We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crest Byron Bay

47 - 49 Shirley Steet, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly The Crest Apartments)
Hotel amenities
The Crest Byron Bay
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
aimee474 Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    26
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Both my partner and I have been visiting Byron bay for the past 5 years, and every year there is no doubt about where we are going to be staying. The Crest Byron Bay has everything you need, the apartments are always maintained to a high standard, and the location is perfect. Di and Doug are genuinely good people who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We can't fault The Crest in any way, apart from perhaps the weather! (When we stayed cyclone Marcia(?) gave a couple of days of rain.) This was our 8th trip to Australia and The Crest is the best place we have ever stayed. Every morning we'd see Doug testing the pool water quality also making sure everywhere was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a great stay at the Crest, very clean spacious apartment, in a handy location, walking distance to the town and beach, nice pool, very friendly hosts who even left a good bottle of wine in the fridge, they were happy to let us know all the best places to visit. Secure car park, Rates for the apartment were good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dianne457, Manager at The Crest Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thanks Jenny for such a positive review - you covered the important things that other travelers are looking for when they are researching a place to stay. We are often having different promotions on our website - March was our "Free bottle of wine" promotion. We're glad you enjoyed it!! Even though we are a long way from the UK... More 

Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I came here to write a nice review as I was not sure if Crest was a known thing but it seems it is. Lots of great reviews and rightly so. I have stayed in Byron a few times with a few different places and this was by far was the best. Mainly due to the service. Very knowledgeable &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dianne457, Manager at The Crest Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Ollie for submitting your review it is really appreciated. We are very proud of the positive and helpful reviews we have been getting since we took over The Crest In October 2014 - it makes the hard work worthwhile. We hope to see you again before you return back to Paris. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We got stuck in a 3 hour traffic jam on the way so we arrived late which was no problem and Di and Doug even put a bottle of Sav Blanc in the fridge for us to enjoy. Everything was fantastic. The Crest will be our new go to property to stay at in Byron.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dianne457, Manager at The Crest Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. There have been increased flights into Ballina from Melbourne so that might be an option next time to avoid those highway traffic jams! More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Crest twice during our two months stay in Byron (as we had booked another accommodation for two weeks already before finding the Crest) and this place is just the perfect spot to stay in Byron. First of all, Di and Doug are the perfect hosts and they are extremely service minded and nice to deal with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dianne457, Manager at The Crest Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Yasemin for such a positive & comprehensive review - we are sure it will certainly help others who are considering staying at The Crest. We always find that Families enjoy staying with us and the kids (big & small) especially love the pool - it really is a lovely place for the kids to play and the parents... More 

Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were looking for a comfortable holiday rental close to the beach and centre of town without being thrust into the middle of everything. The position of these units is perfect, a short stroll to the beach and the town centre. The units are modern,very clean and well kept and the pool area is private and very relaxing in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dianne457, Manager at The Crest Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thanks Tony M for your review and we hope it will help others to come and stay at The Crest. You mention our location and this is something we get from many guests - they like the balance where we are an easy 5-8 minute stroll into town so everything is easily accessible and yet we are far enough away... More 

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ease of booking, communication, friendliness and good service is what we found at the Crest. Located on the main drag into town we found ourselves driving in rather than walking to the centre. There's no view of the beach (which we expected) but there is a lovely pool with manicured gardens. The apartment itself was clean and tidy, again, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dianne457, Manager at The Crest Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thanks TW_Yachtgal for the review and the feedback re local takeaway/delivery. We are investigating all of the options available and will include this in the room compendium for all future guests. Also weekly we are delivering the local papers to the rooms so guests have the latest event news and gig guides on what is happening in Byron Bay. We... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed at the Crest for a weekend away from Brisbane and it was absolutely fantastic! Doug & Di are excellent hosts and suggested some amazing places to check out - really helpful on my first trip to Byron. The apartment was so comfortable and clean and the location is spot on - only a short stroll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dianne457, Manager at The Crest Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Lucy for such a nice review. We enjoy helping out first timers to Byron - there are lots of things to do to have a great time but is easier if your are only here for a short time to get a bit of local knowledge to get to the best bits! We look forward to seeing you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed in a number of places in Byron , I could not believe how I had missed the The Crest. Customer service from Di and Doug was outstanding, warm , engaging and nothing was too much trouble. The place is immaculate and so clean, great for our family of 4 and felt so much like home. Our apartment had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dianne457, Manager at The Crest Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Robyn for such a comprehensive review - we are sure it will help other people who are looking at The Crest for their holiday. You touched on so many good points that we often hear from other guests - Free Wi-Fi, Free secure parking, roomy apartments and of course our beautiful Pool and Alfresco dining area. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question