We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel

Certificate of Excellence
38 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    25
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
29
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean, comfortable motel at a reasonable price with very friendly and helpful staff who were able to advise on dining & sight seeing options. Quiet but handy location, just a short stroll to the shopping centre. Will definitely stay again on next visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our 2nd visit here but this time with new management. The views are great, management are very friendly, the motel was quiet and we had a nice 1 night stopover. Only negative is bathroom downstairs. An easy walk in to town for shopping, cafes or clubs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antoinette P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel, responded to this review

The Executive suite has the bathroom upstairs along with the bedroom. It is only the Deluxe suites that have the bathroom on the entry level. At least all the suites have a great balcony with lovely views which is an ideal location for that evening glass of wine. Always good to welcome back previous guests and we are pleased you... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights and found the Sea Spray to be a quiet comfortable refuge after a long drive and a busy day. It was very convenient with only a short drive to shops and restaurants. The owners were very welcoming and clearly have high expectations of cleanliness which we appreciated. A highlight was the feeding of a flock of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antoinette P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. It is such a joy to hear back from guests that they enjoyed their visit not only to our Motel but also to the town of Merimbula. Travelling in Winter is a great time of the year to see our interesting coastline and avoid the crowds. Usually our... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Stay was great here. We were just transiting through and was great for the night stay. Is a nicer quality than many other hotels in Merimbula. Clean and not too far out of the centre of town, close enough to walk if the day is nice. The room itself was quite spacious and had everything you need; kitchenette, sitting area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antoinette P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel, responded to this review

Hello Jennifer, I appreciate the time taken to respond to your recent stay with us. I also accept your remarks about the noisy Lorikeets, while they are colourful and full of antics it is perhaps not everyone's cup of tea. In the summer there are fewer birds around and they appear a lot later. However, in winter the wet weather... More 

Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I spent the night here last night as I am with my husband on his business trip around the South Coast. We also have our 2 children with us. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Antoinette and then her husband showed us the gorgeous lorikeets before helping us bring the suitcases upstairs. We booked a room that had split... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antoinette P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay with us. Yes, the children certainly enjoyed their interaction with the Lorikeets, the birds are so comical to observe; all the pushing and arguing that goes on!! It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We visited as a last minute booking we found on a Google search and just wow! Customer service at the front desk is very warm and welcoming, she gave us an awesome dinner recommendation too!:) rooms are very clean and modern compared to other places. Breakfast was amazing too as was waking up to the beautiful birds. We will definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antoinette P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel, responded to this review

Thank you both for staying with us and for your very kind review. We have recently replaced most of our furniture and the new pillow-top mattresses make a huge difference to guest comfort. The Lorikeets can be a bit noisy however, it is such a joy to watch their antics and provides a great photo opportunity for local and overseas... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

We checked in on the Saturday of a long weekend. After booking fairly last minute through WotIf we came prepared to cook a brekky with the "kitchenette" alas- there is NO COOKING in the rooms. The kitchenette consists of a sink, kettle, microwave and toaster. So we cooked our eggs and bacon downstairs on the BBQ, which was very clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antoinette P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks on your stay with us. Yes, Merimbula is a great place for walks and there is always something going on. Sorry about the boat taking up so much space at least they were quiet and considerate of other guests. Wi-Fi was working well last weekend so don't know what the issue was. Our Wi-Fi is... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Such a warm and friendly greeting upon arrival. Rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed!! Beds so comfortable Nice outdoor area to sit and enjoy a BBQ if you wish or maybe watch the lorikeets being fed. Will definitely return 5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antoinette P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for your generous comments. Yes out new 5 Star Pillowtop mattresses are the best, so please that you had such a good stay. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Antoinette More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I travel through Merimbula about once a year and have stayed at this motel several times in the past. My experience with the motel had progressively gone down hill over time and I thought twice about booking in on this years trip. I was pleasantly surprised to meet the new owners and am thrilled to say that my experience this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antoinette P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel, responded to this review

Wow!, you are very complimentary. It is gratifying to know that Guests notice the improvements and replacements. Our staff have done an incredible job to improve the presentation in both the rooms and the glorious gardens. We are humbled by your praise and thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Kind regards, Antoinette More 

Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

This is a decent motel and good value for money. Friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean facitilties and rooms. Overall not an extraordinary experience compared to some of the best places we stayed during our Australia trip, but quite good as a stopover place for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antoinette P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Merimbula and along with our hospitality and value for money accommodation. I hope that you have some wonderful memories of your recent trip and had a safe flight home. Kind regards, Antoinette More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#5 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#1 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#2 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Kingfisher Motel
Kingfisher Motel
#7 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay