room and parking outside the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul G, Owner at Poplars Motel, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Stayed here for a night prior to a business presentation in the area the following morning. The room was fine, a bit dated, but tidy however the air conditioner took about 20 minutes to start working (which was unfortunate because it was freezing!!) I would have contacted someone but there was no one in the office when I arrived. Eventually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights and the room and was very dated & Filthy. There is free WIFI, however we were unable to connect to it. The hotel is situated on a 4 lane HWY and the noise of the road is very loud in the rooms as the doors are glass. We also found the heater in effective and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

The motel is extremely well located to sightsee around the Southern Highlands. The rooms were well set out, however, more attention to cleaning needs to be addressed. On arrival we experienced half used soap left on shower floor, previous guests hair on walls & floor of bathroom, lounge area carpet needed a better vacuum. Having a small kitchenette was ideal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Engadine, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Very clean spacious room. Bed comfortable. It is of the older style of motel, but still is all you need why away. Hosts lovely. Only drawback is its a little out of town so you have to drive for meals etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Our family of four stayed for a quick ovnight stop on a Sunday night. Our check in was easy and friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to find a re furnished room with fresh paint, good heating and comfy beds with electric blankets. The front garden was pleasant and the mentioned road noise not an issue for us. Nice and close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Penrith, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

My husband, myself and grandson stayed there one night recently. The room was generous in size, immaculate and nicely presented.I asked the manager about restaurants delivering food to our room, thinking we had no vehicle, he actually offered to go and get the food from town for us. I was very impressed. The motel is very reasonably priced and gives... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Ryde, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Me and my husband went for a long drive ti visit Berrima on a Good friday and we searched for some cheap motels where we can stay so we found Poplars Motels. as cheap as it was on sale we never expected anything from it but to our surprise upon checking in late at around 1am our room was spotless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul G, Owner at Poplars Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will continue to work hard to please our guests. Hope to see your again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Grand Country Lodge
2.3 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
3.5 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
Peppers Craigieburn
#8 of 9 in Bowral
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
6.0 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
0.4 mi away
Mittagong Motel
Mittagong Motel
#2 of 5 in Mittagong
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay