We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tuckerbox Motor Inn

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
87 - 97 Mount St | (Cnr Mount & Middle Sts), Gundagai, New South Wales 2722, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Tuckerbox Motor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Second bedroom in 2 bedroom unit very, very small. Had to use chair to put clothes on. Very small window high up on wall. Just make sure you don't suffer from claustrophobia. Unit clean, but did get noise from highway. Found the owner not the friendliest. I pointed out to her the step/s up to the unit door is/are unstable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank redgreen119
Angela V, Owner at Tuckerbox Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi RedGreen119 Firstly, thanks for your review. For the record, you did not stay in our two-room suite. You chose the Deluxe Queen room with small single bedroom. Yes, the bedroom is small, and this is why we describe it both verbally, and on our website, as a small bedroom. Our two-room suite is much larger and the rate is... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

For a roadside motel this ticks all of the boxes, lovely friendly receptionist who hurried out room clean so we could check in early, beautifully clean and tidy and a lovely pool for an evening dip. Very convenient. Highly recommend. We had a family room. It was huge! Spa was great!

Helpful?
Thank Littleprobie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a pleasant motel. Easy to get to, easy to park (big parking and maneuvering area). At first we were worried that we would hear noise from the surrounding streets, however we heard nothing. The units are large and there was a more than the usual amount of surface space to place things on. Given that this is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Extensiblepoint
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here during the week on the way from Sydney to Melbourne. Nice executive room with queen and a single. Room was quite large with sofa. Separate toilet & bathroom. Plenty of parking if you have a trailer. Licensed so you can have a couple of beers or a wine after the drive. Very clean and will certainly stay here... More 

Helpful?
Thank OTB M
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When my husband told me we'd be stopping overnight in Gundagai, I was less than excited and was expecting to be let down by the room we booked... But I was wrong!! There is obviously a lot of care taken in maintaining the grounds, gardens and rooms as they are absolutely spotless!! Not a blade of grass or a hair... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aimee M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The motel is lovely and the owners seem nice however my wife is very allergic to garlic and unfortunately the Owners of the motel don't know what is in their food and declared the Risotto was garlic free. My wife was sick all night because of this so it wasn't a pleasant stay. My suggestion if you have a food... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rambler One
Angela V, Owner at Tuckerbox Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rambler One Firstly, thanks for your comment that the motel is lovely. I sympathise with you regarding your wife’s illness while staying at our motel, however I am confident this was not caused by garlic in our food. The risotto your wife ordered is provided to us by a catering company. The company has been in business for eleven... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight on trip back to Melbourne. We were towing our camper trailer but our travel companions had already booked here and recommended this motel so we decided to not camp as a treat for our last night away. It is right by the freeway, but the rooms are very well sealed, air conditioned and I believe double glazed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DBH000
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This would be the 4 or 5th time we have stayed at this great Motor Inn and we usually plan our regular family road trips around at least a 1 night stay here. We usually choose the family room with a queen and 2 singles which gives us lots of space for a very reasonable price. A lot of thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank EJNZTRIP
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful experience Helpful owners and fantastic rooms spacious and clean quiet considering highway is close with no road noise so good that we split our trip back from Melbourne and stayed the next night on the way home Only downside was the breakfast was too big for both my wife and myself

Helpful?
Thank Glen B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very upset I have two autistic grandchildren they are very intelligent very the boys They are not violent and anyway I like to know who the owners are not the people that run that so complaint in check original owners bad Bad move lady you're just lost out on $2000 dollars for a three day weekend I'm very disgusted not... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Juliean P
Angela V, Owner at Tuckerbox Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Juliean Firstly, we would like to point out that, in your own words, “you're just lost out on $2000 dollars”, you did not stay at our motel, and the implications of your review are grossly inaccurate. Secondly, as your review is so hard to decipher, we will address the heading of your review only: “Not child friendly”. Of our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gundagai
1.3 mi away
Gabriel Motor Inn
Gabriel Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Gundagai
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gundagai Motel
Gundagai Motel
#3 of 7 in Gundagai
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Poet's Recall Motel
Poet's Recall Motel
#4 of 7 in Gundagai
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bushmans Retreat Motel
Bushmans Retreat Motel
#7 of 7 in Gundagai
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Church House B&B
Church House B&B
#1 of 7 in Gundagai
5.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gundagai Cabins & Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay