We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Byron Bay accommodations

Aquarius Backpackers Motel

16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Hotel amenities
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aquarius Backpackers Motel to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Morrisguides
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    41
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
2
33
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
38 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located around 200 metres from the beach this is a perfect location. You can lend a free board to hit the waves with and rooms Are clean. Tv/film room, swimming pool, pool table and happy hours. Had a good stay and staff made it enjoyable and were helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed there a week in April. The backpacker itself does the job but staff was just awful. At the reception, girls just seem to hate their job, hate you backpacker. They don't look at you when you speak, finish your sentences (because it's the 100time they get asked and they are bored with it). Truth is that you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santiago, Chile
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

we just stayed one night but it was enough... The batroom bedroom was very dirty and smelt bad ! The dinner was nice even if it paied but it was not a conterbalance regarding this horrible room ! Good location and the staff is ok ! They give clean sheet of course but bedcovers look like disgusting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

Love staying here on my week off work. Great atmosphere, cheap meals, discount on cafe and drinks. Rooms are cleaned daily. Friendly staff. Great location. Met some really cool people. Book any trips like nimbin at reception. Towel rental $1. Will definitely be back. Sean Ireland

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights, great base, clean and tidy. Not too many facilities but then again it is a backpackers hostel not the ritz! Stayed in a 10 share dorm which was not as bad as I thought it would be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

On arrival at Byron we were flooded by hostel reps all trying to secure customers from the greyhound bus service. We chose the first rep who happened to be from the Aquarius hostel. A short shuttle later and we arrived and were greeted at reception by the helpful and friendly staff who also provided all guests with discounts at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Firstly thanks for taking the time to review Aquarius, good to hear all the staff were friendly and you enjoyed the facilities. I am concerned about your fish and chips, it one of the most popular items on the cafe and bar menu, if something is wrong it's really important you tell someone ( don't worry we're big boys and... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The room was big enough and comfortable. They have very cheap dinner and drinks at the bar every night. Kitchen was a bit dirty but was ok. Just many people on weekends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I did not stay here, although I had reserved a spot during a busy time as its always busy in Byron. The girl saw that I was a lot older than the usual backpacker and told me that I would have to have a separate room which was well over 100$. I was told that I wouldn't be able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

I don't know where to start, you didn't actually stay at AQUARIUS so I don't how you can rate us. You would not have been denied a bed because of your age, you would however be denied a dorm bed if you did not meet our check in policy of an international passport required for backpacker dorm rooms. We have... More

New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I had quite high expectations for Aquarius Backpackers, but I honestly had to say I was a bit disappointed in our stay here, and that was mainly because we felt unsafe for the duration of our stay. Aquarius Backpackers was very clean and well taken care of, and the customer service was impeccable, but the rooms leave a bit to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Aquarius is a great location in Byron Bay. The staff are relatively friendly, and the shuttle service to and from the bus stop is useful to stop you from having to carry bags but it isn't too far to walk anyway. Kitchen facilities are okay but you need to put a deposit down for plates etc. The bar is good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay