We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Aquarius Backpackers Motel to your Saves list
71%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
travelagent30 yorkshire
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
2
31
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 7 nights, great base, clean and tidy. Not too many facilities but then again it is a backpackers hostel not the ritz! Stayed in a 10 share dorm which was not as bad as I thought it would be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On arrival at Byron we were flooded by hostel reps all trying to secure customers from the greyhound bus service. We chose the first rep who happened to be from the Aquarius hostel. A short shuttle later and we arrived and were greeted at reception by the helpful and friendly staff who also provided all guests with discounts at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Firstly thanks for taking the time to review Aquarius, good to hear all the staff were friendly and you enjoyed the facilities. I am concerned about your fish and chips, it one of the most popular items on the cafe and bar menu, if something is wrong it's really important you tell someone ( don't worry we're big boys and... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was big enough and comfortable. They have very cheap dinner and drinks at the bar every night. Kitchen was a bit dirty but was ok. Just many people on weekends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did not stay here, although I had reserved a spot during a busy time as its always busy in Byron. The girl saw that I was a lot older than the usual backpacker and told me that I would have to have a separate room which was well over 100$. I was told that I wouldn't be able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

I don't know where to start, you didn't actually stay at AQUARIUS so I don't how you can rate us. You would not have been denied a bed because of your age, you would however be denied a dorm bed if you did not meet our check in policy of an international passport required for backpacker dorm rooms. We have... More

Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had quite high expectations for Aquarius Backpackers, but I honestly had to say I was a bit disappointed in our stay here, and that was mainly because we felt unsafe for the duration of our stay. Aquarius Backpackers was very clean and well taken care of, and the customer service was impeccable, but the rooms leave a bit to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Aquarius is a great location in Byron Bay. The staff are relatively friendly, and the shuttle service to and from the bus stop is useful to stop you from having to carry bags but it isn't too far to walk anyway. Kitchen facilities are okay but you need to put a deposit down for plates etc. The bar is good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was one of the best hostels I stayed at. I have stayed here a couple of times. It's that good! The price is good, the staff are awesome and your dinner is included. I've stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm and I've also stayed in the private room. The dorm has an ensuite bathroom which you share with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

By far the best hostel on the east coast. We booked to stay for two nights and ended up staying a week! This is not just a hostel, if you want an experience then stay here! We were looked after from the second we stepped off the bus. We were picked up from the bus stop and taken back to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review much appreciated, we have two managers here and I think we are both approachable and friendly people, but it's interesting to see an outside perspective. Thanks for your feedback it has been taken on board and noted. More

Canadian Rockies, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We ended up arriving very late as we drove down from Brisbane, the staff was helpful and friendly to us. We ended up in a room full of other travelers who were all very friendly. I liked the balcony on our room it was a nice place to hang out and chat. Also the room was cleaned daily as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed all the facilities we have to offer at Aquarius! More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We checked in and first there was a blonde unfriendly lady who wanted a key deposit from 20$ each but we weren't able to pay because we had no cash and she wasn't kooperative to take our ID card ! Than we walked 20 minutes through Byron to find a westpack bank ... ( it was 8pm !) But than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aquariusbackpackers, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your brief encounter with us here at Aquarius. I'm not quite sure why you didn't understand a $20 key deposit, requires $20. The junkie you talk about was the entertainment host (just because he has dreadlocks doesn't make him a junkie!) He was just going around the rooms to see if people wanted... More

Do you own or manage Aquarius Backpackers Motel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Black Dog Surfing
Black Dog Surfing
Sports Camps/ Clinics