We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Gundagai hotels

Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant

Save
You added Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant to your Saves list
West St, Gundagai, New South Wales 2722, Australia
Hotel amenities
Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gundagai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gundagai
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
23
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Grovedale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This motel in Gundagai is ideal for a sleep halfway between Geelong and Sydney. The owners are very helpful and caring, the room was good with a larger than usual bathroom. The outdoor pool was very welcome on our arrival after a 7 hour journey. We were most welcomed by the staff member in the breakfast room in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay at many motels and found this one to be one of the best. The room was large spacious well equipped and super clean. I had a great meal in the restaurant where I was made to feel welcome. While I waited for my meal I chatted to the couple at the next table who were also happy with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poets Recall M, Manager at Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments. We value your business and hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quaint place and I liked the poetry theme through out, but could do with a more intense clean. Although the carpet was vacuumed, it smelt strongly of smoke (discovered whilst doing push ups!). In many hundreds of motel stays this is the first one that I have ever not had a seal across the toilet on arrival to show that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poets Recall M, Manager at Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I am amazed the you thought the carpet smelled of smoke because the carpets have just been cleaned and all our rooms are non smoking. People just do not smoke inside these days. I am sorry that you didn't have a piece of paper across your toilet but I am glad that your toilet was so clean you couldn't see... More 

Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Encouraged by some good reviews on this site, we stayed one night en route to Sydney. The room was very musty and dark, though the queen bed was comfortable enough. We went to the dining room full of anticipation - the service was just appalling, with the wine orders confused, the salmon very overdone and the scotch fillet very thin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poets Recall M, Manager at Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had such a poor stay with us. I do wish you had communicated your unhappiness to me whilst you were here. The outcome would have been more positive for us both. We try to always please and we like our guests to leave here happy and satisfied with our motel and restaurant. My breakfast staff... More 

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i recently stayed at this motel for the first time whilst travelling, however my work associates rave about it. they were 100 per cent correct. from the minute you book in you are made most welcome. the rooms are large and spacious and on both occasions, spotlessly clean. the bed was very comfortable and a huge plus, great pressure in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poets Recall M, Manager at Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful and heart warming comments about Poet's Recall Motel and Restaurant. I look forward to greeting on your next stay. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can certainly say, Yes we'll be back! Such a quaint, beautiful motel. We had a ground floor, it was obviously a busy time because I don't think there were many rooms left. We just needed a room for the night while travelling from Hunter Valley back to Melb. Could not have found a better place. Receptionist was a delight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poets Recall M, Manager at Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind and generous words. Our staff at Poets genuinely enjoy caring for our guests and your comments, when read to them this morning , lifted all our spirits. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip through beautiful Gundagai. More 

Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I travel a lot and stay in many country motels. I stayed at Poet's Recall last night and I can only say it's one of the best. The room we stayed in was very elegant with a bath in the ensuite which was a real bonus. The bed was comfortable and water was hot, plenty of it and consistent. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stopped at Gundagai on our way back from the Murray River and we were lucky to find the Poets Recall. Moved by the name we checked in and were not disappointed. What a change from the run of the mill motels with its literary and historical information everywhere. The restaurant was great and we were treated as long lost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poets Recall M, General Manager at Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind and thoughtful comments. We look forward to welcoming you when you are next visiting our beautiful town. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We had the unfortunate experience to break down just outside Gundagai on our recent car trip - then we had the very fortunate experience of staying at Poet's Recall & meeting Alison & Brad. The room was downstairs with a spa as I looked like I needed some distressing. It was extremely clean, the bed was comfortable & everything was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poets Recall M, Manager at Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments. We were pleased to be of some help and look forward to your return in happier times. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

No wifi available and no 24 hour check in despite both things being advertised on their pages. Hotel from 1970s with extremely loud fridge and heater. Sheet and two blankets provided. We were cold in summer so you'd freeze in winter. Room was clean though. Could hear all the traffic from the Hume hwy and was very noisey. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Poets Recall M, General Manager at Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry about the absence of free WiFi that night. Our router chose late Saturday night to end its life and broadcast no more. We could not get its new replacement up and running until Sunday. I also apologise if you found me less than polite when you were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poet's Recall Motel & Restaurant

Address: West St, Gundagai, New South Wales 2722, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gundagai
Number of rooms: 26

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay