We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waves Byron Bay

4.0 of 5 35 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waves Byron Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    41
    21
    13
    4
See reviews for
24
56
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Mollymook NSW Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very unattractive on the exterior, and even though old it was very clean. Only has one bathroom which is a bit of a problem for a 2 bedroom apartment. However, it is well situated if looking for something close to town and the beach. It is not the type of apartment you could spend a lot of time in, but... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is a nice surprise being well situated close to the beach and shopping, with free easy parking underneath. The room we have is on the first floor and is well laid out of good size. The room leads to a balcony with views across the park which is next to the beach. There isn't any room for to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane Auustralia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Greeted by a friendly receptionist at Waves who checked us in without a hitch. Provided beach towels and recommendations for restaurants in the area. The air conditioning in the apartment didn't work and the shower recess is really tight. The apartment was 2 bedroom and there was only one bathroom in the apartment with laundry made things a little difficult.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was really clean and lovely. The receptionist was very sweet, she let us check in hours before we were meant to. They provide beach towels and other complimentary things - like wine tasting, breakfast. The location is really fantastic, literally placed on the beach. I would highly recommend a stay here. They have a secure carpark if you're driving... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Welcoming, modern and lovely little hotel, great large bedroom and comfy facilities, massive bed! Had a lovely stay there.. the hotel is quiet and has a nice personal touch, such as muffins out at reception for guests and wine for you to help yourself to a glass on Friday and Saturday evenings. Staff were friendly and very helpful and location... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed in numerous hotels around the world over the last few years. WAVES is definitely one of the worst in terms of customer service and cleanliness. The front staff were very UNwelcoming when we checked in. (However, the maintenance man was very nice for a chat). The room was not clean - the bathroom smelt like a urinal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waves R, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear Recent Guest We were very disappointed with your recent review, in light of thenumerous communications on site and via email. The only issue that you raised with us, was your disappointment at being charged a percentage of the cost for carpet cleaning after your departure with your children. We were not able to check a guest into this room... More 

Brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Waves for 5 nights early November to escape the G20 in Brisbane We were very impressed with the rooms, nice and roomy and lovely appointed bathrooms. Staff were very friendly and we appreciated the little touches of a mini breakfast bar in the lobby at no charge. Rooms were super clean and well maintained. Would definitely stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The accommodation is nothing special. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable and the view faced away from the beach and was covered by trees, although the room was large. For such a high price, I would have expected room service, a decent gym and free wifi - none of which was provided. The wifi was actually quite a high surcharge, and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

On arrival I called the reception phone (as there was no-one at reception) 5 times - no response. So I decided to look around Byron for an hour - annoying. Location is great. I was allocated a ground suite on the Lawson St side (i.e. opposite to beach side). There can be quite a bit of reception noise at this... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Just stayed at Waves Byron Bay again, cant fault it in any way, great place PRO's: Excellent location, 1min walk to food, cafe's, pubs and beach is basically right across the street. Staff at reception VERY helpful from making our reservation to checkout. CON's: none Will stay there again next visit to Byron Bay for sure :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Waves Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Byron Bay

Address: 35 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waves Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay
Waves Hotel Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay