We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Byron Bay accommodations

Byron Beach Resort

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   25 Childe Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Belongil Beachhouse)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Daily Yoga in Byron Bay
Save Saved
You added Byron Beach Resort to your Saves list
Byron Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
71%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mmmegs88 Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    60
    25
    10
    15
See reviews for
24
48
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here March 2014 in a private room with ensuite. The room was spacious enough and basic. Good value for money, very friendly and helpful staff, good location, amazing beach just across the road. Would recommend to fellow travellers and would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The perfect hostel if you want to experience Byron away from the chaos of the party scene. Massive, clean rooms; great common areas; perfect beachfront location. The onsite yoga is another added benefit. Two things could be improved upon-- the wifi is EXTREMELY expensive at $25 for a week. That's more than double than most other places charge, and it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived via greyhound into byron and we were picked up by the free shuttle service and taken to the beach resort. This shuttle runs frequently throughout the day so is very convenient for nipping into town! The beach is right on your doorstep tho and a nice 15-20 mins stroll along the beach will also get you there! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel was by far the best I have stayed in whilst travelling Australia! Its so relaxed and has everything you need for a cheap get away. The room was clean, the shared toilet/showers were also clean which is unusual for budget hostels. The hostel hires out surf board for a mere $10 along with other bits and bobs. Byron... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great stay overall. Had a few hiccups with free shuttle bus as on 2 occasions it did not arrive on time and had to wait half hour. Room was always tidy but really lacked more plug sockets. The communal areas were always really clean and the chill out hammocks outside were a nice touch

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundoora, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

There are many reasons why this resort ticked all the boxes for me - Budget friendly resort with very friendly and helpful staff (one of the lovely ladies at reception had a permanent smile on her face). Restaurants either side, so all meals were close by and reasonably priced! Excellent talent / live music at the Treehouse (bar / restaurant)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Myself and two friends stayed here for three nights over a weekend at the end of February, and absolutely loved it. It is a great value-for-money place, and perfect for a friends weekend away! We truly were sad to have to go home. :) We flew into Coolangatta airport and hired a car for the drive down, which took about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Byron Beach Resort after being recommended by a family member. We were greeted by a friendly face and a can do attitude. The room was clean and the beds super comfortable. We had all the necessary mod cons and absolute peace and quiet. The beach was a stones throw and beautiful! Great access to lovely food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Good facilities but we found this hostel really overpriced- $50 for a bed in 4 share dorm and you still have to pay for wifi. It's marketed as a "resort", I'm not really sure why as its the similar to many other hostels. Good facilities, big kitchen. Quite far from the town, about 20 min walk along beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Doug M, Guest Relations Manager at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review where it appears that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding you concern about the price of a 4 bed dorm @ $50 this is the price for 2 weeks of the year only (Christmas period) and either cheaper or very comparable then other equivalent Byron accommodation. We also market & regard our property as an... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had the worst experience staying here. The rooms and sheets felt dirty and we were harrassed by the night manager. They should include in the description the ridiculous strict rules they have at night time. I felt like I was on a school camp rather than a holiday. Apparently after 9.30pm you're not allowed to be in your room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Doug M, Owner at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this review

MMM not really the full story is it? You were asked countless times to be quiet after 11pm until 2am The clean sheets you were given on check-in (for dorm guests) are professionally washed and pressed and some of your friends were wearing them as a toga..... We are not a party place, there are many places in Byron that... More

Been to Byron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Belongil Beachhouse Hotel Byron Bay
Belongil Beachhouse Hotel
Address: 25 Childe Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Belongil Beachhouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Specialty lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Beach Resort should be your choice if you're looking for an affordable beachside Byron getaway. Opposite the magical Belongil Beach we're a casual stroll (15 minutes) into Byron, or several minutes by car or our regular free shuttle bus. We have a a diverse range of options for all travelers & budgets. Single sex & mixed dorm rooms, budget Doubles/Twins/Triples with and without en-suites, Queen Spa rooms, Group/Family rooms along with 4 x 2 B/R Cottages equipped with kitchen, Rainforest showerheads, outdoor settings & BBQ's set among our tranquil gardens. Onsite Yoga daily classes for all levels & a travel desk for all your needs. Clean, chilled and a relaxing environment is what you'll enjoy. Join us for an affordable 100% Real Byron Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Byron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.