We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Byron Beachcomber Resort

23 - 25 Shirley St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
48
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This resort has lots going for it. We first stayed for two days in July 2014 and decided to return for three nights in November 2014. Firstly we asked for the same room we had in July and this request was granted. We were late arriving and received a text saying where we could find our key, in a locked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

not a fan of writing negative reviews but when you dont even get to stay at the place because of rude management id rather submit than not. From what I understand this place is quite good and my family stay each time they visit Byron but I wont be giving them my money anytime soon. Ring for a booking and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review

We regret that we were unable to confirm your booking although it is our policy that a deposit of 50% of the accommodation tariff be paid to confirm your booking. Your request for a partial refund of $55 from your deposit to meet your rent commitments was considered although a decision was made to refund your deposit in full of... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

For a return visit to Beachcomber Apartments we had decided to upgrade to a 1 bedroom apartment as we were staying for 5 nights. We’d had a fantastic stay 15 months prior as part of a road trip but that was in a studio room. This trip we’d spent a few nights in town at Apartments Inn before moving beachside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachcomberByronBay, Owner at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to here you had a great time. Team Beachcomber are waiting for your return. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Accommodation in byron is not cheap and this was one of the cheapest we came across for a triple room. I guess you get what you pay for. Place is clean enough, noisy at night from the backpackers next door. The beach access was good and easy walk to main centre. The new managers are still it find their feet,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachcomberByronBay, Owner at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry we could not meet your expectations once you had checked out. Storage of luggage and the use of a bathroom & shower and providing fresh towels were provided free of charge as a service of courtesy to our departing guests. Our office does close at 3pm as explained. It should be... More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We booked the Beachcomber online and relied (as you do) on the images posted in their Gallery. We booked a one bedroom apartment which (according to the images in their Gallery) had a view either looking out over the pool or the garden. Imagine our surprise when we turned up to find a unit that was not only right next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BeachcomberByronBay, Owner at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review

Hi Merilyn we are sorry we could not move you to a room overlooking the pool. Unfortunately at the time of made your booking this was the only 1 bedroom unit available. As Byron Bay is a popular destination, booking in advance is needed to secure specific apartment allocations. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Just had a great stay at the Beachcomber. Fantastic location a few minutes walk to town and a few minutes walk to Belongil beach. The room was clean and comfortable. Great little patio area overlooking a lovely pool. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Probably the only minus for me was having only one towel for 5 days, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Stayed here last year May for my partner birthday as we were doing a road trip up to the Gold Coast and also with my sister when she was traveling for work. It was a nice clean place. Enjoyed how the beach was literally through the back. Everything was basically walking distances. They had a box where we could collect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundaberg, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a coach tour and were very impressed with the resort. The room was spacious with a kitchenette with a microwave and all the crockery, cutlery etc needed. The bed was comfortable and there was also a dining table and chairs and a small table and chairs on the patio outside. The gardens and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

After having a bad experience in another hotel in Byron Bay, it was such a relief to arrive at Byron Beachcomber Resort. The lady at reception was really friendly and helpful, the one bedroom apartment was large, clean and comfortable. The spa pool was really nice, at this time of year it was too cold to try out the pool.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Can't fault our experience at the Bryon Beachcomber. The staff were really friendly and accommodating and the hotel is in a great location - either a short walk down the beach (from the rear of the hotel) in to Bryon township, or along Shirley St. Room was clean, spacious, quiet and everything worked. We had a room at the back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay