We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Village Motor Inn

Hotel website
Newell Highway, Gilgandra, New South Wales 2827, Australia
Village Motor Inn
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (8)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

After travelling 12 hours it was definitely time to call it quits for the day. The office is open until 10:30pm (local time). The motor inn is situated on the Dubbo side of Gilgandra and the entrance is right next door to the truck stop. The Motor Inn is called the Village Motor Inn due to the fact that many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I stayed here during my work with grain season. Price was very reasonable per week. My room with ensuite was spacious and kept clean by maids. Claudina was very hospitable and accommodating. I like the bushland environment. Would definitely stay here again. I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beerwah, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Fantastic Motel & freindly service & you are alway given a smile when you walk in the door. we alway stay here when we drive to & from Melbourne as it's half way. It's excellent on it's prices. Right next door to the service station so you can fill up & get food. Everything in the rooms are always very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Bathroom was not very clean the toilet still had poo on the seat and spitballs on the roof. The coffee cups were dirty. The noise of the truck of a night time were very loud. Went to the Resturant for dinner but the chef was not around so had to go into town. The menu looked great just sad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
claudina r, Owner at Village Motor Inn, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. Since we are among the trees we have frogs. Sometimes the frogs get into the toilets and can leave a bit of a mess. If you would have notified management then we could have come and cleaned the toilet straight away. Since we were not notified until the next day... More 

Perth, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We really enjoyed Village Motor Inn, even though at first we were a bit nervous about all of the trees because we were travelling in peak summer, Jan 3rd 2013. However, it was not a problem, there is easy access in and out of the property, a lovely clean swimming pool and the air conditioning worked a treat. The owners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
claudina r, Owner at Village Motor Inn, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you had such a great stay with us. We are very blessed to have such great parents to help while we are on holidays. Wonderful to hear that you like the refurbishments. Look forward to seeing in the future. More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed here twice overnight on trips between places. Pros: This is certainly unique and very charming - clusters of gorgeous little cabins scattered among the trees with a pool nearby. The owners are friendly. The rooms are small but comfortable. Cons: The rooms are a little on the ageing side - the windows are very difficult to open/close,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
claudina r, Owner at Village Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am terribly sorry that you had trouble closing your window, If you would have let us know we would have come to close it for you. I have spoken to our housemaids regarding the cobwebs...they assure me that they will be more mindful. During the dry season there is so much dust around our... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Sounds exactly as it is, "a little village" set back from the highway, very cute cabins. The owners were nice. Stayed in cabin #12 very small but comfortable, the cleaners go a bit overboard with deodarising; the smell was a bit unbearable. The breakfast was great, had a good sound sleep. I'ts the perfect place for kids swimming pool large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
claudina r, Owner at Village Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback regarding the fragrance that we use in the rooms, we have since changed the brands. I have relayed this message on to our house maids. We look forward to seeing you again if you are traveling this way. More 

Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The motel was back from the main road, set in amongst the trees, which makes it nice and quiet, and you hear all the wildlife. I went to the restaurant to have a meal, the food was great. I enjoyed the Mango Chicken, it was so delicious. The room had recently been refurbished, and it looked like it should have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
claudina r, Owner at Village Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. Hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gilgandra hotels
2.8 mi away
Silver Oaks Motel
Silver Oaks Motel
#4 of 4 in Gilgandra
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
2.1 mi away
Orana Windmill Motel
Orana Windmill Motel
#1 of 4 in Gilgandra
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castlereagh Motor Inn
Castlereagh Motor Inn
#3 of 7 in Gilgandra
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gilgandra Motel
Gilgandra Motel
#2 of 4 in Gilgandra
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
2.3 mi away
Three Ways Motel
Three Ways Motel
#3 of 4 in Gilgandra
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alfa Motel
Alfa Motel
#3 of 4 in Gilgandra
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities