We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 56 Byron Bay accommodations

Aquarius Backpackers Motel

16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aquarius Backpackers Motel to your Saves list
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
72%
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (121)
  • Photos (39)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    36
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
2
30
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

By far the best hostel on the east coast. We booked to stay for two nights and ended up staying a week! This is not just a hostel, if you want an experience then stay here! We were looked after from the second we stepped off the bus. We were picked up from the bus stop and taken back to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canadian Rockies, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We ended up arriving very late as we drove down from Brisbane, the staff was helpful and friendly to us. We ended up in a room full of other travelers who were all very friendly. I liked the balcony on our room it was a nice place to hang out and chat. Also the room was cleaned daily as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We checked in and first there was a blonde unfriendly lady who wanted a key deposit from 20$ each but we weren't able to pay because we had no cash and she wasn't kooperative to take our ID card ! Than we walked 20 minutes through Byron to find a westpack bank ... ( it was 8pm !) But than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Certainly well located, generous prices and decent facilities; however, when it comes to customer service i can say much positive about Aquarius. First contact on the phone was really unpleasant because when i decided to change my mind and pay for another room slightly cheaper, the answer was that the payment had went through and she could not change it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Hi Natasha, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your room, the facilities, the price and the location. I am however very disappointed to read your comments about your experiences with the front of house staff and I will discuss the points you raised on your behalf with them. I do however take offense to the accusations of dishonesty on... More

Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Such a social hostel with the bar right in it I like the free welcome drink it gives you a chance to meet all the people who are new to byron like you and the $5 meals brings everyone together as it's so cheap everyone takes part. I was in a 10 bed female dorm I felt like I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks heaps for your review, noted on kitchen utensils, thanks for the heads up! Good to hear you enjoyed the $5 feed and the bar, the split level dorms are good for sharing, and like you said make the dorm feel like you are sharing with less people. Cheers for taking the time to write a review. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My friends and I decided to go back to byron for a second time to see if we would like it better than the first time (staying at Nomads). We were greeted at the junction by a complimentary service bus - impressed. When we got to the motel to check in everyone was so welcoming and happy and once we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! So awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back again for another visit. I will pass on your compliments to staff you mentioned, I'm sure it will make their day! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

If anyone has a bad critic about this hostel, should'nt stay in hostels anymore...change to an hotel! I stayed there for 3 months and I can tell this is basically a 5- stars- hostel (and this was the same opinion of most of the people I met there) The biggest room I've ever been in a hostel, bathroom inside, lockers,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks heaps for thinking of us and writing a review. So stoked that you loved Aquarius and the activities we offer. Hope that you will come back in the future to stay again. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Dorms were always dirty - didn't want to take my thongs off whilst in the room and definitely not in the bathroom as the floor was always black with dirt and covered in hair. I was there 4 days and the bathroom was only cleaned once. Fans in room didn't work so was roasting at night. Staff generally weren't friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at Aquarius. Our rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily by our professional housekeeping team, I find it hard to believe that your bathroom was only cleaned once in your stay and cleaning logs shows otherwise. I have taken your comments about the reception staff on-board, reception can get slammed sometimes and... More

Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Overall very friendly and helpful. Easy pickup shuttle bus from the bus stop and back, close to the beach and good value for money. The rooms were very spacious and ensuite, with a table and chairs, enough lockers for everyone and a balcony or courtyard for each room. The kitchen was massive and clean, lots of activities available to book... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate your positive feedback. We hope you comeback and stay with us again in the future! More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very clean rooms with bathrooms in the rooms and a balkony. The kitchen was big and clean, so cooking with friends was fun. The Hostel has also a really cheap bar, were we drunk alkohol before going out. The food in the bar was also really cheap and tasty!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed the activities we put on in the Bar. Ahh hostel kitchens can be a nightmare to keep clean, and your right everyone needs to be considerate of others and clean up after themselves. Thankyou for your kind comments about our afterhours security/night managers, it a hard job and not very nice hours,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Aquarius Backpackers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Byron Bay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
THE ONLY PLACE IN BYRON TO WATCH ALL THE FIFA WORLD CUP GAMES IN THE GUEST BAR OR THE CAFE!! (Available to checked in guests only) At Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets. From self-contained apartments, budget private rooms and spacious dorm rooms. You should be able to find a room to put your head down and get some rest after a busy day of shopping, surfing and soaking up the unique Byron Bay atmosphere. Free overnight off street parking and free baggage storage (max 12hrs) is available to Aquarius guests. We also have an onsite security guard after hours to help you if any issues should arise or for late check in's. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
77

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aquarius Backpackers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer