We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Byron Bay hotels

Wollongbar Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   19 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Wollongbar Motel to your Saves list
Wollongbar Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
68%
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
carol O Accrington, United Kingdom
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    16
    13
    4
See reviews for
17
38
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 days in August 2014 the rooms are large but very depressing they are mainly breeze block which gives a cell like feel, would be better if walls were plastered & painted a little depressing really. That said the pool & BBQ area are lovely & the private gated path to the beach a plus. However did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Carol. We will remain competitively priced and our location in Byron is often appreciated. Our Motel was built in a colonial style but with ongoing upgrades I'll take your opinion in consideration. Hope to see you again. More

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my third time back at this hotel and each previous visit has been great. But this time we entered our double room to a very off mouldy odour. Thinking it was coming from the bathroom I soon discovered it was the carpet, it was dirty, stained, damp and disgusting. The windows had obviously been left open during a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we were unhappy you didn't enjoy your stay with us this time. As discussed over the phone today we were able to source the cause of the odour to an exterior wall crack in the block mortar. Water had been seeping down within the wall and into the underlay under the carpet. We've since had the... More

Stanthorpe, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Glad we found this at last resort, we were looking for motel and as off season did not want to pay big dollars for a room close to and walking distance to CBD it was fresh clean close to beach CBD very happy with room it was warm ac quite

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Elroy. Glad you enjoyed the stay. We remain competitive with our pricing right through the year with our location being one of our many attractions. More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What was a nice looking motel from the road and a good looking clean reception area, we soon found out this was not so. Manager Craig was very friendly.but unfortunately it is as far as it goes. From the front door right through the room was disgustingly dirty. I wonder who cleans the rooms as when we left around 10am... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our venue. We appreciate your comments as we strive to please. We currently have an AAA 3.5 star rating and have enjoyed a continual association with Star Ratings Australia for over 20 years. Our housekeepers commence work at 10.00am as we offer guests an 11.00am check out. Our rooms are cleaned on... More

Gold Coast
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in a family room for 3 nights, which was spacious, kids bedroom had ample room for 2 children although my son found the bed doonas amusing being an older boy. The bathroom was a decent size. I enjoyed having my morning cuppa on the balcony. A few minutes walk into Byron Bay and a pathway to the beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My partner has stayed many times and we spent 5 days over the school holidays. The price is very, very reasonable for a nice motel so close to the centre of town, plus one with beach-side access. Staff were very helpful. We were very happy with our stay here - we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. Rooms are a good size with the bathroom being very large. There is a great pool and barbeque area with a large covered area. Only a short five minutes walk to town. At the back of the property is a gate that gives you direct access to the beach. We used this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Wollongbar for the Byron Bluesfest. Great location, only a few minutes stroll into the main shopping area, and a gate at the back of the property leading directly onto the beautiful Belongil beach, but very quiet. Rooms are spacious, the 2nd level ones have balconies looking over the swimming pool (and car park). The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Wollongbar Hotel on Thursday the 1st and Friday the 2nd of May. The hotel is picturesque ,the rooms are spacious and the location is the best. We throughly enjoyed the walkway to the beach from the hotel, the walkway leads you to the wreck. The service is personalised. I can't wait to come back! Ps the macadamia... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Located close to the beach - just across old railway tracks and some bushes. With a special back gate, you don't even need to walk on streets - straight to the beach! And it's close to the town centre. This is best if you're looking for some quiet time after returning from dinner and/or drinks. The rooms aren't as new/shiny... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wollongbar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wollongbar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongbar Motel

Address: 19 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongbar Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wollongbar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollongbar Hotel Byron Bay
Wollongbar Motel Byron Bay

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Byron Bay with
any amenities