We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachcomber Lodge

Hotel website
Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Special Offer
Package Deal
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachcomber Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Beachcomber Lodge
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Greater Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place itself is nice and quiet, well laid out and clean. But beware. Lord Howe does have some steep hills and the lodge is on top of one of them. Overall the most unfriendly shop keepers (except the lady at the top shop who has a nice smile) in the world live and work there. Thank goodness for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beachcomber Lodge was the perfect place to spend 9 nights on Lord Howe Island. We stayed in unit 8 which was at the back of the property overlooking an open paddock. The set up was great, clean and with all the facilities to self cater if we needed. Home made biscuits were replenished everyday once eaten. We took the B&B... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

My wife and I have just returned from a week at Beachcomber. We had a great time. We stayed in apartment 2 which was lovely and clean, had everything that we needed and opens onto the very pleasant verandah. If given the chance I would prefer apartment 1, which being on the end has a window in the bedroom looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

We stayed at the Beachcomber Lodge for 7 days with hosts Gary, Una and Therese in February 2015. The lodge is located central to beaches, walks, museum, restaurants, jetty and shops. Loved the friendliness of the locals, other visitors and the peacefulness of the island due to limited number of visitors. Our room was serviced daily and the restaurant at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 958fran2015, Dear Clarry & Frances...Thank you for such a great review, it was our pleasure to have you stay and so glad you enjoyed your time on our beautiful Island, we do hope you get the chance to visit again someday we would love to have you back again to Beachcomber More 

Minehead, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

From Therese meeting us on arrival, we were made to feel very welcome at Beachcomber Lodge. The family couldn't have done more to make our stay happy and relaxed. Unfortunately the weather prevented us taking the boat trip round Ball's Rock in Gary''s boat. Our one-bedroom unit was spacious and comfortable set amid lovely grounds. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review

Dear WAC188, Thank you for giving us such a wonderful review, it was a great pleasure having you stay and glad you enjoyed our little Lodge....sorry that we couldn't get you out on the boat...hope you have the chance to visit again and the weather allows us a boat trip....best wishes More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We stayed at the Beachcomber in very nice self contained accommodation over the Christmas period. This was ideal as we could decide on whether to have our meals in or out. (We had Christmas lunch at Pandanus restaurant - perfect but book early) The bed was very comfortable which is most important to us. We used the outside veranda often... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Brucepilot, thank you for your wonderful review, we are all very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, as a sailor I know you understand the sea and we can only do whatever the weather allows us to do....I do hope you will return someday so we can get the boat trip in....may smooth seas and calm winds always... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We stayed at Beachcomber Lodge mid Novenber as self contained accomodation was our preference on returning to the island after our last visit on our honeymoon was full food package and 33 years later we wanted a different experience.. We started each morning with a coffee under the ancient jacarandas which set a relaxing mood for the day then set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Denise C, Thank you for giving us such an awesome review, and so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us we had a great bunch of people that week ...you all seemed to get along so well we were sad to see you go...thanks also for giving the restaurant a wonderful review ...please don't leave it another 33years... More 

Ocean Grove, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We chose Beachcomber for the price point, room arrangement (needed a bedroom and cooking facilities to help with 1 year old), proximity to Ned's Beach and the fact that they had an attached restaurant and offered breakfast. When you have a 1 year old who is asleep by 6.30 you are very limited on meal options (and normal meal options... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review

Dear GOneExplOring, thank you for your post, I regret you were disappointed that our restaurant wasn't available 4 nights during your stay and that you found meal options limited...travelling with a small baby can be challenging at the best of times ( I have 5 kids) sometimes in isolated areas produce can be hard to get particularly when you depend... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Extremely helpfull staff, left you alone to do your own thing but when needed were very helpful. Terese and Gary were great we could not fault there service and hospitality. They were very flexible and happy to help out with peoples specific needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Darren D, Thank you for giving us a great review, it was great fun to have you stay with us for a week and we are all glad you enjoyed your stay in room one....we try our best to make guests feel at home without getting in the way, also glad you were able to experience our little church,... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Clean, friendly, helpful, relaxed place to stay. Impressed by the way the islanders work together helping one another & guests. e.g The Lodge will book a restaurant, take you there & the restaurant drive you home after your meal. Gary's boat trip to Ball's Pyramid & around the islands is well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valda W Thank you for your great review, we are all very happy you enjoyed your stay at Beachcomber and your experience on LHI, I am thrilled that you had a great time on the boat trip to Balls Pyramid...do hope you can return someday More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question